Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mermaid Scientist Massacre

by pancakecity - Jam Entry

This is a fun platformer with rocking music and an intense story!!

You play a mermaid captured by evil scientists! Get to the ocean before you dehydrate!

This is an HTML5 game using Phaser, so everyone can play!

(Make sure you are using an up-to-date browser. We only tested this on Chrome!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#62Humor(Jam)3.66
#128Fun(Jam)3.46
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#262Graphics(Jam)3.66
#326Innovation(Jam)3.10
#329Audio(Jam)3.16
#338Mood(Jam)3.11
#616Theme(Jam)2.60

Comments

Nikomaru says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Hilarious. I love the jumping sound, like I'm in an old NES game. But I keep getting caught :(

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Made me think of a videogame from back in the days. Loved the artwork in the beginning. I think the game might be a bit too easy, just pressing space bar over and over does the job pretty well. Although the concept with the dehydration meter is really original. Well done!

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

haha, nice idea :)

jotson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Made me laugh, nice entry.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Pretty fun blasting around! Some of the audio seemed to play too many times when jumping. Elaborating on the basic mechanics of blasting into people could add some interesting variety.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

fast paced, liked it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Very funny and original game!

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I like the art style, even though I shouldn't. :3 The game needs more feedback, some signal before the scientists actually throw the net. Otherwise, the leveldesign is surprisingly good, the controls need a bit more polish and being caught and getting back in the game is quick, in spite of the cut scene.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Hahaha funny game, I enjoyed it. Loved the graphics

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Really cool art style! Fun to play. The noise was a little buggy but I think it was only when I held the space bar down. Cute ending.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Hilarious and very fun entry ! That's the kind of game created in game jams that I love ! You did an amazing job and your pixel art is good. Congrats !

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

It is fun playing it :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I like the 8-bit graphic style!
And I like the mermaid's movement and attack, very good game ;)

Softwave says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I love the graphics and the art style; especially the "painted" graphics. And I can't not like a game with mermaids.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Cool art style! But the game was too hard for me... Yeah I suck at playing games... >_>
Anyway good job!

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

That was a ton of fun! Wrigglin all around and such!

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Cute and short, very fast pace, would like to see more, and more variety, perhaps saving various other unfortunate test subjects.

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Fantastic charming game, I like the pace of the action and its an original and fun concept. The story art may look hastily drawn, but it really suits the game nicely. Well done!

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Felt like a good old nes game, I had a lot of fun. Audio could be improved, but it was refreshing!

yetanother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

That was really fun to play :)

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

WOW ! gorgeous gfx, catchy tune, Fun and I won on the second try (I'm one of those WASDers)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03pm

@longshorts I did both the art and the programming, so both suffered for it :p

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Had a lot of fun with this. Nice approach to graphics, audio and pace. good work

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I especially like the intro graphics and tunes and then diving at the unethical scientists.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Ha, this is great! The controls feel tight, and diving towards your enemies is just a fun mechanic. Nice job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

Pretty great. I enjoy the art and the hydration mechanic. I keep getting captured, possibly because I am terrible. Some more visible warning before the nets are thrown might be good.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

Pretty good.

Almost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41am

It's pretty funny. I was caught by the same offscreen enemies three times in a row though, and have to go through the tutorial again each time that I die.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

Hey! Liked the artstyle and the sounds, music very appropriate too. Nice responsive play.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

Really good fun. Love the pixel art. The statue is great. The dehydration thing was an excellent device.

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Haha, nice one!

ahmeni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Sometimes in life you just have to hurl your entire body through a bathroom door, smash a toilet and frolick in the resulting watery chaos.

anvoz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Good work. Simple and fun. The art is really nice.

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I wanted to be a mermaid scientist and massacre but this was great fun as well.

It would have been nice with a loading bar or something because it took some time to load for me and I wasn't sure if it was just stuck or still loading.

The dehydration seems to just lock the game if you run out, I got no death-screen and no chance to restart.

Also, since the game forces you to retry many times, I would opt for either not showing the intro every time or a more responsive/fast skip.

Had great fun though. Fantastic music and at least once I got pretty far (maybe 10 doors or so) before getting caught.

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Ha! So funny. Good stuff.

Seppel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:17pm

The controls were a little confusing at first and I couldn't figure out how I lost the game a few times, but then I figured everything out and it was short but fun!

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Karpador gone wild ;) I like it!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Loved the graphics, also the little smiley face on the spacebar was a cute touch, overall nice idea and very fun game :)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Well you weren't lying about the rocking music! Love the artwork!

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Nice, but wow that music was loud.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26am

It's really hard because of the single life... I got to the hall of statues before giving up... I had restarted many times. The square format also makes it difficult to see incoming threats. Frustrating.

The scenario is very amusing though, especially the toilet smashing. I also liked that there was some branching in the level design, and a nice variety of scenery.

