Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Penguin

by Pinktreeleaf - Jam Entry

In the face of an enemy, in the Heart of One Man, Lies the Soul of a Penguin.

Controls: Mouse, Spacebar, or Enter?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Humor(Jam)3.50
#481Audio(Jam)2.77
#487Graphics(Jam)3.07
#633Mood(Jam)2.52
#688Fun(Jam)2.21
#699Overall(Jam)2.46
#723Innovation(Jam)2.11
#753Theme(Jam)1.64
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45am

+1 for penguins but ....lol wut?
(especially that bit about seattle tech industry, that hit a little too close to home)

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Excellent pixel art, but boring gameplay. Next time create a platformer, or an RPG, because the graphics are really good, but the game isn't so exciting.

radmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

bahahaah... what? Im not sure what I just played. but uh... good job!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Uhhh... what? Cool game.

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

That was... weird, to say the least. A little distasteful, too. But hey, who am I to judge? It was funny... in a weird way. Audio and visuals were nice, too. Not really sure how it fit the theme, though.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Riiiiiight... didn't expect that from something called 'the last penguin' haha. But just a warning though; your game can come of as a little offensive to some people..;) maybe you should've added a warning or something haha

Penguincat says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:13am

While I applaud your effort to stuff as many stereotypes into one game as humanly possible... did you really have to kill all the penguins??! :(

Pinktreeleaf says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:41pm

If it makes you feel better. Bob is an Honorary penguin

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:09am

"Bob regains his composer"??

"ONLY a liter of blood spills from the back of his head" (emphasis mine)

At this point I realized it had to be a joke and thoroughly enjoyed reading it all. I especially loved Tyrone's role in the game. To show up, then die immediately xD

Pitoum says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 9:13am

Crazy "game" :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]