Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Whack-A-Burster

by Fortyseven - Jam Entry

What's beneath the surface? A chest-burster.

What you've got here is Aliens themed whack-a-mole. That's it. ;)

Arcade gameplay is roughly in place, with bugs of course. Hastily added sound effects. Wrapping this up with a couple hours to spare since I have to be someplace. Will definitely finish it up, since there's a bit more I wanted to do with this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#117Humor(Jam)3.35
#297Graphics(Jam)3.57
#496Fun(Jam)2.76
#509Audio(Jam)2.68
#517Mood(Jam)2.81
#539Theme(Jam)2.80
#629Overall(Jam)2.72
#682Innovation(Jam)2.25

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Dropping from ceilings, and chest busting aliens... Most legit I've ever played! If it weren't for all the glitches... It would be freakin awesome.

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

This is pretty funny. Scream sound effect took me by surprise!

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

Hard to go wrong with a whack-a-mole game

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29am

Might be the best game of the Alien franchise.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41am

I love the concept but it's really glitchy and confusing.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44am

Very nice graphics and atmosphere.

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46am

Thanks, guys! :D But yes, lots of bugs. Much glitching. I plan to fix up most of that and polish it up in the coming days.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05am

WOOAHHHAHAAAAHAHHHHHH ;)

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15am

Nice graphics, don't think I've yet to whack an alien

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Good Work.. really impressive

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Art is pretty sweet.

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Whack-A-Mole :)
The game seems to have gotten stuck after a while, because nothing new happened.

hyouko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:43am

The scream definitely makes it. Wish there was an easier way to start over than reloading the page, though!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:07am

That scream! Nice presentation. Definitely a little buggy though.

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:08am

It's all fun and games until a chest burster flies into your face. Wacky idea, and good execution, only bug I came across was after wacking the Medical Hammer tm (great name) a few times in a row, no more patients came down.
Don't do drugs kids

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:59am

Great idea!!!

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:59am

Very funny. Very bugged. ;)

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:08am

Kinda funny.
Shame it tends to lock up.

Guessing most of the graphics are pulled from elsewhere?

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Hi. Several bugs on mouse tracking. Really good mood.

May 9, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Glitchy, but pretty good for the time. I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you want to check it out :) http://youtu.be/wBne0r55jPY

TeamFlare says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Cool idea.^^ I played several rounds :)

Moosefly says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:57pm

The most hardcore whack-a-mole game I've ever played! It's a diamond in the rough :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Fortyseven says ...
Jul 16, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I went back and revised the hell out of the game over the last couple weeks; fixed lots of bugs and polished things up. Learned a lot. :) -> http://fortyseven.itch.io/whack-a-burster

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:11am

Came back to link to the final version on GameJolt: http://gamejolt.com/games/arcade/whack-a-burster/30298/

It's still barely a game, but I'm pretty proud of how it turned out. :)

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:12am

And I'm just realizing that it's probably the same build. I should have looked first. [Talks to an empty room.]

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]