Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Volcano Dave

by acehk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Trapped in the heart of an erupting volcano, your only hope is to propel yourself to safety using your oxygen tank as a jetpack. Move with W / D or the arrow keys. Hold down Spacebar to boost. This game is tough, good luck!

FIXES: Made some tweaks/fixes to address how unintentionally difficult the game was, plus a couple other bugs:
- less buggy grounded test resulting in the initial jump boost being more reliable
- interactable blocks darkerned to differentiate from non-interactable rock walls
- lights were getting stuck before. Now the red glow rises with the lava properly. Like above fix, this helps with obstacle visibility
- fixed typo in GUI message
- made reset 'R' instead of 'any key' to avoid accidental resets immediately upon winning or losing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#198Graphics3.79
#343Humor2.78
#372Fun3.25
#372Overall3.36
#530Mood3.00
#534Audio2.81
#659Theme3.15
#783Innovation2.74

Comments

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

I see a lot of potential here. Maybe I'm doing it wrong, but I couldn't seem to get past that first switchback.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

Very difficult right off the bat! Nice graphics and animation

acehk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

It is extremely difficult. I was low on time so I knew I wouldn't be able to make a long game with lots of levels, so I went for 1 really tough level. You know what they say: Difficulty over Quantity. Anyway, it is beatable. I managed to beat it after about 25 failed attempts.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Good feel, though the controls are certainly tricky to master. Excellent animations and graphics. Enjoyed the 3D side-scroller format.

jayemjee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

...oy. This one's rough. The overall look is very well done, however, it's really, really hard. *Too* hard. Controls are a little stiff, and there's no indicator as to how long you can stay aloft.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39am

First game to make me laugh out loud with joy! So much fun, nice job :)

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

This game feels really nice to play, even though I keep missing the jumps. The game's very hard. The graphics have a charm to them.

acehk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

@jayemjee: agree on all the criticisms. I had very little time to actual test the game. I spent most of Saturday night trying to get swinging rope physics to work, then gave up and swapped to jetpack on Sunday.

Phobos001 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

Very difficult, but so satisfying when you do beat it. I don't know why you made an idle animation though, because if you stop for even a nanosecond you DIE.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57pm

HARD but verrrry addictive!

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I tried and failed about 30 times. It's impressive how addictive a difficult game can be!! I might just go and play it again :)

tacs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Found it very hard but still fun to play :)

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00am

Haha, tough, but fun. Very nice graphics. Adding a glow effect to the lava might help to make it "feel" hot.

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02am

christ that's tough. better too tough than too easy, though

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Well animated, good graphics. Fun simple platformer right here.

http404error says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Fourth try! I do feel like beating it was an accomplishment, though.

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:54am

hilariously awesome

clearlyspam23 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:00pm

"Found it very hard"

bentog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:52pm

After about a thousand tries, I completed it! Maybe you should make it gradually become more difficult and have a bigger level. I mean, you have to play for a long time to win as it is, but the time you win takes less than a minute of playing. The graphics were impressive for the particles and the fact that the character has animation. Would be a lot less frustrating if the character had no friction. Hey, we both made platformer games where you have to escape a volcano!

acehk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:32am

@bentog - Woo Volcanoes! I wish I had more time to make multiple levels or a longer level with a difficulty curve. As far as friction goes, I don't even know how, but there is 0 sliding in Unity, yet the web player, the ground feels a lot more slippery. No idea why tbh D:

acehk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:33am

in the web player*

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]