Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bouncer

by TGL - Jam Entry

A game where you bounce! All the time! An avoid things! arrow keys to move & use abilities, instructions are also in the game.

The game is based on 'beneath the surface of the game', didn't have it done quite as well as I originally planned, but still, I think this was a good first LD.

Made with Java using Slick2D. To start, unzip and open 'launch.bat'.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#269Fun(Jam)3.17
#278Humor(Jam)2.80
#326Innovation(Jam)3.10
#488Overall(Jam)3.02
#585Mood(Jam)2.67
#588Audio(Jam)2.31
#610Theme(Jam)2.61
#731Graphics(Jam)2.13

Comments

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I am sorry on Windows 8 it does not run.

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Good job for your first LD, loved the commentary!

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:45am

i get an error:
'java' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56am

interesting take on the theme! thought it was totally irrelevant until i realised what was going on :p

Blokatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

That's a pretty nice game you got there...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I'm also getting the same errors that other people have pointed out. Sorry!

TGL says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

"'java' is not recognized" can be fixed by changing the 'PATH' system environment variable to Java's bin directory. It's a little pain but after that all Java cmd-start programs and games should work.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

I really liked the evolution of the game. Really good job! (Sound got bugged after Second death)

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06pm

I like the way you introduced the new game mechanics, very clever.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Neat game

Atridas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I liked the idea behind the game. Maybe could be better with an easier learning curve (rocks go slower at the begining, then they go faster).

madalaski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:25pm

XD Very funny man. And here I was thinking that this theme would only bring out Submarine/Mining games...

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Very nice game and well made.
After loosing the sounds breaks and the game stays silent.
Playfield is a bit too small, I think.

Shinxs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Really liked the game, graphics could have been better but thats okay you only had 48 hours. The game was fun also quite hard so good job!

NickRock says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Fun to play nice man!

hirngespinst says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Lots of fun - I love how frantic it gets and the commentary was funny. Great job!

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Can't run it man

eriksundqvist says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Not able to start the game :(

sensenmann666 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Very good idea, loved the game!

FGM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Cool idea. Although the icons at the top are kinda blocking the numbered tiles. It took me a while to realize one of the numbers was behind the "level 1"

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Can we get a web version?

MidCry says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:28am

Neat but cool game ... should port to mobile

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Really novel take on the theme! Surprisingly fun to play too, I guess I really am a sucker for experience and grinding :D. The sounds did break after losing though.

Good job on your first Ludum Dare game!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Nice game. I didn't expect it would become a rpg haha.

May 10, 2014 @ 9:34pm

This is fun! :D
Great job on your first LD! :)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice satire, although I do prefer the final version.
Luckily, source code!
If only modern AAA games gave you the privilege to change things around.

Nanolotl says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:27am

Liked how you incorporated mechanics like experience and Quick Time Events to such a simple game. Good work.

607 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:38am

Nice little game! :) I actually liked the graphics of the first phase best :P After dying once in the final phase, the sound effects didn't play any more though, I'm not sure why that happened.

Jiddo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:00pm

I also had to add java to my PATH environment variable before I could run it. Might be worth packaging it using Launch4J or at least as a self-contained runnable jar file.

The game ran really well. I was really surprised then I saw the game evolving while playing it. Really cool idea, and a good way of introducing the game mechanics.

It did take a while to get used to avoiding the enemies since my first instinct was to hit all of them. (After all, they are all tiny and I'm a big and mean red square!)

My score was 1902 XP and a streak of 20. Didn't really use the abilities much tho.

Great work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]