Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Escape

by Belvar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made using Java and the libGDX library.
Graphics drawn with GIMP.
Music generated by abundant-music.com and modified with lmms.
Sound effects recorded by myself.

The game is about a Ninja trying to escape from an underground cavern. To do so, she jumps from wall to wall and uses the ancient Ninja art of double jumping. Click or press a key to bounce on a wall before you touch it. The closer you are, the farther you will bounce. Click or press a key to double jump. Press S to toggle sound.

It is my first LD, and one of my first games, which explains the simple gameplay and the poor graphics. The game should be more enjoyable on smartphone but I didn't think about resolution issues when I started it and the port will take some time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#318Audio3.14
#618Fun2.95
#679Innovation2.89
#719Humor2.21
#775Overall2.95
#963Mood2.52
#1023Graphics2.44
#1076Theme2.42

Comments

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Good game but really hard

FGM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Difficult game. I keep trying to get as close as possible and end up losing. I like that frustrating kind of fun. Cool music too.

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Well really hard game. It's really frustratin when you have no choice but jump on a corner and finish on the wall :/.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Highscore 34. Hard is the way of the ninja, good is the game.

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:26pm

I only got 44... Hard, but fun to play. Very addicting! The randomness of the level feels a bit unfair at times. But as the game restarts so quickly it does not really matter. Very good entry!

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Pretty hard, got 80 eventually.
You just have to get used to it.
What made me rage allot was the fact that I kept hitting that first obstacle XD.
Could be a great time-waister!

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29pm

A bit too much focus is put on being able to control exactly how close you want to be to the wall before jumping. Especially when obstacles start to appear you need to have very precise timing to survive. I feel like the death by landing on the cliff does not really fit into the game there seem to be no reason for why you would not simply be able to land on them.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Those stinkin' overhangs :P

The mechanics were really solid. The wall bounce was a little harder than necessary, but was still really fun to play around with. Nice job :)

(P.S. Ninjas do rock :)

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05am

i only got 34. very difficult to me) but great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Challenging game ! 83 is the best I can do :P

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Really hard to get the hang of.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:45pm

This is a cool concept! Very simple and elegant-- almost Flappy Bird-like, but without ripping the game off. Kudos to you for coming up with this.

The gameplay could use a bit of polish-- give the player a little bit of a chance to touch the wall a little bit. Constantly crashing into the wall feels bad. If you could get the timing down perfectly, this game could feel really really good! Interested to see you do more with this!

Simon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:01pm

That was pretty fun to play, good job!

Belvar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Thank you all for the feedback ! I like challenging games like Super Meat Boy, VVVVVV or Super Hexagon, so my attempt was to do a hard but fun and addictive gameplay.
There's still work to do to balance the game regarding player physics and level generation, I think.

@Kragnir : The fact that you die if you touch the wall is what makes the game challenging. I don't really know what could happen instead. Sticking on the wall ? Sliding ? Automatic rebounce ? Thanks for your feedback anyway ! :)

@Secret_Tunnel : Thanks for the feedback. I was also thinking of some kind of slomo when you go near the wall. Alowing to touch it wouldn't fit with the rebounce being stronger if you jump when the ninja is near the wall.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:41pm

I don't mean when you touch the walls from the side I mean when you land on top of a wall that is further out than the wall above it.

Death when you touch the wall is reasonable since I guess the ninja have trouble absorbing the impact and lose momentum.

Belvar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46pm

@Kragnir : Oh, I misunderstood, sorry, I'm French. I agree with you, and it also applies when you touch a wall from below, it would be better if you'd just bounce on it.

Tomski says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:19pm

This game was hard but good nonetheless! Nice audio too

Cezel_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Hard, addictive and fun!

Marcellus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:26pm

This is really fun to play and require strong skills to master.

With a little more work, you got a flappy-bird killer. Consider finishing it and making money.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:59pm

This game is really hard, but very enjoyable! The ninja voice sounds were great. I feel like with a little polish to jump distance and level generation, this would make a really fun game. Nice work! :)

fullmontis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Controls are great and the game is challenging but I didn't feel it was frustrating. I quite enjoyed playing it. Audio is great!

ZQMony says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Once you get used to the controls, this game can be very addicting.

Vulpus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:30pm

hard, but good game

May 6, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Hitbox felt a pixel or two too large; might be because of the animation.

I was expecting to see more obstacles as I went higher, but by 153 I only saw about 3. Oh well.

Still, fun game overall. Music sounded exotic and had a pretty good rhythm; definitely added to the overall value. It just needs that little something that'd make you feel like you're making progress, and it'd be a pretty solid mobile game.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:21pm

This is an interesting idea, but the game seems impossible more often than not.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Nice variation on walljumping! It felt a bit strange at first to get a game over when touching a wall, but it made for a pretty fun experience. The risk/reward of getting a better jump the closer you are to the wall without touching it is a lot of fun! The only problem is the presence of overhangs that nearly trap you in some situations, but they happen rarely enough for it to not be a big problem. Also, such is the case with randomly-generated levels; it could have been a lot worse, I'm sure.

I also want to mention that having the same key for mid-air double jumps and walljumping actually works pretty well. While reading the instructions I was afraid the controls would get cluttered, but the "walljump zone" is so narrow that I never got an air jump when I wanted a walljump, or vice versa. Keeping controls down to one button was a good call, especially since it makes the game a lot more playable on smartphones. You should consider beefing up this game & making it into a full mobile game! I think it's accessible & fun enough to work as one.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]