Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Core Collector

by mystakin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My second Ludum Dare project! You must get beneath the surface of the space station to retrieve the hidden gold/core/important item!

I am very happy with how this turned out. Every hour the game kept getting better and feeling more complete, and I'm quite proud of the final result.

This is my first project since learning about object pooling, though I was bad and didn't make use of it in the project. Every couple hours I would think to myself "man... this feature would be perfect for object pooling."

Anyway, I hope you find my game as fun as I do! :)

Controls
------------
wasd or arrow keys = movement
space = fire

Supports 360 controller. Controls should be relatively obvious.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#23Fun4.04
#40Audio3.92
#70Overall3.89
#194Theme3.68
#198Graphics3.79
#249Mood3.41
#260Innovation3.50
#368Humor2.73

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Great game. Even more so after I realised you could HOLD to shoot. Would be cool if the asteroids also did damage to the space station.

eugman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:00am

Great idea and good execution. I definitely like the style and it seemed well polished. I may have to try it with a controller to see if the movement is more intuitive.

May 1, 2014 @ 9:40am

very fun to play, you hit a good balance between too easy/too hard. nice progression.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Great game and good execution - fun to play ++

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:19pm

I really like the overall concept, the art, the music and sound, and the gameplay is pretty solid too. My main problems were that the differences between each level were too small; it should ramp up more quickly because it feels too much like playing the same level again. I also don't like that it restarts from level 1 when you die.

porglezomp says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:58pm

This looks really great, but it doesn't work for me. None of my input seems to register (except for space on the start screen.)

borrismoose says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:08am

You've done a fantastic job with this, I really enjoyed a lot of different aspects.

If I was to offer any advice, it would be to make the player feel more powerful. The basic laser feels puny against the inner segments. If you scale the obstacles along with the players power it could still balance well.

Otherwise it's a great entry, I hope you take it further.

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:08am

Enjoyed that. Reminded me of Gyrus. Great job

slumber says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:10am

Very Enjoyable- good level progression- makes you want to play more. Good Job- Excited to see more of this in the future!

Managore says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:36am

This game has a really well executed idea and is loads of fun. Well done!!

jacklehamster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:59am

The entry doesn't run for me (config = Mac, Google Chrome or Firefox).
I can't control the ship, I just see the green thing in the middle animating.

mystakin says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:07am

@Penguincat Perhaps a difficulty mode that adds specialty tiles at a faster rate would work. I believe it should only restart from level 1 if you game over... There's no limit to the levels, so once you reach around level 8 you've seen it all.

@borrismoose I had originally planned for powerups but ran out of time. I suppose I could drop the health of the inner tiles but I felt the early stages went fast enough.

@porglezomp & @jacklehamster Not sure what's wrong. :( If input isn't working on the web version clicking to a different tab and clicking back sometimes works for me. Unfortunately, I don't have a mac to test the game on so I'm totally in the dark there.

porglezomp says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:13pm

@mystakin It's strange, because it's unity. How are you handling input, are you using GetAxis?

mystakin says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:46am

@porglezomp I am. I believe the only edit I made to the default input settings was renaming one of the "fire"s to "shoot" and adding a "pause" command.

May 12, 2014 @ 4:44am

Solid entry. I liked this one, I tried multiple times to get farther and farther so obviously it was fun. It feels complete, which is always a challenge with gamejams, so you should be proud :]

The programming and music were solid so I'd focus on building your sound and art skills for the future. The space station looked a little bland. Remember if you don't want to draw something you can always try to make it look cool procedurally (such as with a shader).

MidCry says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:24am

Some kind of hard to spine around and avoid obstacles ...
But generally funny game that suits mobile devices ...

louis.denizet says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:18am

great use of the theme, great composition, good job! =)

misterwalter says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:39am

Great job!
My only real criticism is that I think the controls for the ship should have been a little juicier, moving it was pretty sterile. And perhaps allowing steering the ship via the mouse, to avoid the awkwardness of sometimes having to hit left to go right? Just a thought, probably not a good one. It's a someone intractable issue.

copain says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 8:24am

Nice arcade game. Love the start music.
Maybe if you want to extend your game, in addition to powerups you can make a bigger space station with an intermediate shell to destroy.

(level 7, 37300)

kunzbe says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Really fun game!

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I'm on a Mac and I can't play it either in the browser (Safari, Firefox or Chrome). It's a pity because the game looked really fun and polished. If you're using Unity, why not make Mac and Linux versions available? It's takes just one click.

ALobker says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Really gave me an old DOS-feel! I loved it!

mystakin says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:58pm

@jujule I always go back and forth on the Mac/Linux versions because I have no way to test or support them, since I don't have a Mac or Linux box.

I'm torn because I don't want to exclude non-windows users, but I also don't want to potentially provide a bad or broken experience for them without knowing it. If the Unity exports are generally stable/consistent, though, maybe I should throw caution to the wind and just include them.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]