Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Enemy Within

by paps - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Linux info:
I don't know exactly how it works on linux, but the info I gathered are:
-- Try installing mesa-libGL.i686 and mesa-libGLU.i686 (including the .i686)
-- add execution rights on data folder, and x86 or x86_64 file (depending on your distro)
If that does not work here the thread where I found the hints:
http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/148540-Unity-4-Linux-Games!?p=1021990&viewfull=1#post1021990

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#602Audio2.67
#736Mood2.79
#813Theme2.95
#837Innovation2.68
#914Humor1.93
#990Graphics2.50
#1051Fun2.40
#1075Overall2.61

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

how can I run the game on linux?

paps says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46am

I added some info in the description (it might help)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Actually quite atmospheric & creepy, specially the music! Neat little idea.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Really cool idea, I liked it a lot. Good sounds and graphics, though it was a bit too hard to see.

If you've never scene the move "They Live" you need to, film of the millenium.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:41am

Good job! Really cool idea, and the sounds + graphics were good!

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:50am

The aliens seemed to cover ground much faster than the rate of fire on the gun, and the level doesn't work too well for running backwards. That, and the standard Unity FPS mouselook sensitivity is too high in a browser. The idea and atmosphere are quite nice, though.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:59am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I like this concept--and wow, doing an FPS for LD is impressive! I think the star-shaped alien designs are pretty cool, too.

Probably the main thing I'd say is that it's not really clear you have to be within a certain range of an enemy to scan them, so I wound up wasting a lot of time. Good tuning on the shots, though. I actually died a couple of times.

If you can, something to do might be having undetected aliens come grab you if you've turned your back on them. It would add another dimension to play, rather than just letting you charge your view indefinitely as long as you sit there.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Interesting idea!

vogon101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Nice game and fun to play

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Interesting idea :)

DanEEStar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I liked the music.
The game was too dark. I didn't really know what I had to do. But the music made the trip worthwhile.

Rad Star says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I think the power goes down a bit too fast and the game is a bit too dark. However, nice use of the theme.

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Good job!
Thought the controls were a bit sticky, and it was overall too dark, but nice work, good twist on the theme!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Strange but cool game. :) I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series! http://youtu.be/0CjJInaKTls

paps says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:55am

Thank you everyone for your time and feedback.
I will learn from them.

JoeProgram says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:37am

Very startling! I'm not sure I understand why the aliens had big stars around them.

May 8, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Music got quite annoying, because it was so repetitive. Would be nice with some variation there.

Please lock the cursor to the game screen. I kept clicking outside of the screen.

It took a long time to locate aliens. Some indicator of the direction of one of them would be nice.

I got stuck going up stairs, I needed a "running start", which doesn't feel good.

Controls were okay though, and the sensory power is a nice idea for the theme!

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:35pm

This was pretty cool, it built up a nice creepy atmosphere. I wish that the menu wasn't accessed with Esc though, because that also exits fullscreen in the Web player.

foodzilla says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:44am

Fun and creepy idea. Could use something a bit extra, but a fun start

ZYXer says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:48pm

I didn't know aliens liked big cardboard stars... ;)

Nice game concept. I liked the general mood and the maze-like level.

Warboys says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 7:05am

First ailen made me half jump out my skin. Great use of music, modelling (the eyes!) and lighting to set a tone. Frustrated at how lost I got tho.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]