Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Fruit Miner

by InvisibleWonder - Jam Entry

It's a memory and resource balancing game! Here's the list of fruits, sorted from least valuable to most:

Banana Ore - Although scientists have tried to name it Bananium, few sentient species can barely spell it as it is.

Mashed Potatoes - Often found near deposits of Gravium.

Kiwi Ore - A fruit with fuzzy brown skin. Known as Wookiwi on Valtoonie.

Passion Fruit - Found primarily on volcanic planets.

Acai Berries - Superfood and also an excellent starship fuel.

Guava Substrate - Another transporter accident involving starberries and pears.

Papaya Formation - Known for it's buttery flesh. By cannibals.

Mango Ore - Mango? You go!

Pomegranate Ore - An obviously alien artifact.

Star Fruit - That's a thing! It tastes like citrus, apple and plum ores.


Music by Kazinozoren! https://soundcloud.com/kazinozoren

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#256Theme(Jam)3.39
#260Humor(Jam)2.85
#299Innovation(Jam)3.17
#334Audio(Jam)3.15
#486Fun(Jam)2.78
#611Overall(Jam)2.77
#624Mood(Jam)2.55
#639Graphics(Jam)2.61

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

good music, game feed good overall. took me a bit too long to figure out what to do.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

I liked the different types of probes. It was a little hard at first to figure out what to do, but I picked it up pretty quick. Nice work.

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:17am

I though about mass effect 2 when mining. Nice implementation.

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

The game would be nice, if there were more things to do :) Like some upgrades or something, hope you'll add some soon, cause the concept is really interesting. And these probe types are fun

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43am

Hahaha! Is this a Mass Effect planetary mining parody? :P Cool idea, I do like it, but it's not super fun... But then ME's mining was crap too and they probably spent a million bucks on it :P

Candyhandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46am

Really nice mechanics, i love it!

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:15pm

It's a nice concept, but it gets old pretty fast due to there not being enough variety...

01101101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice game mechanics, and fairly intuitive. Good take on the theme :) Not a fan of the music though.
I would definitely come back for an extended version with probe upgrades, better graphics and more polish.

Vandash says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Nice idea; make it into a solar system that you explore, add some resource management, and you got yourself a bigger game here!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30am

Love the music, the gameplay is interesting and innovative, its a nice game !

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41am

Good music, nice racoon !

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:20am

Cool idea. I could never seem to win though.

miwuc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:27am

Really fun concept! My only complaint is that it's hard to remember what's valuable and what's not. It would be good to have a visual cue, or a handy cheatsheet on the screen at all times. I think this has the potential to be fleshed out into a bigger game.
Well done!

Lerc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:37am

I feel like it needs an animation for the mining probe. Otherwise nice simple timewaster.

almosoka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:41am

I really like almost everything.
Downs:Graphics are cute but the different values of the fruits need to be more recognisable by their images or there should be at least some kind of info about them on the game screen. Controls are bad, it would be cool to select probes with the keyboard WASD? (maybe on a touchscreen it can work as it is right now). The gameplay could be better with more difference between the sweeper and the seismic probe. make sweeper more random and seismic more sweeper. :D
Ups: Concept and mechanics are awesome. They are also fitting the theme perfectly. And the music is just great, I want to keep playing because of it.
Thanks+

travislucia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:32am

Hello fellow newgroundser! Fun game and cool idea, the effests of the probes worked really well.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Easy and simple game! I do like different scan probes.

Rabbits... says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:20am

nice and simple, I like the laid back style of this, and (: for the music

michelfontes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:20am

Intersting concept. liked a lot. The music irritates me, though - not the same mood as the game.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Like the overall look!

Moosefly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Yay, a top score of 18600.

Should've added a bonus for clearing the whole planet. The game also calculated the score incorrectly if you managed to get a fruit on your last turn (it didn't count towards total score). The UI was pretty unintuitive, and I would've preferred if the tool didn't deselect after using it. The fruits sometimes stuck out of the planet too, made me grin a bit.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Mining fruits in a planet? That is weird!
Nice music and interesting game mecanism.

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Hi. Interesting idea, made me think of geophysics team on TimeTeam... ! Needs a secondary game alongside I think, perhaps this sort of resource gathering would fit in a craft/build type game ?

rojo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:57am

I enjoyed this one. Pretty straightforward. It would be interesting to see it expanded on a little - different planets, running a space mining business, etc.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:21am

What does the raccoon do? I dunno! But it's awesome. Nice use of the theme and a really original idea. I like the idea of balancing discovery tools vs. retrieval tools. Wish I had a better sense of which fruits were worth more though - I basically forgot as soon as I started playing.

foodzilla says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:33am

Good feel of the game. Pretty simple and decent overall :)

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Come and see the new version of our submarine engineer :D

TeamFlare says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:52pm

This reminded me off mass effect 2, where i scanned every planet^^ Had a lot of fun and played several rounds.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]