Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mine Explorer

by Joe Williamson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

PLEASE NOTE:
If playing in a web browser, please ensure your browser is not zoomed in.

-= Description =-
Go exploring an old abandoned mine to find treasure. Dodge plumes of fire to go ever deeper.

-= Controls =-
Arrow keys, Z

-= Tools =-
Language: Haxe
Library: HaxeFlixel
Graphics: MS Paint (Classic)
Audio: Reaper, Bfxr

-= Future =-
I do plan on developing this considerably in the future. Updates will most likely be on twitter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#5Graphics4.62
#69Audio3.74
#245Mood3.42
#258Theme3.61
#302Humor2.87
#340Overall3.41
#440Fun3.14
#917Innovation2.58

Comments

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

Some really nice art there!

ProjectSped says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24am

great art, although a few bugs.

Kino333 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

I liked it! A bit short, but due to the time constraints that's not a bad thing.

My biggest gripe is No treasure! D:< <3 Very well done! If you continued it and made more mechanics and bigger levels I'd play it!

nxT says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

Not long, but super-slick.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

I was properly rushed at the end, I'm afraid. No time for level design, in spite of spending ages on the stuff for designing levels! :'(

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

God that arts gorgeous:)!! Got to the (sort of) end, really enjoyed it, also great to see how many haxeflixel entries there are this ludum dare:)

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

Art is gorgeous, but the gameplay is very, very simple. Very nice polish on the whole thing, definitely impressive.

nigelmnz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Great art! Plays really well.

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Absolutely lovely art, this is the kind of pixel art everyone should make, instead of the monotone stuff we usually see. Game is short, but I see a lot of potential for perhaps a post-Ludum roguelike of epic proportions.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

The artwork is excellent, and the gameplay is simple but engaging. I loved it!

Cyanblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

30% less art quality, please.

Siewart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

Awesome art, nice music. Because of this I can forgive the length of the game :)

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Good, simple game. I like the art and music the most :) It'd be cool to see this as a more developed platformer! The idea of delving down into new cave rooms to implicitly start a new "level" and set a new spawn point is a cool one.

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:40am

Amazing art. If you fleshed this out a bit more this could be really good!

cwkx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

Full marks, the pixel art was so clean and polished - I loved it!

villhest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

Love the art!

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

Great artwork and music.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51am

The graphics are lovely and the feel of the game is great. Very solid for 48hours. Couldn't work out what to do when I reached the treasure chest however.

loadx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Graphics are amazing but gameplay just isn't there for me.

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Absolutley amazing art. Too bad it was short. Keep working on it after the compo :D

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I remember seeing your updates during the compo and making a mental note to check out the finished product. Even though it's a little short, I'm glad I did.

Really, really nice presentation. The artwork looks excellent, and the game as a whole feels really polished. The music is nice and subtle too, which helps set the mood.

Please release a post-compo version with something in the treasure chest. I need closure!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Great art and music. Gameplay was pretty simple but it's a complete game and the controls feel pretty good!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Amazing graphics. Love that! Controls are good too. More content would be awesome.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

oh man.. I played it twice to see if it at least gave me a treasure the 2nd time !! damn :)) very nice tho

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Amazing art! Kinda short though... But awesome music as well!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Very pretty, I just wish there was more of it.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21pm

dang consistent high quality pixel art man, music fits well too

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Game is too short. :( Love art style and music.
But it ends too early.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Really nice game! Shame it was so short, because I wanted to play more! Graphics look really, really nice too. Well done!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

I see were all your work is going in, the pixel art is very great! Hope, you add more features in the future, like enemies.

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Fun while it lasted. I always like seeing such a thorough iteration of mechanics, too bad there's just the one element to it.

Mago says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Heh first thing I did after reading your instructions was to zoom my browser to see what happens :)
As to the game: Great music and pixel art. A little bit short but fun.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16am

VERY pretty!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:59am

it was nice looking but there was no substance - too bad you could not make more levels - it could be a lot of fun - add some more so i can play it post-compo. nice work

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:31am

Like everyone else has said, the art is amazing! Well done.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35am

Its okay that you ran out of time. I did as well. Loved the graphics and gameplay. How it smoothly flow into each other room. Keep up the work and I would encourage you to finish this game.

stvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Fantastic art and music. I wanted more!

eufrik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Interesting Game. Mechanics where good and really liked the soundtrack. It fits well.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Great art, short game though and not really much to do but evade fires.

01010111 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Awesome art! I loved the fire pillars. It's super short, but I can see a lot of time went into the art :) Great job

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Great game and art work is really nice.

_adamturnbull says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Love the artwork, you should definitely continue this. Nice job :)

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:24pm

seriously impressive graphics :D

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:08am

I wanted that gold!

Awesome game, and super polished! One of my favs, although short. :(

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:38am

Wow this is the best pixel art I've seen this compo! beautiful work of art there! :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:37am

Graphics are AAA. Great. Not much game there, but that's ok. It plays well, looks great, good music and this is a very nice little framework for a game. I loved the small rooms and super small/easy obstacles. Each room was bite sized. Would easily play through 100 rooms of such things. Nice job.

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Awesome art, great music, and brilliant little bits of polish -- it's only fault is that it's a little short.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Epic. The room switching is just so well made. The pixel art is just the way i like it.

jorgemoag says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:15am

Vero good game. Graphics +5

ricklesauceur says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:53am

nice art and very slick.

cavf88 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Awesome music and art!

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Very nice art! Perhaps you want to add some more content post-combo?

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:19am

Nice art and effects, particularly the look of the fire pillars. I also appreciated the small room sizes--you didn't make big bloated rooms when you didn't have enough content to fill them, they were just the right size.

Unfortunately there's not much else to say about it. It wasn't long enough to be boring, nor deep enough to be interesting. Though I followed your updates quite eagerly throughout the jam, I'd hoped that there'd be a bit more here.

Another note is that use of the z key is awkward. I'd hope that there'd be a better way to deliver messages--and perhaps that you cut down on messages as much as possible, to focus on the core experience. As-is they were pretty distracting.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Nice arts!

lief says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:39pm

beautiful graphics, great sound, so pro - so polished.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I was really looking forward for more diverging paths, oh well. Everything looks great.

allinlabs says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Very nice pixel art and animation

cardboard says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:58pm

The pixel art is ace! The jumping feels nice and the mechanics are nice. Looking forward to updates on this in the future, so I can play again and get some gold.

scgrn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:07am

This is gorgeous! I'd love to play a longer version.

Garris says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:32am

Very nice pixel art. This game is beautiful. Your sound effects are simple, but effective, and the music was great! I love when a game takes a simple mechanic and really runs with it. You exploited the hell out of "don't get hit by fire" and the result was a good game. You should develop this more.

GarethIW says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Pretty pretties, shame there wasn't more game.

lightsoda says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:29am

That was pretty short and simple, nice graphics. The music was good too.

loxo says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Amazing graphics and great audio! With more rooms with objects and gold this would be really great.

thaaks says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:25pm

A bit too short and I was obviously too slow - no treasure :-(
The graphics are great! The music and sfx fit the game well.
Somehow I think you should try to get rid of the 'Z' key - why not use cursor key up or down instead of 'Z'? Seems obsolete to me.

ActionRemix says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:52pm

MS Paint? Amazing.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Incredible graphics.
Minimalist gameplay but quite good with the challenge increasing. Game is a bit short and I wish to see more.

Striwx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:46am

Love the art ! The music is cool but maybe unfinished. The gameplay simple but fun !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]