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39am

Fun game! I loved the charming beginning and end artwork.

It would have been interesting if there were more obstacles. The nets in particular were so easy to break out of by jumping that the scientists didn't pose a threat at any point.

SnoringFrog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07am

Haha, fun little game. Took me 3-4 tries before I could beat it. I found it hilarious that the scientists bodies keep sliding even after they've been bashed.

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Short but quite fun. I liked the little background details, like the paintings, statues etc.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Haha! Fun little game with a neat look. :)

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Pretty fun game :)
It's cool how the mermaid has the spirit to escape despite her really disadvantageous situation. I let the anger flow through me ^-^

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:32pm

I really enjoy your pixel art :) I keep getting caught too :(
A larger canvas should help me ^^
Nice job !

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:25am

Funny, made me giggle. Cute idea.

jeffz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:36am

Fun. Impending sense of dread trying to escape. Well done!

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:32am

Innovative gameplay. Not too many games feature that kind of jumping/attacking mechanic. It was fun to have something new. Cool music in the end, too.

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:02am

That was awesome, I held down the spacebar for the constant jump sound and laughed maniacally as I mowed down the webthrowers =)

lightsoda says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:14am

Yay I made it! That mermaid looks so funny, especially when bashing. And the music, doesn't really fit, even though it does, in a weird way, gives it a completely different tone.

I beat the game by mashing the bash button, and I think you should have triggered the jump sound only when actually jumping, now it was a constant bloop noise in my headphones :)

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:46pm

The bashing animation made me laugh so hard ! I love the art style and gameplay, sometimes nets are impossible to avoid and it seems unfair, but otherwise I loved it, great job :)

Hob623 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Cute game. Although I wish there was a warning with the nets, like making a sound or something so I don't run into one that was offscreen. :/

sharpcoder says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Funny concept, I love it! It's definitely a unique take on the theme - nice job.

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Nice concept and very cool graphics.

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Damn, didn't notice the whole massacre part while opening this, I just thought being a Mermaid Scientist would be awesome. I guess this works too :P.

Played trough it by spamming the spacebar like a madman.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:09pm

It holds together quite nicely - very consistently themed throughout.

Bashosha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:36pm

I love your game :)

Loneshark says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Yay! I escaped!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:53am

Totally adorable, with some of the best music I've heard all jam. I'm pretty sure I wasn't supposed to just mash space but I did anyway and I had tons of fun with this one.

hyouko says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:54am

The art (both pixel and drawn) is great, and the game proper is fun. I wish the scientists had a warm-up animation of some sort before throwing their nets - it feels somewhat unfair when you have no time at all to react.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:11am

The premise is nicely introduced and I'm impressed with the variety and quality of levels and assets! The look and feel are well-established, and the quick pace is really nice.

However, without any checkpoints, there's something of an issue--in a section dense with net-throwers, I need to rocket through or I'll get caught. But then I can't see where the scientists are, I end up literally directly adjacent to them--so close that I can be immediately captured while unable to move and the net animation doesn't even play, which felt a little bit unfair. Still, I liked the game well enough that I played to that point quite a few times, so thank you!

May 2, 2014 @ 8:04am

Pretty good game :)

miwuc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Great game! Love the concept and the graphics are really cute. The number of different backgrounds is impressive. Going through the intro again every time I lost (which I did a lot) was annoying, but that's an easy fix.

Catman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:48am

Funny game!! The jumping sound was a bit too much when keeping the spacebar pressed, but otherwise it was cool!!!

petey123567 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:06am

Like the painterly intro :)

May 4, 2014 @ 10:39am

Fun little game, nice mechanic!

May 7, 2014 @ 12:23am

Nice quirky little platformer. This is the first entry I've rated that I can actually give a humor score to, haha.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice take on the theme with this setting, I liked it.
Having to go through the explaination screen everytime I started over was not great though, especially since it seems there is a timer on each screen.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Nice game, liked the graphics and music but found it too difficult.

Kyatric says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:48pm

It was a bit bothersome to have to "replay" the intro each time I was starting again, even though it's "paint" style was working pretty well.
Cute pixel graphics in game.

I managed to escape on the fourth attempt though, so that's good :)

Good job on making a game and submitting it to the jam.

Hamsternator says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:59pm

This is awesome =D
Really well done classic gameplay and I absolutely love both art styles. I found it kinda weird though that I almost got dehydrated in the initial aquarium because I didn't bash my way out of it immediately '^^

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Great idea with cool execution, I really love the whole story!

BooleanByte says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Fun little game, worked very well, I enjoyed the art a lot especially the discrepancy between the large statues and science labs. The sound effects could have been more interesting rather than generic, and the theme wasn't explored to any specific extent, I would have liked to see some more exploration in those area

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]