Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SHOT H2O

by hugamer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a gas bubble in a drink. Your objective is to swallow smaller bubbles and avoid the big ones. My objective was to create multiple levels, but I didn't have time. I could work only 8h in this project.

I have used this assets:

Music: http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/405211
Logo Font: http://www.dafont.com/pt/waterhole.font
Game Font: http://www.dafont.com/pt/bebas-neue.font


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#668Fun2.89
#879Graphics2.65
#896Innovation2.61
#973Mood2.50
#989Overall2.72
#1088Theme2.39
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Lot of fun, but in one point turns to impossible

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:32am

It's a cool concept and I like the style, but like the other comment says, a giant bubble that you can't avoid is basically guaranteed after about a minute of play.

Artless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

This idea has a lot of promise! With different enemy types and a little knowledge of where the genre has already been (see Osmos) you could make something great out of this idea!

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Nice and clean! :)

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Really cool! It's a bit easy though, it then it very quickly gets impossible. :)

Sestren says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:08am

I like how it plays, but I agree with ccglp that at some point it just becomes impossible to avoid the super-giant bubbles after about a minute.

hugamer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Thank you guys, I am aware of the giant bubbles, and I am planning on putting more enemies!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:10pm

It seems little too easy. Nice graphics!

Cirrial says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:07am

Nice choice of music. Game becomes unwinnable near the end. Neat idea though!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

Even though the game eventually becomes unwinnable, it's still a nice dose of fun. It's nice to see a new take on the "eat the bigger fish" game. The way all bubbles, not just the player, absorb each other is pretty cool, and it's a shame it results in the impossible endgame scenario of giant, unbeatable bubbles in the end. It's obvious you originally wanted to have multiple levels, because then levels could have ended before this scenario could happen. Still, you did a very good job for only a few hours of development time!

PS: As much as I'd like to give you a high Audio score for the fantastic song you picked, Compo entries aren't allowed to use 3rd-party music. :(

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

Its slow at the beggining, then becomes impossible and depens on luck.
The main idea is good but you sure have to advance it

May 10, 2014 @ 9:52am

The difficulty progression is a bit of - it starts out really easy and gets near impossible very quickly.
Great entry, though! Congrats! :)

hugamer says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:04pm

mrjohnson22 thank for your reply on this game! I didn't know put third party audio wasn't allowed. I am not the "sound guy", I feel bad now about it. But thank you anyway.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]