Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bionic Hotdog

by Daniel X. Moore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click and hold your mouse button to activate your bionic hotdog grappling hook.

Traverse a terrifying world and behold such wonders!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#32Humor3.93
#165Fun3.56
#391Innovation3.30
#544Overall3.19
#599Mood2.94
#669Audio2.55
#807Graphics2.78
#958Theme2.70

Comments

hanoth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Craziest thing I've played all day! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39am

Wow. Wut. xD

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

Boing. Frabjous day. The life cycle of that hotdog was incredible.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I WIN! Dear god it's like sweet bro and hella jeff: The Experience.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

This made me Lol hard.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

No comment can explain this game. It was certainly an experience :)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Would have been nice if it was a bit more zoomed out and more clear on what you can actually grab on to.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42pm

I lol'd. Crazy stuff.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

ahahhahahahha aaaaaaaaaaaaaa good job!!!! That stomach level was hard!

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

Lol I saw it on IRC while I was writing code, I just had to come back and rate it. Crazy and funny

czery says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46am

noice!
That made me laugh out loud. :P

Mago says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56am

What? I don't even...

zzorn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:03pm

That was crazy :D

Zed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:01pm

That. Was. Amazing. Game of the Year 2014.

tchem says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:27am

Totally strange and crazy man!!!,,, i like it,, the experimental and humor ideas are great....

noom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:15am

uhmmmmmmm

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:04am

lyl

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:23am

Could go somewhere, good collisions. Could be so much better if you indicted mouth position.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Cannot describe how fun this is, try it for yourself.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Quick and awesome.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Well that was... it was... Sommeething? Good? FUN!

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Wow! That was crazy & surreal. Almost as if Terry Gilliam had made a Spiderman film with a hotdog! :-D Brilliant.

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:39am

Sweet Jesus

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:51am

Wtf did I just play

May 1, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Haha, mental.

psychonull says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:05pm

It's one of the few games that kept me playing until I won. Had a hard time in the stomach but everything went fine.

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Crazy, slightly confusing, but enjoyable. :)

StrykerKKD says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Crazy and unique. :D

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Funny game, made a laugh really hard.

Larzan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:14pm

One word: Genious. Love the idea and the Warholeske grafix, very artsy and yet a lot of fun to play, top!

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Crazy game. I like gamplay

PTSnoop says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Well, that was... an experience.

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Best game ever. At first, it looks like the whole thing is just a joke but controls are very reponsive and precise and each level brings a differetn challenge. Graphics and character design are just the best.

mustaine says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Wow. Like the ninja rope in Worms Armageddon. Fun to play, loved the fact that I was living the life of a hotdog.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Fortunately, the hot dog had a grappling hook with human hands rather than a knife or pizza cutter.

jsmars says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:50am

Funny game! Kinda doubt you made all that content yourself tho :P

Ragzouken says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:00pm

lol, i like the sproing

May 11, 2014 @ 2:22am

Challenging and chaotic.

hirngespinst says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 6:56am

this was really weird.
but also really fun... in a weird way.
Liked it :D

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:11am

lol wut indeed

May 22, 2014 @ 4:08pm

You've been featured in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jy2lDh5LoGE

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]