Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Astro-Tomb Raider

by dkkarate - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My LD 29 Compo entry. Sadly I could not complete it with the time I had but it is stable and has a score so it's pretty fun.

WASD to move; You have a jet pack so hold W
SPACE to fire
1 and 2 are to switch your weapons

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#962Audio1.79
#972Humor1.81
#1117Graphics2.23
#1191Mood1.79
#1193Fun2.00
#1218Theme1.93
#1238Overall2.13
#1258Innovation1.55

Comments

vitor.navarro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

The guy walking animation is a little jumpy and there isa glitch between the tiles that flashes from time to time. He don't die?
Nice entry.

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26pm

You can not die in this game. So whats the point?

dkkarate says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

I'm sorry that he can't die but I just couldn't finish it with time I had. Again, I apologize.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Good work. I like how jumping works

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:25am

Game needs a little bit more going on, I'm not sure if it really matches the beneath the surface theme in it's current state.

ZQMony says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:26am

The graphics are nice, but a adding a purpose to the game would be nice.

SuperMsp10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:47am

nice game, there is a black line when you turn left

Marcellus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:16pm

the graphics are nice, the rest needs polishing

Skipi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:24pm

It's a nice game. I like how the jumping is kind of jetpack-like.

You might have been better off going with the digging-style game you did as practice before the compo started, though.

dkkarate says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Thank you all for the feedback. I might release a post compo version with all the bells and whistles :)

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:55am

You mentioned it was unfinished, but what you had so far was pretty cool. Obviously you need an objective/death state/etc to make this a complete game.

dertom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Did you remove the files from your dropbox, as I can't download neither linux nor windows nor source. Too bad, just thought:"Good guy, who provides beside the webplayer all platform-executables" Maybe you will add the files again!?

hugamer says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Hi, I would like to say your game remembered me of Atari games, and the great ones. Keep practicing, you are on the way, if you had a little more experience, you could make a very funny game. Try to fix the problems, or, script everything again. But don't give up!

Thorig says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:29am

Too bad you did not had time to finish this. Better luck next time!

dkkarate says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:23am

Linux and mac versions back up, sorry for the inconvenience.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]