Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underneath

by Kingtrez - Jam Entry

A post-apocalyptic game.
You remain one of a possible few survivors along with a small family trapped in a sheltered bunker "underneath the surface". You are running out of food and water. You have to go on the dangerous surface, that you could only stay on for for a minute. Go on the surface to scavenge food water and medicine to keep you and your people alive.

Mission is to go out on the surface and bring back supplies to survive as many days as possible.

Hope you enjoy! Give feedback please :)
Good luck.

Programming By: Mike Trezza & Rudi Meyrich
Graphics By: Jonathan Eriksson
Music By: Tim Reichert
SFX By: Conor Bradley

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#102Graphics(Jam)4.17
#173Audio(Jam)3.50
#178Mood(Jam)3.50
#258Overall(Jam)3.38
#260Theme(Jam)3.38
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#500Innovation(Jam)2.71
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07am

Please fix link to web version.

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30am

Wow really nice graphics and sounds, but I couldnt figure out what to do after the tutorial :(

Kingtrez says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

Sorry, we didn't have a web version, and it's to stay alive. Gather food and resources and return it back to the base!
But thank you for the compliments on the art and sounds :)

eugman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:18am

Very nice graphics. It was a little confusing with the items and how you used them. I think it could be a very interesting game. I don't know if the control structure makes sense. I'd probable have w be jump and something else be shoot.

trvr says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Nice graphics and audio, overall a fun game. Felt a little difficult, maybe allow more time, I did not notice the timer until only a few seconds were left, so I died on day 1. Nice work!.

Kingtrez says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:09am

Thank you so much for your input we really appreciate it, and yeah the controls were a big discussion of ours. Thank you for the compliments though :)

May 3, 2014 @ 6:56pm

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: shd_color1

D3DXCompile failed - result

at gml_Object_obj_control_Draw_64
############################################################################################


Yeah.... i can't play it... I'm not a coder so i don't know how to fix this.

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:37am

Love the graphics, a ton. Nice game. Remember to rate a lot more games so people can see this! :D

javierecf says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:47am

Visuals are nice and the sounds make a good ambience, maybe the collision detection while jumping while been pressed against a wall may need some work. I lived 5 days. Really challenging, and nice ambience and mood.

Kingtrez says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Thank you for the comments :)

Tosic says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:37pm

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: shd_color1

D3DXCompile failed - result

at gml_Object_obj_control_Draw_64
############################################################################################

4KbShort says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:13pm

A great idea and I love the artwork. I felt a bit overwhelmed by the number of monsters outside and lack of ammunition. With a bit of balance it would work very well. Wonderfully atmospheric and enjoyable.

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:48pm

The graphics are nice, Though after a while the game starts to get very linear.

May 9, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nice work. The brief tutorial at the start was a good introduction to the game concept. I died within a day, but I didn't feel that bad about it since it was fun anyway. :)

meszka says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Great graphics and ambient music. Solid game system, some nice details like slowing down when carrying a lot of stuff. I was missing some animation/sound while being attacked though, I felt invinsible sometimes while I was actually dying :P

Kingtrez says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:06am

Mhm I wonder why there are some who get the errors. I am sorry that you guys experienced the errors. I don't understand why that happens. I will explore my codes. Ty guys for your comments :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]