Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scratch Ticket Fate

by XenosNS - Jam Entry

Enjoy a quiet afternoon at the coffee shop and learn your fate. Scratch off the fate icons by clicking on the squares.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#13Humor(Jam)4.18
#109Innovation(Jam)3.65
#142Theme(Jam)3.63
#308Mood(Jam)3.18
#332Fun(Jam)3.06
#361Audio(Jam)3.10
#446Overall(Jam)3.09
#584Graphics(Jam)2.80

Comments

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

YAY!!! this is great

Druid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

NOOOOOO http://puu.sh/8s8Bf.jpg XD XD

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Haha awesome use of the theme! YAY!

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:17pm

This is hilarious!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Hahha I won ! It's my lucky day, I won prematured death, a car collection, loneliness and a bad acid trop. Hurray :D Great work, nice interpreation of the theme and you made me laugh a lot :)

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Debt freedom! Bankruptcy!? BAD ACID TRIP!? Chronic illness and homelessness.... what kind of prizes are these!?

I love the flashing stars on "You Won!!!". The scratching is pretty cool too. I think this is the cleverest use of the theme I've seen.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Hi ! Thanks for reporting the bug with the crystals ! I just look at the code and yeah :P I wrote money = 5; instead of money += 5; ;) sorry about that and thank you for reporting it :)

XenosNS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:58pm

@BoneDaddy - The ticket says win your fate, it made no promises of the desirability of the prizes ;-)

@archaeometrician - No problem, glad to help. I'll have to play again and check out the fix.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:22am

I felt like I was really scratching a scratch ticket.

xensky says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:44am

can I actually have that vast wealth? the sounds were spot on. I really wanted to win the banana hammock for some reason. alas. great entry.

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:46am

Hahaha funniest LD entry I've played so far

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:46am

I played this way too many times.
Awesome job.

trueyomic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:06am

Very amusing way to look at the theme. My wife and I played it three times each to determine our 'fate.' I got debt free, alien abduction, and loneliness. My wife got fertility, an acid trip, and debt free. Not sure who got the worse deal, haha. Still a fun little game.

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Lol, very good interpretation of the theme..sometimes the smartest decisions aren't too far away :) cool.

MithosKuu says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice and simple, I love it

May 2, 2014 @ 12:52am

haha

rojo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:53am

Haha this was great. I got a good laugh out of some of the prizes.

Snoother says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Love the concept! And the sound effects make it quite immersive. (And my fate was one of vast wealth, which is something I'm always happy to hear.) Lateral use of theme too.

CiderPunk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:36pm

nice! when do I get my classic car collection?

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:40am

hehe, this made me laugh

ViKing Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:10am

I played 5 times, winning premature death, vast wealth, fertility, sex appeal, and a bad acid trip! "Yaaay!"

The audio was perfect, and the humor was fantastic. I'll probably get some of my friends to play this, too.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:11am

...huh???

ChuiGum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:23am

Very funny!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:25am

Yaaaaaaay! Wait. Awwww. Fun entry! +1 for using a timmie's cup haha. Very funny, and the scratch mechanism was surprisingly satisfying. Nice work :)

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:51am

That was different. Unique take on the theme.

Fragsteel says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Hahaha, this was so silly! I loved it. The sounds were really nice, I especially loved the ambiance of the coffee shop. I'd really love to know where you got the idea for this.

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:47am

Hilarious! I played quite a bit, hoping for a nicer outcome than loneliness and death... no luck. Awesome sound effects!

May 10, 2014 @ 10:22am

Well, the game is funny. But leaving everything to luck is the one that I kinda dislike.

May 10, 2014 @ 2:30pm

This is awesome :D
Congrats!

gre says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:52pm

LoL

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Very amusing. Played quite a few times trying to see what the fates were.

mystakin says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:35am

I won alien abduction! I have to admit, clicking to reveal the tiles is satisfying in a similar way to real scratch off tickets. Silly project, but well done.

Nanolotl says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:41am

That music at the end really makes it. Nice theme usage.

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:51am

Funny and clever idea. I love the "YAAY" and happy music when you "win" your fate, and some of the fates themselves were pretty funny.

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:33am

Yaaaay! I can't believe people who do this actually exist ;)

May 22, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I made a video of the game here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWXmNA687-s&list=UUYY8Ps6rzoZpWDRIQSy363A

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]