Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moai

by Satyre - Jam Entry

Did you ever wanted to know what mystery lies behind the Moai statues? This is your chance to find an answer ;)

The Moai tribe has shipwrecked. You must help them to reach the top of the island. Save as many Moai as you can.

Use the mouse (jump beam box) to let the Moai jump. Your timing is essential to let the whole group jump in a special order and survive the bubbling lava from below.


Made with Stencyl, Photoshop, Fruity Loops


Edit:
The post-jam version contains a game over bugfix, a bigger wave box to catch more Moai and a rescue beam, that can be activated after hitting some Moai.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#351Theme(Jam)3.20
#354Audio(Jam)3.12
#477Humor(Jam)2.30
#494Graphics(Jam)3.05
#510Fun(Jam)2.74
#513Overall(Jam)2.97
#530Mood(Jam)2.79

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Great game. I liked the idea behind it ;) However it would maybe help if you can only win by having at least two of them alive at the top, winning with only one is pretty easy.

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

I really love these simple mechanics. It could be a good Wario Ware minigame. The story and gameplay matches perfectly. Altough I didn't understood immediatly what was going on, you could work on that. Anyway I want to see more of your work !

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Overall a good game, but I agree with the other comment that it should be game over when you have less than 2 remaining, you can just AFK keep the other one up!

v26 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Nice concept - like the rhythm idea and the Moai tribe theme but its too hard. Maybe only let the cursor move in 1 dimension and have them start a bit higher?

suurin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Nice game. I liked the mechanics very much, and the gameplay was fun.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I like the graphics. Nicely done.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice simple game, but it's true that with less than 3 remaining it gets boring, should be game over in those situations.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20pm

It was a bit to easy to make it with one to the top, and a bit hard to make it with more of them. But it was an original idea that I enjoyed playing :)

SFBTom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Suuuper difficult, but a great concept really well executed!

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Probably I did something wrong, but it I couldnt move the character left or right. Still really nice idea. :)

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I like the idea but the game is really hard. These Moai guys fall too fast.

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Cool! And I agree with everybody about having at least 2 of them alive!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I like the idea but it was rather difficult to juggle with even 3x of them. It will me more playble with veeeery low gravity. The intro + ending are cool ! I love them !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Neat game. Interesting simple mechanics (if a bit difficult) and charming presentation, both the graphics and music.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Wow, very cool mechanics!

okkolobr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Nice idea ! Got a big confuse the first time, but then really enjoyed the second game.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Cool idea! It gets a bit repetitive, maybe you could have occasional obstacles that require clicking or different timing or something? Either way, good job!

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Pretty nice idea, but it's nearly impossible with a touchpad. I never get more than one to the surface.

Siewart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44pm

This is hard. Even saving two was almost impossible :/ (I see this was fixed in the post-jam/newgrounds version?)

Otherwise great and simple (the good kind) game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Liked the game but was really hard to balance more then one of them. Might be nice to have levels and first one with only having one guy and then as you pass a level you get another one, so the player learns as they go.

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Well, I managed to get 3 of them up there, although after playing a bit more I think getting all of them is definitely possible. There should probably be something indicating whether you have a blue beam available or not. Overall I think this was a really neat concept, and I appreciate the difficulty. I will keep trying!

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Really fun and clever and challenging. Does get a bit repetitive but I enjoyed it.

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34pm

A very interesting concept, made for a great game.
It's very challenging. I found myself left with one Moai very often.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Nice game. A bit hard though. I could only manage 2 at the most

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Novel idea, worth exploring further. Great presentation, I especially like the music. As is, the game is lacking in strategic choices. I saved all the moai the first time round by clicking rapidly and moving the box left and right like mad.

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Cool game, nice work!

ceosol says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:21am

Yeah, impossible with a touchpad, but neat concept!

May 4, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Nice concept and good execution. It's hard but was definitely easier with the Wacom tablet :)

Afal says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Maybe I should invest in a mouse >_>

May 13, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Overall, this was a fun game, and a good time waster, at least for a little while.
It forced me to abandon my mousepad for a while, and go after my almost never used USB-mouse...
I think the interpretation of the theme was easy to understand. Everything from audio to art worked well too. The original version is a especially difficult, but that's always good for a challenge.

Good job!

Satyre says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:20am

Thanks everyone for the nice reviews and comments. I've lowered the difficulty in the post-jam version a bit. I'm busy with another project so I couldn't answer earlier. The gameplay is very difficult because there is no real choice of difficulty. My intention was to let this game go further and the second part of it should be the rescue of the Moai when by one of their spaceships, maybe you can see them to emit the signal when they reach the surface. The amount of Moai that the player then has rescued from the volcano would ease the further gameplay by letting more spaceships appear that use a rescue beam. The Moai have to jump further to the sky to reach the spaceships. Maybe I'll add this second part when I have some free time. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]