Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sundiver

by kmakai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

BUGFIX: A loaded bitmap needed to be set to "null", which caused an issue with enemies spawning on the second level, this has been fixed in the "Flash" link.

I also made a version, uploaded to dropbox but not itch.io yet, which has slower chasing enemies, if you like the game I'd urge you to try that too!

=== Click to "boost," though you'll need faster reflexes to dodge at higher speeds. Survive long enough to make it to the core, extend your time by picking up the small green shards! ===

Reseed the corrupted stars, or become corrupted yourself.


Guide the star shard to the cores of fallen stars, click to boost briefly, and don't run out of light... pickup stardust to keep the light from going out.

---
Dropbox: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/43689300/ld48/index.html
itch.io: http://kmakai.itch.io/sundiver

Twitter: http://twitter.com/kmakai

Made using HaxeFlixel, BFXR for sound, Bosca Ceoil for music, and Paint.Net for the graphics. Using a font called [Bookends with Accents](http://www.fontspace.com/intestinogrueso/bookendswithaccents)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#292Audio3.18
#498Innovation3.14
#505Mood3.04
#511Graphics3.23
#745Overall2.98
#772Fun2.77
#849Humor2.00
#1118Theme2.31

Comments

caranha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Interesting ideas and graphics, but the game is too frustrating to play. The homing enemies are too fast, and when they get into your field of view it is too late and they hit you before you can do anything.

If you can balance that a little bit, this looks like an awesome game.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43pm

I like the graphics and audio, nice job

quickfingers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Nice idea, executed well. Only issue was the speed of the enemies was insanely difficult, and it's one of those games that isn't as fun with a trackpad :) Overall I enjoyed it

pht59x says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Graphics and audio are fine but the gameplay is frustrating. Anything to do with the theme?

smikulcik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nice musix/sfx. I have trouble getting anywhere because I keep getting bombarded by the skull things. I can't figure out how to 'reseed' the fallen stars. I keep dying for no apparent reason (I don't understand the meter)

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I like sounds. View distance mechanics is original.

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Thanks everyone, I'm not sure why the second time playing always starts with more of the skulls... I spent my last half hour of the jam trying to fix that. I'm slowing them down though, and I might make the levels a little shorter to start with (the meter is a progress bar, your distance toward the core.)

kmakai says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:40pm

I fixed the second level, which was basically a bugged win condition. For those interested, every time a glitch enemy was (trying to be) spawned, it tried to access a not-null-but-not-valid cached bitmap -- this caused the hitching, until some RNG condition was met and a skull was spawned instead. Thanks for dealing with that issue!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23am

Pretty nice.

Eirikir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

I think it looked beautiful and it had nice sound fx. Grats!

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

I really enjoy the visuals, and I like that getting hit had consequences beyond just losing health. I'm not entirely sure what was going on most of the time though :P The homing enemies are somewhat annoying, though

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Is there any way at all to dodge those weird squid things? I started ignoring them after a few unsuccessful attempts. If those were friendlier, though, this would be excellent. Very simple and elegant in pretty much every way.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

I uploaded an easier version in addition to the others, I feel like that level of balance is outside the scope of allowed bugfixes (the changes were only a constant variable, but regardless) so please judge based on the "Flash" link! Thanks everyone for the great feedback!

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06am

very interesting and fresh idea! I always end up the stage biting my nails off. Also loved the graphic and sounds =]

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Wow the graphics on this game is great, and overall well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Well designed game with nice visuals and audio. Liked the glitchy feel to the star and rest of the objects and the black and white works really well. Also great font choice.

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39pm

It's pretty fun! I found using the boost to be a bad idea as I usually just crash right away.

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

It's a nice game but with no explanation on what to do: I hit all the square asteroid and died before understanding I had to avoid them.

I was completely unable to avoid enemies, they were to fast and the vision range was to small.

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

I liked the overall game mechanics, sounds and art, but enemies and healing really needs a little work. The first ones are too quick, and the latter "heal" too little of your sight. Fix those things and release this game for phones. :<

graebor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Interesting game. The enemies that appear and dash towards you were super fast and seemed impossible to avoid. I wasn't really sure how to tell if I was winning or not, sometimes it said "Core cleansed" and sometimes not, I had no idea why.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Neat concept, the game gets difficult *very* fast if you take any damage, but maybe that's just because I'm bad at games.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I can't seem to run this above five frames a second, which is strange seeing as my computer was near top of the line two years ago. Passing on rating for this reason - it isn't fair to rate based on my inability to play this.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I really like the whole corruption being represented by corrupted/glitch graphics. Reminds me of Space Funeral a bit. I have a soft spot for that kind of stuff.

