Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underground Siege

by sfdnetwork - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[Objective]
Destroy Enemy units and stop them from reaching the earth's core (Fuel Source).

[Controls]
A, S = Strafe
Left Click = Shoot
Right Click = Acquire Item
Escape = Return To Main Menu.

[Game Notes]
Not the best concept I've come with but this is the game I made. I did get a much better idea at the end of day one, but there wasn't enough time to create it. So this is the game I stuck with.

[Bugs]
[1]. Sound Effects don't play when exported as .jar (MediaPlayer can't seem to play more than one sound when exported but works fine within eclipse).
[2] Music doesn't loop when exported as .jar (works fine in eclipse)
[3] Sometimes the game crashes at launch. (Only with .jar, works fine in eclipse.

[Developer Info]
Libraries: JavaFX
Language: Java
Machine Running: Java 8
Working on porting to Applet, bear with me.

[NOTE] YOU MUST HAVE JAVA 8 INSTALLED ON YOUR COMPUTER FOR THE GAME TO OPEN UP!!!

TWEET ME YOUR SCORES: @SFDNetwork

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#525Audio2.83
#724Fun2.84
#770Mood2.75
#892Graphics2.63
#967Theme2.68
#1026Overall2.68
#1070Innovation2.32
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

Amornia says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Lol this game is addicting! nice job

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Kinda addictive, but don't like how it is hard to avoid the bullets, which feels frustrating.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Crashed after pressing play and seeing the game screen. And then after maybe a minute of gameplay on my second try.

Id rather have no background music than the current one. The graphics are decent. Controls weren't too good, because you had to completely let go off both A and/or D before you could change your direction, otherwise the player would just stop. The player is also somewhat too big, and limiting the movement to two directions made dodging the bullets kinda hard and the gameplay somewhat dull. The enemy AI wasn't too hot either.

At the moment it just feels like a crippled SHMUP.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

LewisW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Hmm I can't seem to run this even with Java 8 installed. Do I need the SDK or something?

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I right click on the .jar, open, and ... nothing happens. Most other Games-in-a.jar run fine, so I don't think problem is on my side.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Wouldn't open due to the sound thing. The error is in line 16 of the Sound class (I used the command line to run the jar which shows errors). Most likely, you were not using input streams to get your resources. I had this problem too.

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Could really do with a "hold down button for continuous fire" mechanic (it seems you fire as fast as you click, so my hand started to hurt towards the end). Other than that, a good but simple game with very nice music.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Pretty simple gameplay and gets boring after a while.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Can't run the jar. I don't have Java 8, not sure how to get it working, can't run this entry, sorry. Out of curiosity, why did you target Java 8 and not 7?

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:11pm

jar files work fine usually, but yours does literally nothing on click, even with right click and open with java run time...

CiderPunk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:24am

got a bit repetitive after 10 mins, perhaps some progression to make it harder as you play would help... oh and something to spend that cash on :)

João Kucera says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:59am

good game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:36am

sorry - crashes for me

May 15, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Unable to launch, even with Java 8.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]