Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the surface

by sorikaStudio - Jam Entry

Hi, couldn't finish the game, so this is what i've done so far :(

You can't die and enemies don't shoot :(

aswd - move. (you can move outside the camera, be careful.
space - shoot.
Enter - restart level.

The Web link doesn't work for me.. but you can try. (windows jar version works).

Used: Java - Libgdx
Graphics: KenneyDonnation_v4
Music/sfx: made by gonya707

Works on OS/X -> thanks to wicht fo the comment :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#509Audio(Jam)2.68
#655Graphics(Jam)2.54
#670Mood(Jam)2.37
#694Theme(Jam)2.25
#748Fun(Jam)1.88
#751Overall(Jam)2.04
#763Innovation(Jam)1.54
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

shadow64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54am

My system won't let me run the java app from a dropbox it seems. Sorry. :(

sorikaStudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11pm

you can download the jar from mega (windows link).

Myyyvothrr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:47am

I like the idea of playing outside the screen, but you win way too fast.

sorikaStudio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:30am

yeah sorry, i did it so fast because the game has no meaning if you can't die and enemies don't shoot, I don't want to make anyone lose time watching ships moving, with the fast game you get what i tried to do.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:35am

I bet this game could've been awesome if completed, still tried to dodge non-existent enemy attacks so it was kind of funny trying it. Maybe next jam!

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:41am

I like the endboss. Giant worms FTW ;) Works on OSX too, you might want to add that ;)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:45am

The restart seem to be quite buggy, it caused attacks to behave in quite an odd way and also seemed to launch the music twice. The boss and enemies are not much at the moment but there is plenty of room for improvement.

Jed T. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:46am

I can't lose :(

I also tried to ram the ship to the giant worm but I just went behind it. But the music is good though.

BigRat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55am

Cool Game.I remember my childhood

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Thought the colors in the landscape were interesting. I wish the terrain had an impact on the player, such as having to dodge around stalactites and stalagmites.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Well, as mentioned, not much of a game, but the assets in here are ok. It's a shame, looked like potential for a fun little shooter here. Well, it's all a learning experience in the end, and something is better than nothing!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:19pm

This is a good start, but like others have said, there wasn't a lot of actual gameplay here. This would make a great starting point for a neat little shooting game though.

hadesfury says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:52am

You were in the right direction !

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:28am

The music is quite good and it looks pretty good. I'm sure you know the main problems, but a few things to recommend, if you decide to finish it; wasd+space is pretty hard to use. Your ship is huge, smaller would probably work better. Anyway, keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]