Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Draw

by zebi24 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Check out what is happening beneath the surface of a computer screen and see how the pixels are drawn.

Make sure you put all the pixels in the right places in this skill/puzzle game. :)

Use ARROWS or WASD to move the pixel, R key to restart a level (you might need this a lot ;) ), and SPACE to start.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#101Innovation3.88
#280Humor2.92
#586Overall3.16
#596Fun2.97
#639Graphics3.03
#830Mood2.68
#1053Audio1.33
#1147Theme2.23

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:40am

Cute and unique. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48am

Only played into the second level, but it was interesting. I liked the mechanics, though sometimes finding out where to place the piece got annoying as once the finished pieces started moving they were sometimes hard to maneuver-against obstacles. Also I am not quite certain what this game had to do with the theme.

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07am

@cr2crstudios: thanks a lot! :)

@AestheticGamer: thanks for checking out the game! I used the theme as: what is happening Beneath the Surface of a pc screen. I didn't want to make another beneath the ground or sea game ;)

increpare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

haha :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Very loosely based on the theme but fun to play never the less :)

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22am

It's a very punishing puzzle, but I really enjoy the mechanics. :)

madflame991 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34am

+ new and interesting mechanics
+ the animations made it feel more interactive
- too few levels

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51am

Far more fun et complex than it seems!

weazen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Took me a while to understand what I was supposed to do. My first game I was just smashing pixels onto the bunny and didn't understand why he was giving me a frowning face!

My second try though was much more successful, until the bunny jumped right in front of me when I completed it!

I liked this self discovery process, and was very happy you put in a quick restart button :). Nicely done. Congrats on finishing!

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Nice thinking on the theme. I'm glad you animated the finished pieces, otherwise it might have been a bit too dull :)

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Great concept! Love the difficulty for gameplay and the simplicity for graphics!

Thomas Ingham says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Pretty cool take on shape-fitting.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Excellent. Love the mechanic and the implementation, real success on complete a level

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Interesting idea. Nice to see something a bit different, even if it's only a tenuous connection to the theme. :-)

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

This game is very nice and someway it fells 'complete', this is beatiful considering that this was made in 48 hours!

Ps: It's not a shame to ask for someone's help for the music and joining the jam instead ;).

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Cute ! I see here a good puzzle for children on ipad or android tablet !

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:26am

The game was very challenging. But I was cute and unique.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

Great game lots of fun even though i only played the first level

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30am

unique, easy to play, sweet entry!

ren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

neat idea. wish the pixels moved a bit quicker.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

fun and I like the art, good job :)

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:20am

very nicely made!

Meedoc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Sometimes the snapping can be frustrating but overall it's really nice!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14pm

That's really original! Maybe you should consider animating the scene before completion as moving object add difficulty and non-static scene is just.. much more prettier :)

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:28pm

This is a cool idea, unique and fun to play. Good work!

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Such a lovely game and great idea, but I stopped at level 2 I couldn't see the white pixels on the grey backgroun :( Maybe it's my screen. Otherwise great job !

Waterman7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:01pm

This was great! Really like the idea and execution.
The reactions of the pixel animals made it for me, I felt really sorry when I accidentally put a pixel in the wrong spot. :D

jerombd says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:23am

Very original idea, but the gameplay is, at the end, a bit boring :|

Anoarith says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:18am

Very original game and nice use of the theme :) ! The game was maybe too punitive. I liked how it becomes more difficult when an item is complete because he's moving to annoy you x)

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:22am

Cute!

May 8, 2014 @ 6:52am

Lovely idea ! Great job

May 8, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Haha, woow, a very cool and unique game! :)

jujule says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I was completely oblivious to the penguin in the second level. When I got it, a stupid smile appeared on my face (girlfriend told me). That felt good. Besides that, I love the pixel art.

Raiyumi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Neat idea! I enjoyed the fact that after completing a object it became slightly more difficult. :)

goerp says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:42am

The originality of this is great. Cute graphics too, with animation as a reward. Could use some sounds. But there are some serious issues with the positioning of the pixels.
The snapping is sometimes just plain wrong. It made the second level almost unfinishable for me.
I think you have something nice here, but just work on the pixelsnaps.
Actually I think you can do it under the rules too.

CodeNMore says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:00pm

I like the idea, unique!

Garris says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:05am

This was very unique, and very fun. It's one of the most unusual, and unexpected ideas I've seen, and I really wasn't expecting it to be so enjoyable when I saw what it was. I was very pleasantly surprised. Well done!

csanyk says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:31am

Interesting concept, but too easy to make a mistake, and one mistake and you're screwed, but you don't know it until you play all the pixels. And then to start over, you have to start over from scratch. It's too unforgiving.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]