Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

GameJammed

by ShivanHunter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a developer trying to get ideas for LD29! Explore a pixelated, normal-mapped environment! Use WASD and spacebar to navigate and shoot!

In both versions, the jar is in with a folder full of assets because I manage my resources poorly. The "linux" one actually should work everywhere: the original one had an error related to case-sensitivity and so only works on Windows.

The GWT (Web) version has been ported to jbox2d (along with some other fixes to get the shader working with what seems to be a much older shader model). IT IS EXTREMELY SLOW. You can run it if you want to test the game out for a while, to see if you want to download it, but I really don't think it's playable.

(You might notice that even the windows version was updated after the deadline. This was to remove a single line of code in the AIThing class that was causing crashes. The Linux version was modified later - I'm considering that a port.)

The source is an Eclipse project which produces the new Windows version (with the crash fix). If I've left out a library, let me know. I renamed all the folders halfway through and sorting it all out was a hassle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#158Graphics3.88
#457Mood3.10
#463Humor2.56
#680Fun2.88
#681Overall3.06
#690Innovation2.88
#733Theme3.06
#755Audio2.36

Comments

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24am

Tried the web version of your game. It had some image errors and wouldn't load.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

I get an error:

GwtApplicatin: exception: Couldn't load image 'title0.png', file does not exist

Mondi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Man! Cant play your game! Error: GwtApplication: exception: Couldn't load image 'title0.png', file does not exist

triforcespark says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

I get a ConcurrentModificationException on obtaining the first orb. Is there some way to fix this?

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Stops abruptly when dying(?), funny story though

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35am

Sounds really interesting but I cant play it ):

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

sadly must confirm, web version does not start (titl0.png error)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

Image error :( at title screen

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

Yeah the web version doesn't work. I'll look at it after I've had some time to cool off. But I'll look at the desktop crash- that's definitely not supposed to happen.

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Got concurrent modification exception. If you are using enhanced for loop (foreach), change it to a regular one.

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Oh, damn. I changed a LinkedList into a HashTable and back again, but not without... anyway. new versions uploaded. If changing it now disqualifies me, hell with it, I made a game anyway :D

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

That was absolutely excellent

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

Says on the tin of the Web version. Game Jammed straight from the beginning! title0.png doesn't exist.

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

Couldn't open the web version

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

I'm still getting crashes on both the Web and Desktop versions :(

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Fun game, funny idea, and nice "Pretentious hard to read text"

Lolninjacatz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Try and get the web version running next time! I think web games will get a lot more visibility than the other ones. The last image was really what captured me to try this game. It looked really cool. The game was a little hard to control, but the lighting effects are really cool. The map was a little too dark; I get that was the intent, but navigation was a little to hard. Also corridors were a little too small but that's more of a personal preference. Sound effects were good, but ambiance and background music would make it really interesting. Great job on the game!

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Couldn't find title0.png

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31am

I've taken down the web link until it gets fixed. Lolninjacatz: thanks for the feedback! omaha: if the new desktop version still doesn't work, can you give me some details about that (run the jar from a command prompt/shell and tell me the debug output)?

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

Has some issues on Linux. The Linux filesystem is case sensitive, and your file names are often off because of the case. Probably the issues you are having with web too. If you get that sorted out I'd love to try it.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

Nice! I really enjoyed the first stage. I kept playing for quite a few levels. I was hoping for a nice ending but I guess the arrow dude will be stuck in the game jam forever...

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

sknoslo: trying that right now, thanks!!

shuanDang: ? it ends with you defeating Git, Eclipse and Box2d and uploading a game... (unless you mean the "pretend it's finished" remark, which comes from my paranoia since this is my first LD)

deadarius says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13am

Awesome, man! But I cannot beat it, way to hard!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

Do I detect use of Spritelamp in this?

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18am

goddamn github still isn't working, grumble grumble

daedrius: thanks! Yeah balancing was an issue, there's not much testing that can be done in a LD.

terraco: no, the normal map stuff is a homebrew thing I slapped together yesterday while I was still confused about what idea to go with. I knew I'd want the effect and it gave me something to do while pondering. A bit NIH, maybe, but it worked out.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:23am

great work with the normal maps!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

Yep. That's one perrrrdy game

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Gives me black screen after the title :c

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Vunderbar!

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Slightly difficult to control the ship and shoot but it looks great and was fun!

Chris Mondok says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Neat game. I really like the light effects. However, the area I could see was so small, I wound up just shooting all of the time in order to see.

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Amazing graphics!

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Looks amazing! Good job with the normal maps. I thought it was fun,

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Really cool

geekdrums says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Amazing. It will be more fun if there are some music I think.

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Doesn't work on linux because of you reference lower case files in your code but you have upper case files in your folder structures (Death.png vs death.png).

Worked flawlessly after I renamed everything.


Looks great but is a tad too dark. Had to shoot constantly in order to orient myself. The player arrow moves a little wonkey and the collision detection seems inefficient/ is called too often (noticable slowdown with 10+ projectiles around).

Aside from that I really enjoyed slaughtering eclipse, git and box2d :D

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Man, you certainly know how to set a mood.
I really liked how the game looked, although it became at some point tiring for my eyes.
I like all the Java programmer references.

The difficulty was right for me, I played it till the end.

beautiful.

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Good game, very hard. Perhaps make arrow keys an option next time?

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Thanks everyone!

ryebread761: I was wondering about control schemes - I should have added arrow keys as well as some indication of what the controls were, but by the time I thought about that the deadline was almost up.

evilDan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50am

Beautiful aesthetic

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54am

I love the pixel graphics with the lighting! and that water effect :) I didn't get that far in the game, but that fifth screenshot is very pretty :) It is a bit dark and hard to navigate. But what I could see in the darkness looked nice :)

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

It's very dark, which I assume is intentional. The first time I played I was able to shoot, but on consecutive plays all I do is find the cave explorer and the red guy guarding it kills me because I can't see where I'm going.

Looks nice, controls are good.

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05am

I'm getting the same problem as TheMorfeus above, just pure black screen after title screen. I can still press space and hear sounds. Running Windows 8.1 and Java 7

pawegio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18am

A little dark :) but nice.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11pm

works for me ..if abit too dark.. good work man :)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I like how the main light source is also a weapon.

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:26am

Thanks everyone!

Does it work for anyone on Windows 8? I can't test on that platform, but I have java 7 as well and it runs fine on win7.

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11am

Very nice! I like the idea of using logos of tools used as bosses. Using normal maps is very good too - the game starts to feel like 3D :)

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I like that you just said "screw it" and started making something. Kudos, and nice work with lighting and color.

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Really cool take on the theme. "Switch to jam" had me cracking up. Visuals were awesome as well, particularly the lighting effects. Great work!

Agecaf says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:51am

The lightning effects are amazing, and fit the graphics environment a bit too perfectly.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]