The jam game is really difficult. I don't think I got past the second level ever. The fading light mechanic when you get hit is really cool. The only thing is it becomes super small pretty quick and it really pushes you into death at that point. Maybe a regeneration of it (besides collecting the teeny tiny green squares) would make the game funner and less hopeless when you've gotten hurt.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Curse you, homing skull-asteroid things!

Nice style. I am going to assume the corruption graphics were inspired by the fabled "Missing NO." Pokemon.

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

So cool looking, great work! It feels really good to boost, but those skulls really sucker punch me :) I'll try the post-jam version!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I had similar problems as other posters--had a hard time avoiding the meteor things that try to collide with your star. Aesthetically it looks really nice.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

nice gfx and sound.. found it alittle hard tho :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:32pm

The round enemies are so heavy duty. Never made it to the ground in ten rounds :-(

But it has a very unique style, liked this a lot!

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone, this is the best/most I've gotten yet! I made some changes to the health pickups to make them slightly larger and restore more health (time.) I'm working on some changes to hopefully improve performance too, I had to do a bit of hacky stuff to make the glitches look the way they do and I don't know the internals of Flash well enough (this was made in Haxe and cross-compiled) to automatically catch all of the chokepoints in the code. I'll keep working though!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:59am

I really enjoyed the look of this game and also the game play itself. Nice use of theme! I included it in part 2 of my LD29 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/JHNjbQTDBuQ

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:40am

Looks really good, I really like the idea.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08am

Minimalist... but not in a good way! There's too little pixels, too little colors, too little gameplay there.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:10am

Found this game on accident because my nick is "Makai" on IRC. I am pleasantly surprised by Stardiver. I think the trick is to draft behind walls to avoid enemies!

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13am

Interest idea.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:43pm

This is very laggy for me... Looks interesting though :)

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:26am

Pretty cool. Good work.

Beavl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:53am

Wow. Nice entry, remind me somehow of amazing Eliss by Steph Thirion. Congrats on a polished little game!

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:09am

Gameplay is nice but too simple. Should be more complex. Otherwise good.

Also, your game isn't very related to the theme.

mjau says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:18am

I like this, but yeah, the skulls in the compo version are way too hard. It felt like it was mostly up to luck if i'd be able to clear any particular level -- several times there'd be like three or four skulls coming at me in a row, each one almost impossible to dodge (specially with the field of vision reduced..). Just one skull wasn't too bad, but they had this habit of ganging up on you.

(The skulls in the post-compo version are a lot better, but they're almost too easy again.. not the skulls themselves, but i think they take off less health, or you get more health from the stardust, or maybe there's more dust? either way, you recover pretty quickly even after getting hit)

I wish there'd been more variety to the levels. Maybe i didn't play far enough, but they pretty much felt the same. I think there was a bit more debris in later ones, maybe? It was pretty subtle though, and as for skulls, i got a ton of them in level 1 a few times, and only one in later levels other times, so that seemed more up to the random number generator than the level.

I liked how some 1x1 corrupted blocks looked like corrupted skulls. I don't know if that was intentional or if i was just seeing things, but the first few times those went by i was wondering if they'd suddenly wake up and come after me. Would've been nice if some of them did! (Well, not *nice*, but, you know =))

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:23am

Nice visual, although I couldn't tell easily who was my enemy and what was a bonus. Otherwise nice little game, good job :D

conormn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Loving the vibe going on and the mechanics have a lot of potential. Really great job :)

ezolotko says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Cool. I liked old TV-like graphics how circle gets smaller as a punishment.

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Like the idea. But no chance to miss asteroids. They always hit little start.

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Quite a good entry, nice light mechanic, just too difficult

May 4, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Nice look. It's a bit too difficult for my taste but good job!

bwpdsigns says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I like the art, the game is challenging to play.

petey123567 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:02am

Really tight, like the simplicity.

frankd0331 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:00am

There's something about the visibility shrinking that makes the gameplay of avoiding collision fun and interesting, for me. Also, thank you for turning me on to Bosca Ceoil.

xhunterko says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:27am

Very nice. Not bad!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]