Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mine flood

by Seme - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mine flood.

You are a miner. Water is flooding the mine. Use ladders to reach the top and escape. Avoid being beneath the surface or you drown!

Keys: W,A,D / Up, Left, Right arrows

My first Ludum Dare entry and actually my first game ever. Created using Construct 2, GIMP, Paint and BFXR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#473Theme3.35
#629Fun2.94
#841Graphics2.71
#850Overall2.88
#892Audio2.03
#896Humor1.95
#899Mood2.60
#1130Innovation2.20

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

the controls were really good, the sound was funny. I liked it. Looking forward to your next games.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Really fun and morbid game. Very challenging!

vogon101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

This is a very nice game. The player controls are difficult making it hard to make progress. I really enjoyed this game though. Good Job!

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Pretty good.

I think one thing that isn't necessary, but I would've liked, is a bouncy-jump. As in, keep jumping if I hold up. Not too huge a deal though.

I think it would've also been cool if you had a floaty-er jump while under water to sort of help you jump higher and get out.

Pretty nice game nonetheless!

Armanky says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Simple and sweet! Having the up key as your jump button is a bit awkward on the keyboard, but otherwise, nice work.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I am stressed now - reminds me of crazy climber, so, happy.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Fun game. Fit the theme very well, and is very hard too. I love the pixel art and the little 8-bit noise you get when you jump. Overall a great game!

petrih says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Addictive but challenging as well!

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:49am

Really god for a first game. Could do with more sound though, a splash when you go under and an underwater sound.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Super hard, super fun. Wish you I could start the game with a key press instead of having to grab the mouse...

jellyfishlion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Nice job! It's simple but challenging, and quite fun overall. I liked the art too. :)

miwuc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Pretty challenging! Nice level design too. You should really consider adding highscores to make it more addictive.

evilDan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:34am

Simple timed jumping game - but the narrative of escaping a flood makes it super compelling!

01101101 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:33am

Cool idea. The controls are a bit weird at first (as Dominator said, it would make it a bit easier if the character would continuously jump as long as the Up key is pressed). The platforms could do with a bit of colour to help differentiate them from the background too. Pretty cool for a first game ever anyway, congrats! :)

xgeovanni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:09am

You need to give the player a moment to realise what's happening. Start them a bit higher up on the screen so that they can see that the water is rising without having to evade it straight away.

May 13, 2014 @ 3:45am

Neat game. The controls felt a little loose but the gameplay is clean and easy to get into.
Pretty challenging as well.

jujule says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Simple and solid for a fist game.

May 17, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Congratulations on making your first game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]