Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

RMS Sonedi

by TeamAlpha - Jam Entry

One shipwreck. No lights. All water. You have no idea what to do, but you do know you must keep breathing.

It is there. It is coming. And it is coming for you.

(Better played in fullscreen, with headphones on and lights off)

-----

What to do: Go underwater, explore the leves, but watch your oxygen level!

Controls: WASD/arrow keys and mouse look; E to interact.

This is our first first-person game, and our first time messing around with Unity's FPS controllers. Hope you enjoy it! Please, tell us what you think about the game.

-----

Hotfix #1: fullscreen now uses the correct display resolution; cursor is now hidden.

-----

Made with:

Unity3D
Wings3D
FL Studio
Photoshop CC

Resources from:

http://www.FreeSFX.co.uk
http://seamless-pixels.blogspot.com
http://goldberry2000.deviantart.com/art/Metal-Texture-2-72393784
http://wojtar-stock.deviantart.com/art/metal-texture-7-78669443

Fonts used:
Aharoni

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#23Mood(Jam)4.20
#138Audio(Jam)3.61
#175Theme(Jam)3.55
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#501Graphics(Jam)3.03
#564Fun(Jam)2.61

Comments

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:31pm

trapped in a blue box and nothing happens apart from creepy noises?

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I'm too claustrophobic to play this one through to the end!

Good job. :)

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

@xensky: did you manage to progress to the next room? If not, maybe we could add some more information at the beginning to make it clearer. If you did, though, what would you suggest? We wanted to make it an exploration game with a linear progression. You are free to swim around as long as you want, but there's a flow that must be followed to progress.

@quill18: thank you! We wanted it to feel claustrophobic, this is a sensory experience, in a way =D

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I didn't find any exit to the first room, I walked around for like a minute before I gave up.

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33pm

@xensky: You can dive and look around underwater. There is an exit there. =)

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Very atmospheric, thanks to the great sounds. It would have been nice to have a flashlight underwater, as it was a bit too dark to see for me.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

The game is claustrophobic.. good job. I am terrified.

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Good atmosphere. I'd suggest making space move you in the Y plane so you can surface a little easier control wise.

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48pm

i like the game!

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Great job on the atmosphere of the game. The audio is awesome.

XrXr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Even though nothing happens and I'm just in a box with water, the game does a great job at building the atmosphere.
Maybe there is a way to make something happens, but I couldn't figure it out. Good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Probably the best diving type game I've played in Ludum Dare so far!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:13am

This is very well made! I very much feel like I am actually underwater. Well done!

Split82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Awesome atmosphere. A little too dark. I shouldn't probably say that, because my game is dark as hell too :D

GamerTaters says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:01am

Creepy game. Gave a startle at the end there.

Spellmaker says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:44am

Looks like a fun game, unfortunately I found It a bit too difficult to see anything at all. Helped the atmosphere but it really made doing anything else really difficult, so I didn't really get all too far

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:34am

The game is a little too dark, besides that the atmosphere is great. Very nice sound effects. I managed to find the way underwater but when I reached the door I could not open it (pressed E but nothing happened) :(

illugion says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:34pm

That was kinda creepy, if there were any monsters this game would be REALLY scary haha nice job !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]