Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

From the Under

by Rad Star - Jam Entry

Genre: rogue, platformer, die & retry.

"Once upon a time, in a distant world,
A gigantic meteor hit a planet very similar to ours, spreading myriads of strange crystals on its surface,

Because of the radiations, the population was forced to live underground, in caves,

Each year, a young boy is sent to the surface to bring back some of those crystals, vital for the survivors..."

Made in 72 hours by the @RadStar_ crew, composed of @damrem, @sentsu_actu, @thomas_baudon, @ynck_33 with lots of pizzas.

CONTROLS :

Arrows to move, and X to attack

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Graphics(Jam)4.24
#154Overall(Jam)3.55
#175Theme(Jam)3.55
#176Fun(Jam)3.33
#178Mood(Jam)3.50
#295Audio(Jam)3.22
#436Humor(Jam)2.41
#585Innovation(Jam)2.56

Comments

paraple-geek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

Awesome game!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27am

It bugged out on me :~(

I was so far up. Great game.

vexille says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:53am

Feels weird that everythings hits from so far away! The beetle has crazy range.

Cool idea though, and very cool looking too!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

Nice job ! I note so little problem however :
- When you hit and died, the arms stay in the air
- The hitBox of the entity are too big ! They must be less than the art :)
- Maybe a little too difficult in the beginning... :p

However, great job all of you o/

StencylTuo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:34am

This one is a mixed bag. I really wanted to like it; it had a nice setup to it, and I liked how it used the theme. I also liked how the crystals found could be used to upgrade the hero for future attempts. However, the collision is so wonky in the game that I can't rate it too highly. My attacks seem to only go a short distance to the side whereas enemies seem to hit from above and below, as well as a longer range than me... makes the game frustrating and not a lot of fun to play. If that was improved, it would've had a a shot at the top... as it is, not so much.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:39am

Nice art, and I like the idea of upgrading your character after death repeatedly, but I couldn't find much of a groove in the combat. My weapon felt like it had pretty short range and the enemies could hit me from quite far away, which was especially hard to deal with when they were on platforms above me.

I liked the mood and setting!

paraple-geek says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39am

I don't know why but kongregate didn't update the quick fix we made after the first submission, so here's a more playable version : http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/638458

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Nice game and great graphics! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Excellent Mood!

monaarc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Very nice game ! Good job :)

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Best game I've seen, really good job, props to the team! :D
Did encounter a couple bugs with collision, but eh, only had to kill myself once, and still had a lot of fun!

Daskaund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Great game !I love the concept of upgrading your hero at the beginning :)
i noticed that since the mobs respawn when you switch screen, you just have to stay between two screens and farm easily, and when you are on a platform and you press "S" the enemies goes bot too.

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Thanks for the reviews! Sadly we didn't had time to save the state of each screen or correct the "S" bug.

DustyStylus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:39am

Very good graphics and sound. Bit confused by level screen design, seemed to go into one, come back and it was different? Great production values though, well done.

Simon@LD says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Saw this on TimTips stream, really nice!!

timtipgames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Awesome visual style, great audio, controlls a little too floaty maybe but very addictive :)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:36pm

The animations are beautiful, I loved trying to go left at the beginning of the game! xD
The game was a bit repetitive, but I enjoyed it!

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:12am

Great game. Absolutely love the art style. Very fun. Love the upgrade system. Makes having to start over feel fair. Great work!

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:17am

Awesome!

TheOZone says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:23am

Nice graphics, sometimes the Crystals fall through the floor but I still got most of them.

01101101 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:29am

Pretty game , i really love the arts, But some little things are strange: Hitbox, mouse control, ... Maybe some music for the ambiance should be a good idea.
Good joke a the beginning !

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Nice platformer. Also very hard, but I get the idea behind the difficulty. Clearly a little isnpiration from Dark Souls.:)
You did a lot of work within this few days, I applaud. The only thing that bugs me is the jump animation though.

markusfisch says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Lovely graphics and very good animations. Very well done!

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:27pm

This is awesome! Very difficult, I had a really hard time hitting the flying enemies. I love the sprites and the sound, the smooth skeletal animation looked super cool.

jtrencsenyi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Good game!

Lyje says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Lovely Rogue Legacy inspired title - graphics and sound are great but I found the gravity to be a little floaty for my liking. Otherwise - love roguelike permadeath games and any twist on the genre is welcome!

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Like your art.

Lafie says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:12pm

This game looks and sounds fantastic on every front. The theme is also very present in the story and visuals.
The gameplay is a little awkward though. The movement feels floaty and imprecise and the combat is not very engaging, likely because of the lack of weight to the attacks.
Combat against the ground enemies was otherwise fine, but I frequently felt cheated by the flying enemies, which can hit the player constantly killing you before you can even react.

Kimau says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Because Radations :P
Really fun, great art and overall solid. The jumping felt very floaty, and attacking was a bit iffy. Levelling up was a nice touch.

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really fun, though a bit floaty. The biggest problem was that just about every run, I would fall through the floor and then be stuck in another room, so I had to restart. It's a shame!

terraco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:39am

Not bad. Keep it up.

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:57am

Nice game, it reminds me Captain Claw and Jazz Jack Rabbit :)

Upgrading hero after every death is funny idea, but I'd remake upgrade screen. It's quite confusing that to start the game I need to push proper key, I navigate by keyboard and then... bah! Mouse control.

Sometimes when I entered new room I fell down one screen without hero. Only moving camera was possible.

I really liked random generated levels. It was quite fun to approach high-level beetles only to find 1 and 2nd 'noob' monsters in next few screens :D

May 4, 2014 @ 11:34am

Impressive art and overall content. Gameplay is a bit frustrating though. As mentioned, weapon range is way too small and makes the game really difficult.

anissen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Great game, very addictive! I loved the theme + graphics :)

Candyhandy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:22am

Great start for a game. Just a couple of bugs that you need to squash

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Very well done. I wished I had better weapon.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Looks great, plays pretty well, minor bugs only. Great work guys.

Teesquared says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:40pm

The upgrade system really works. Kept me playing until I finished. Nice all around game and good story. Very funny lines at the entrance.

copain says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:25pm

nice animations and sound ambiance.
But I made an out of bound during a screen change...

xdegtyarev says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Art is really cool!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]