Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath Mr. Perfect

by monsterkillu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Go deep beneath the twisted mind of Mr. Perfect.

A small and (little) deep psychological exploration (quite literally) of the dilemmas and delusions hold up by people in our society (myself included), trying to demystify (read gamify) them.

This is my first Ludum Dare Entry and it was quite an experience (dilemma here of course).

Awesome Tools that helped me made this:
-Super amazing Flixel Engine
-Free and awesome IDE FlashDevelop (AS3)
-Cool generative music from abundant-music.com and cuts & edits through Audacity
-Easiest Sound maker SFXR
-Photoshop for poor guys, the amazing GIMP for graphics

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#361Audio3.06
#415Humor2.64
#483Mood3.06
#660Innovation2.91
#836Graphics2.72
#844Theme2.91
#895Overall2.83
#1040Fun2.41

Comments

Aomeas says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20am

I liked the music and the general mood but the gameplay is a little bit limited.

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

It's a little... unsubtle? The themes the game is going for are literally stated, which ironically means that there's not much Beneath the Surface. It's a little like trying to make Freudian allusions by drawing a giant, anatomically correct penis.

That aside, I liked a lot of the things you did with the appearance - I was especially fond of the visual change when entering the "combat" part.

I liked the music as well!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43am

did run into a little big (with all the mood stuff, I ran off the screen on the right, and couldn't get back) But it's a nice "deep" game :)

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15am

That kick ass guy was fun. I liked that moment, when you punch bad guys, it was cool. A interesting staging.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16am

Great job on finishing your first LD.
Do not like these depressing games but can appreciate the work that went into this.

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

I don't make it through the "need to reist my thughts" stage

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I really liked this. It's not really my kind of game (the themes mostly) but I really liked the change of tone and especially the music.

I'm impressed you fit so many different screens and mechanics into the game within the 48 hours.

jrap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:28am

I am very glad this game exists, and I hope that you don't change one typo, or one misplaced pixel. Because it's not the end product that has value, it's the piece of your soul that went into it.

Be very proud of your first Ludum Dare, I'm looking forward to playing your future stuff.

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Thanks guys for your kind words and honest feedback. And yes i went into him quite literally, perhaps unconsciously, because i think i'm offering the player to see my interpretations rather than forcing them to have their own or its just something i would like to express myself so openly.

Its a depressing game (i felt that too) because i was in some kind of depression myself during its making (now i realized why bad moods are not good for game making).

And the entire game is beneath his (or is it mine?) mind.

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13pm

The music and visual effects set a nice mood. Some of the messages are more subtle and interesting than others, like the part where you have to stop grabbing the coin.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This is interesting, but it seems kind of naive in its approach. What makes this character Mr. Perfect? That's something we never see, or understand. You've successfully depicted a depressed, extrinsically motivated character but I wasn't able to empathize with him very well. He's surprised that the world is dangerous and yet he spends a lot of time on Facebook getting likes... there's a cohesion in narrative that's missing here, that would help your admittedly interesting idea get some traction.

Arakade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:23am

Excellent -- my highest rated game so far. Shame the ending seems a touch borked (I, too, walked off screen in Ego|Anger screen without using Shield). Expected?
Sure some choice/other depth would be nice (as +thrishart said) but with 48 hours, you've stayed beautifully on target and made something that works. Good for you! (tangents are so tempting ;-) )

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:00am

I liked this, it's always hard to gamify such deep topics.

monsterkillu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

Thanks again for your thoughts. I'm really surprised to see the feedback and concerns from your perspective.

What you mentioned +Solifuge, was one interesting question. What makes him Mr.Perfect? You are right that i didn't include much in the game to show how he's perfect (or in other words, how he thinks himself to be perfect). From my perspective, the character is sort of living in the online world, in online he is famous, he is fighting against injustice, he is blaming the bad guys, addicts, angry people etc. He isn't surprised to see that the world is dangerous (or atleast i didn't meant it that way), he is afraid of encountering the real world. Thanks for your feedback, i will try to improve it in my next games.

Walk off screen bug will be fixed soon.

Harsay says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:34am

I found this game a little bit too slow, maybe it was necessary effect ;)

Thorig says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:36am

Great entry for your first LD. Nice game and really funny to ignore all those messages. Too bad I was stuck beneath the platforms at the junks stage.

fermenter says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:00pm

This game was wayyyy too pretentious.

shadow64 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:16am

Overall I think it's a great first entry. I unfortunately got stuck at the end after the feelings stopped coming. I received a GO AHEAD message but I don't know where to go and when I reached the middle of the screen my character got stuck.

I think that the strongest moment of the game is definitely the Coin/Help moment. If you continue to pursue this and refine it, I think you should look for more dynamics/mechanics like that. It was very effective. :)

Thanks for sharing this and thank you again for playing/commenting on my entry. Take care!

Cawrtz says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:49pm

This game is brilliant, nicely done !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]