Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mayoran

by zorfmorf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mayoran is a building/exploration game where you command a couple of villagers. If only it weren't for that pesky mayor... I recommend to play until the end!

Simply click on things to interact with them. For example, click on a tree to gather wood. Your workers will do the rest.


ATTENTION: Sometimes there occures a bug where workers can't return to the surface anymore. You can still play on and finish the game, just mine down to the bottom!

----------------- How to run -----------------

Windows: Simply unzip and run Mayoran.exe

Mac: I don't know if I packed it correctly. Let me know if it doesn't work

Linux: Sadly there is currently no easy way to package a love game under linux. You need to install love 0.9.1. Otherwise: The windows version runs flawlessly under wine though!

* Ubuntu/Debian: Package from [here](http://love2d.org/)
* Archlinux: install package "love"

After installation, run the game via "love Mayoran.love"


----------------- FAQ -----------------
Problem: How do I gather wood?
A: Click on a tree

Problem: Where do I find iron?
A: Iron looks nearly identical to stone (sorry), just mine in the lower levels.

Problem: I can't select a building from the right
A: Do you have enough ressources? Huts and smithy can only be build on the top level.

Problem: I can't place a building.
A: It can't be placed on other things. Mineshafts can't be built near the edge.

Problem: My mineshaft comes out at the edge and I can't do anything on the lower level.
A: This is a bug. Just build another one closer to the center.

Problem: No worker comes up to work on something on the surface.
A: This is a bug I can't reproduce that happens occasionally on windows systems only(?). Just mine down to finish the game, building a smithy is optional.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#70Theme3.92
#70Overall3.89
#113Fun3.68
#176Mood3.54
#189Humor3.16
#196Innovation3.62
#394Audio3.00
#639Graphics3.03

Comments

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Another great game. I really do like it. So much competition! :D

strong99 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

:o greed. Fun game. I had build the entire top full with houses... They won't make me the next mayor.

Divinorium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Funny game, but the sounds effect of the guys doing stuff is kinda annoying.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Really nice !

It was a little bit difficult to make the difference between stone and iron. But great job man !

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Nice one. I liked the overall feeling of the game, you captured the "gather ressources to upgrade your village"-spirit surprisingly well. Nice music, loved the funky part at the end. Thanks for your contribution :)

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29pm

One of my favourites this LD! Very ambitious but still feels complete. Great atmosphere and I loved the ending.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Hey nice concept I played it to the end.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29am

Oh my god that's dark. Is this Dwarf Fortress inspired? It's really good!

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15am

awesome concept! really cool! great job.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

Oh resource management games, my Achilles' heel.

The gameplay's decently addictive here. The layer mechanic and the mayor add extra personality. But the programmer art/audio are a turn-off. I actually had to mute the game because the banging sounds were getting on my nerves.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25am

Fun game. Love the graphics, reminds me of 286 games

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25am

Finished. That was too short, sadly, I'm used to these games taking hours of my time. But I guess that's the price one has to pay to make something at least slightly story-oriented.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22am

Wow! Great entry! Didn't encounter any bugs. Nice story and setting, music, everything just fits together. :-)

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Quite a nice little game! Enjoyed it very much.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

This is a great game! I played it all the way to the end.

I really enjoy how all the people's heads go on fire at the end. Great job! Supreme!

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:57am

Pretty good overall. Some dark humor, had some kind of a point and even an animated cutscene for a finale!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:42am

I wish I could program such a RTS-like in 48hrs!

kikito says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:58am

I enjoyed playing this to the end. I would have removed the "scroll with right click" and just have centered each floor on the screen, so moving between levels would be faster.

The mayor is an asshole. xD

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Good job!
Couple things you could do to polish it up would be:
- Ability to use arrow keys to switch levels
- Auto-focus the screen on the level you switch to.
- Only hear worker sounds that on your level, or fade them out.

DrStahlbart says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:32am

Wow! That's a nice game. But never try to fell timber while the diamond scene is playing...
But fun anyway! :)

Delca says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:51am

Excellent game! I was expecting something like that for the ending, but it was fun nonetheless. Great audio and graphics too. Loved it!

May 15, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Very very nice game! I liked the mining and managing aspect of it, and the cutscene in the end was excellent! I mined every single ore and upgraded every single hut in order to please my wonderful mayor.
The digging sound was annoying though, especially when lots of workers were mining.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]