Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Dark Things

by gnerkus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I apologize for the lack of menus and screens.

GOAL:
Reach the other opening (on the right) while avoiding the dark things.

GAMEPLAY:
Click a big plant to change the direction it faces. When your character (the octopus)or an enemy moves over a big plant, it changes its direction of motion.

Thank you for trying out my game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#404Graphics3.40
#699Audio2.49
#719Innovation2.84
#924Humor1.90
#928Overall2.79
#1000Fun2.47
#1024Mood2.42
#1127Theme2.30

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

Great concept and the game looks soo cute. Really well done!

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33am

Is the game over/finish screen supposed to be just a black screen?

gnerkus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04am

@martjin I'm so sorry. I didn't have time to do any screens so the gameover and finish screens are quite similar.

@primaerfunktion Thanks. Unfortunately, cute is all there is to the game for now.

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Really cool concept-- the octopus is also super cute. The game was neat and easy to grasp, plus I loved the plant mechanic. :D

gnerkus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

@allurious Thanks. I apologize for the lack of screens.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50am

Everybody's already mentioned the lack of start/finish screens, but really the only issue for me was having to refresh the page to start the level again; maybe have it just restart the level when you lose, instead of going to a different screen.

The music is nice and the graphics are quite pretty; the gameplay can be quite tricky, too!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

Original concept! The graphics look good. I didn't hear any sound. Avoiding the dark things seems a bit random. Though you can steer them into a corner with the plants, they also have random behaviour. At one point I got lucky as most of them got stuck. That's how I managed to complete the game.

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

Really liked the cute graphics and gameplay mechanic! Had a few fun "come ooooon!!" close call moments with the dark things.

Didn't hear any music or sfx unfortunately (tried Chrome & Firefox on Mac OS X). Also had a few times where the dark things were camping the exit opening :(

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Cute graphics. Nice concept !
Everything is a bit slow.

Good start !

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

I have to add :
It's a bit buggy : a monster block the exit (he don't move) :( !

stoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Love the graphics and the music is really nice. It took me a while to figure out the game play but once I did I really enjoyed the puzzle challenge. More levels please!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15am

@oatsbarley I agree with you completely. Thanks for the compliments.

@bvanschooten The dark things are supposed to move randomly. They're not supposed to get stuck, though. Thank you for the compliments.

@Nicoll Hunt This might be appropriate but I really loved your game! I'm waiting for the voting to pass so I can play it again. I used only .ogg and .wav audio formats and I didn't have time to test the sounds before I submitted the game.

@neekobus Thanks. I made it slower because I wanted to make it easier since the dark things moved randomly. The dark things seemed to have played FPSes.

@stoo Thank you so much. Once the voting is over, I'll add more levels.

@all I'm happy everyone found the graphics cute. I worked towards achieving that.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22am

Woo I did it! I think at one point I walked over a dark thing and it didn't do anything though? But I could be wrong. This is really nicely made and a fun idea. Would be perfect as a tablet game

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57am

My son would love a game like this. It is done really well!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43am

@Lizzip The game's code is infected with dark things. Thank you so much for the compliment. I'll continue working on the game once voting ends.

@Thorig Thank you. I feel really motivated to work on this.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:19pm

That's a really satisfying puzzle. Felt good when I made it to the end! Shame there's no winning screen but it's still great work!

gnerkus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03am

@tripleVisionGames Thank you. I'll work on the game once voting ends.

eckcz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

cool graphics but it is really hard for me :D but fun

Moist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40pm

You could make the clickable plants stand out from everything else a bit more. It's hard to tell they can be interacted with at first. Other than that, a very solid entry. :)

Kep says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:00pm

It took me a while and more than a few restarts, but I got it. I always like these pseudo-programming games. With more levels and the basics you already mentioned, it has some potential.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Fun little game! Nice sprites, great work!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:33am

I love the visual style. The biggest problem is that the dark things get stuck on walls and get in the way of the puzzle's solution. I found the clear path to the exit but it was blocked by enemies that refused to keep moving away from the wall. I would like to play a faster version with less enemies on the screen with maybe a second or two with a countdown at the start to go ahead and start arranging some plants. Maybe that's not your idea of the game but it's a suggestion because the current version is a bit slow to get going. Great concept, though... and the art really stands out. I hope you keep working on it. :)

gnerkus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:59pm

@SonnyBone Thank you for the critique. I will implement all your suggestions once voting ends (which is when I'll continue working on the game).

May 1, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Great game! :)
I just love the graphics!
Congratulations! :D

May 1, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Nice to see a Phaser based game. I like the art style. The gameplay is nice but could use some polish.

gnerkus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:33am

@Martin Vilcans Thank you. Phaser is the best Javascript game library I've used. I'll definitely work on this game once voting ends.

@zedutchgandalf Thank you!

d__adee says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:22am

Cool man! :D The graphics is great. The concept is great. Also, I managed to make it to the right exit, but nothing happened. Good job! :)

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:29am

Great Art and BGM ^^

gnerkus says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:10am

@d__adee Your compliment is worth a third round in a three-round SFIV tournament final.

@Kara Jayde Thank you.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]