Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Professor Alpha

by Marza - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control Professor Alpha as he tries to escape from the scary cave he's fallen into. Use the transparency gun to pass through objects or make them pass through other stuff.

Controls: A/D = Left/Right, W = Jump
Transparency gun: Aim with the mouse, Left click = shoot
Objects stay transparent for 2 seconds only, watch out!

NOTE: I'm not sure if it's my browsers only, but in Chrome, I have to open the game, switch to another tab and then back again for the game to register any input. Try that if it doesn't work for you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#141Innovation3.74
#459Fun3.12
#470Overall3.26
#607Theme3.21
#710Humor2.23
#841Graphics2.71
#915Mood2.59
#1015Audio1.56

Comments

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42am

Would have loved to play more but it didnt seem to be very easy to get over the lava pool? will vote again if fixed.

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Very interesting idea. The first puzzle was hard. I couldn't get past the second one at all. But rolling on a boulder was fun.

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Interesting concept, I like the idea of a transparency gun, made for anxious moments getting through the cave on level 2.

Marza says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Glad people have tried it :)
I totally agree that the difficulty scale is way too steep, it's one of the things i realised right after submitting. I might do some changes later, but the game will stay as it is for now, since that's how I made it during the 48 hours.

Boodog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Good work!

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I hope you do develop this further. I really liked the game concept.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Awesome, awesome gameplay! Think you're on to something here!
One of the better action puzzlers I've played!

bazld says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:34pm

This is brilliant! Great concept, and fiendish level design. The concept really works well.

Danman9914 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Good use of the mechanic

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Good idea with this mechanic, stars for innovation

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Well done with the mechanics! I miss the sound but everything else works pretty well. Nice concept.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:34pm

This reminded me of the glory day of PC platformers. Really cool, nice work!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:21pm

The concept is pretty clever and fits the theme well, one problem I had was that the blocks reset quickly and if you're inside of them they can reset on you and make the level restart. This can be a little bit frustrating on some puzzle levels when you're at the end and accidentally die.

mogwai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Very nice job. Fun game with interesting mechanics. Really gets the pulse up when blasting through that cave and it starts to materialize again.

eskivor says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Not so funny for me. And the blocks reappear too quickly.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I liked it! Although that big level was too hard for me...
Some audio could have been nice to complement the already-very-good graphics.

l3dx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I liked it! Nice retro feel and challenging levels

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Very clever! A nice idea, and your levels take good advantage of it. My only issue with it is that I didn't get very far because I kept dying! :P

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:57am

Really creative mechanics but a little unpolished (checkpoints etc would have been nice)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:54am

really nice idea - good job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]