Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crabathon

by colludium - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Fantastic luck - I've escaped from the bucket of oppression. The only challenge now is to make it to the open ocean - should be a breeze....!"

Crabathon is a one-crab adventure to escape to freedom. But, things aren't that simple - keep out of the damaging sunlight and watch out for some unusual wildlife on the way.

Good luck and I hope you enjoy this - my first Ludum Dare entry. It's been a bit of a slog and I've done my best - I hope you have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#241Humor3.00
#440Graphics3.33
#507Audio2.85
#661Fun2.90
#714Overall3.02
#852Mood2.65
#991Theme2.63
#1037Innovation2.39

Comments

Kyatric says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

The concept is a bit confusing.
"Find a throwing star(fish)", I'd rather have been given it right away to defend myself.

Also, even though I'll be in the shade of a platform, I'm still getting "sunburn" ?
I think there is a confusing representation of what's dangerous and what's not.
The map seems pretty big, nevertheless, I don't really get the time or enjoyment to explore it.

The graphics and audio are really nice and work pretty well.

Good job overall making a LD game and releasing it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Good job ! I really enjoyed your game. I like graphics and audio !

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Very nice graphics. Only sometimes it's slowing.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Really smooth, and the controls are pretty slick. Nice work!

thinkster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54pm

It was hard to find the starfish, and without it the game is really hard. Though when I did find it the game was really good fun!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I love the idea of oysters spitting deadly pearls at you!

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I hear the point about the starfish. I think if I was to do it again I would put some signs up or something.

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Or maybe randomize its position each run, but put it visible on the map, this way the player can have a goal right from the start.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25am

The graphics are very nice.

colludium says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03am

Thanks - all graphics were done using Inkscape. @Kyatric - good idea - I think the map is underutilized in this version of the game (it's there to help you navigate but it doesn't lead you where to go). I had aspirations to do so much more but time was the winner...

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

I didn't really like the controls, but otherwise your game is enjoyable :)

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:49am

Really cool! The music is, like, jive!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59am

The overflowing injuryometer was very motivating for me. Nice UI touch!

The starfish is definitely too dang hard to get ahold of, and I wish it was easier to play with the map open so it wasn't so easy to get stranded in the sun and croak. Nice work though!

Wertle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46am

Cute theming. I think this game could clean up well with a lot of feedback tweaks (things like camera work and jump/speed tuning on projectiles/etc). Great job for your first Ludum Dare!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Neat little game, like the smooth movement of the crab. A little confusing too!

May 1, 2014 @ 11:30am

Pretty solid entry, I liked it. I managed to find the starfish, which helps a lot. I agree that it wasn't entirely clear when the sun was hitting you. I liked the graphics, especially that the little crab raised his eyebrows when walking

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Pretty classic platformer - physics are how they are expected to be, which is always nice. Graphics are decent, though kind of blocky. Music & sounds are pretty good.
A solid entry.

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:01am

Bit slow and confusing, nice, fun game.

garygreen says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Great idea, graphics and fun too. :-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]