Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crystal Myth

by TeamInCharge - Jam Entry

Hi!

Want to play an atmospheric exploration puzzle game?

Go for it :)

---

System requirements: UE4 based, so DX11 compatible GPU

---

All assets are custom made except for a couple of textures.

---

Game by Arne Bezuijen (programming, world building, shaders, 2D/3D art), Joel van Neerbos (programming, game logic, sound programming), Mark Kloeg (3D art, level editing)
Music by Mark Kloeg (composition, harp, synth) Albert Smit (cello), Michael Boere (uilleann pipes) and Olivier van Nooten (mixing, beats)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.83
Coolness74%
#5Mood(Jam)4.53
#7Audio(Jam)4.40
#17Overall(Jam)4.15
#74Theme(Jam)3.80
#122Fun(Jam)3.48
#158Humor(Jam)3.18
#311Innovation(Jam)3.15

Comments

isyourguy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52am

Heads up, your Dropbox link 404's.

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55am

Yeah, can't download it.:(

Dreii says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31am

404'd :( screenshots look great!

TeamInCharge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:31am

Sorry about that, turned off my pc before dropbox finished syncing... May have been a bit tired at the time...

All should be well now!

StudioWolfox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00am

Nice, I like it! Looks nice! A bit short though, and I got stuck in some areas, but I love the crystals! I really wanted to get all. I hoped there would be a big treasure chest behind the door, but it was the blinding light of something. Probably the treasure chest YEAAAAH!

Nice nice :)

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Please develop this, great.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

nice! sadly i am not patient enough so such games and did not manage to get very far. Loved the music and the mood (- :
not sure how many graphic skills were involved because of UE4

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

The ambience and openness of it was beautifully moody. Joy to play for the short time it lasted -- would definitely love to see more.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Woah, awesome game. Very relaxing and sweet graphics 5/5!

fakeyou says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Holy-fucking-amazing. Visuals, audio and mood are the single best I've seen so far! Please make more of this, puzzle game, exploration or a interactive novel like Dear Esther. Whatever you do, make more!

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:04pm

That was beautiful...

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Fantastic graphics and sound. Would have liked some more gameplay (was really hoping for some sort of cool puzzles inside the castle!) other than just the circle bit, but that's still more than most "ambient exploration" games, and this one didn't try and teach you a pretentious message as well!

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

I missed the first lever in the circular room the first time through. And then I fell off and died. :P

Very nice graphics though.

raulincze says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

You have to walk way too much between the levers, and from where the first one is positioned, you can barely see if the circle it controls completes the pattern.

Anyway, nice mood and ambiance... But I have to say that I was kind of thrown out of the state of immersion when the drum track kicked in...

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Definitely the prettiets one yet. I did see a few glitches in the distance once or twice, but other than that it was really beautiful. A very calm and pleasant experience, if you guys can keep up the quality and add some more interesting puzzles I'd play a longer game like this :)

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Amazing Graphics, and amazing sounds, would like to see this get developed

ryangatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

It's working well now :) I liked the game enough that I want more. The player movement and mouse could use some acceleration smoothing. Since this is an exploration game and not a twitch shooter, smoothness is more important than immediacy of control.

TeamInCharge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Thanks for all the lovely feedback!! :) @bebopbrownbaer Good question! We did make everything ourselves. We made the 3D models (rocks, city, puzzle, lever, gates, gears, etc) and imported those into the UE3 engine. Arne also set up all the shaders. (crystals glowing when you get closer, moving water etc, volume lights, textures, materials etc) I can assure you that even though we used the UE4 engine, everything you see and hear is handmade by us in 72 hours. There was no magic 'make awesome game' button involved :P

ALobker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:55pm

This game makes me feel bad about giving 5 stars to other games that were nowhere near as good as this.

Foofur says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Egh, couldn't play it eitber, cuz XINPUT1_3.dll was missing? (I'm actually terrible with computers.) Now I can't give you a cookie from your own dough... (yay for literary translations!!)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

It looks really great but I can't play =( (my computer can't run it)

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Looks unbelievable! The music was so serene, then when it changes as you solve the puzzle, that was really clever. Thank you!

angelk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:21am

Stuff like this is the reason why I use my 5 stars so sparingly. You guys totally earned it. This is certainly the most beautiful and LD game I've ever played. I like the music, and I love that you added more tracks as the circle puzzle was solved. I wish there was more to the gameplay so we could get a better feel of the intent with the game, but as it is I really enjoyed walking around.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:22am

Astounding graphics and music! Really good work!

Ken Ichi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Awesome graphics!

colludium says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:49am

Wow!

May 2, 2014 @ 2:22pm

This game is awesome, reminds me of this puzzle game call "Uru - Ages Beyond Myst", Great work :D

sam101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:31pm

The game lags a lot, the gameplay is not obvious at all. Still, the graphics are nice.

Shivur says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Your game seems to looks great. I couldn't run it because I have Win32, but it's with big regrets. I answered your post in my entry. It seems that you misread an instruction that could have helped you because you're really close to solve it.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Great visuals!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:38pm

I really would like to play this - please let me know if there is gonna to be a Linux version. My Twitter is @tinyworlds.

Penguincat says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Amazing graphics, great music, and very relaxing to play. If only it were longer! I'd love to be able to explore that city in a future release, maybe with some more complicated puzzles along the way :)

Lyje says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Wow - that feeling when I opened the gate into the city after aligning all those rings. And then it ended. Amazing work. MOAR!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Really beautiful game, graphics are exceptional but I guess that is to be expected when using UE3, but still it requires good artist to make it beautiful. Nice job! :)

mcapraro says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:13pm

I so badly want to play this, i'm on a mac and get this error

“CrystalTrip” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash.

any ideas?

Dans17 says ...
May 26, 2014 @ 11:33pm

wow this looks a lot like our game. It even has the same ending!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]