Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Geofront

by BenTurbine - Jam Entry

A completely basic shmup. I doesn't really fit the theme, in the end, and the collisions are also quite buggy. I loved making it though, because this is the first game for which I'm responsible both in design and graphics.
Totally awesome 80s music by Lucien Jely : https://twitter.com/JelyLucien
This game was made using Stencyl (and learning it as I went). You can give it a try at http://www.stencyl.com/

The game completely lacks polish. I was a bit short on time. Have fun.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#157Audio(Jam)3.55
#187Graphics(Jam)3.85
#536Fun(Jam)2.68
#539Mood(Jam)2.77
#587Overall(Jam)2.82
#756Theme(Jam)1.59
#756Innovation(Jam)1.78
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:44am

Nice, like the graphics :)

BenTurbine says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19am

Thanks, I'm dissatisfied with the boss, but very happy with the player's ship.

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

An ok shoot-them-up game with nice music. No sound effects.

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:54am

Man the music in this game is GREAT. Great first job on a game, first time game maker here too, mad fun wasn't it? I think you had a great concept, keep working on it, I want to play the full thing! I gotta say it was a run of the mill shmup, but im liking the potential.

indigofiz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:00am

Nice for a first game. Love the pixel art and the music, I hope you keep making games from now on~

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06am

I very much enjoyed playing your game. The music is some of the best I've heard so far in this competition, especially the main game play track. Well done!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:20am

Nice ship graphics, reminds me of R-Type.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

Solid! One issue I noticed is that while i was madly rapping the Z key, i died and instantly restarted, and had no idea what was going on (until the second time i died).

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Shmups are my second-favorite genre, so I was really glad to get to play this! For a first game, this is wonderful >< I really like your ship designs and the music is pretty good! I was also pretty impressed with how you did the shot patterns/wave formations of the enemy fighters--looked good!

One concrete game design thing I can say would be that in general, especially with the buggy collision mechanics and small size of the initial enemies, it kind of makes sense for them to have only one HP, right? It's really satisfying to have your first experience be KABOOM, especially since you have multiple enemy types and the stronger ones would show up soon!

Keep it up! I hope I see you next compo :]

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:47am

Vector again!

PS: Forgot to say I totally dig the little engine flares. They helped a lot so that the sprites didn't just look totally static and slidey.

Penguincat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:16am

Loved the music and the art! I'd love to see a bit more story to complement the great atmosphere of it.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:31am

Nice job, art and sound is well-done.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:45am

Nice one, I liked the artwork. The game itself was a bit too easy and seemed more like a "hold Z" than a "mash Z" sort of game. Sound effects really would have helped it feel more complete.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:43am

Came up with a grey screen... :(

BenTurbine says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23pm

- The player's ship is supposed to fade out upon death, before switching back to the menu screen, but a scripting mistake I made prevents that.
- If the game page comes up with a grey screen, could the problem be related to Flash player?
- I never thought of actually holding the fire key. I just kept mashing it during playtest.
Otherwise thanks for the support! I definitely had fun this Ludum Dare, and I'll keep making more games, both alone and in a team.

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Nice game, although I wish I could hold the buttons down to fire.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Ha, the boss just flew by me. Even tried it twice, couldn't kill him fast enough :(.

The hit detection seemed ok, but the enemies reacted to the hits pretty randomly. The basic enemies were too small for my tastes, at least compared to the player ship. Gameplay was somewhat slow and easy too. Not a fan of mashing the shooting button in SHMUPs either. Really liked the visuals and the audio though, sound effects would've been really cool.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:03am

good job as a first stencyl game. i would like to have the shoot button be held down. my "z" finger got tired.

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:50am

Nice little game, but I am missing some explosions, sounds and some screen shake. The smallest enemies are a bit too hard to take down. You could make them bigger or less hip points. I still enjoyed your entry.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Nice game! Loved the colors! I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

Larzan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Love the music, great simplicistic Backgrounds, well done!

May 3, 2014 @ 7:01pm

nice game , love the graphics style!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]