Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grimy Little Game

by Nocturnal - Jam Entry

oops...Thought the post was the entry. Here goes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#395Theme(Jam)3.12
#429Graphics(Jam)3.24
#449Audio(Jam)2.88
#668Fun(Jam)2.29
#683Overall(Jam)2.53
#727Innovation(Jam)2.07
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54am

Green things look scary. I like oldschoolness of this one.

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Thanks, Robert. Appreciate the feedback. You are saying all the things we wanted people to notice. Wish we had the whole 72 hours to work on it. We were at C2E2 all weekend. Put about 8-9 hours here.

mrbungle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Cool graphics and music.

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

No explanation as to how to play the game past click on the healthy bacteria. The constant camera movement makes it harder as the bacteria move too fast.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Good music!

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Cool retro graphics and music. I liked the way you made it a lot more difficult by having the screen scrolling around :)

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Hehe, awesome interpretation of the theme. Though I'd rather not think about what lives under the surface of my keyboard :P I wasn't sure when the game was over. The site gave me a pop-up, but when I told my browser to stop letting it show pop-ups I seemed to be able to play forever. The music was good :)

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:10am

Thanks, mrbungle. I'll let Clarence & Samuel know you enjoyed their work.

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:14am

@Vytheros, thanks for the feedback. Not sure why the instructions were cut off for you. The constant movement was put there to make it harder.

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:23am

@Ninjascript, Thanks for the kudos on the music. I will let Samuel know you liked it.

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:24am

Thanks, Hexagore, Glad you liked it.

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25am

Thanks for pointing that out Dook, I will take a look. Glad you liked the music and interpretation of the theme.

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:27am

Hey Hexagore, Glad you appreciated the difficulty in keeping up with the moving screen. Thanks for your comments on the graphics and music. It's what we were going for.

brodavi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Fun little game! :) I really like the sludgy grimy disgusting little blobs... great theme and enjoyable clicking challenge

Nocturnal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:41am

Thanks, Brodavi. Glad you like it.

ActionRemix says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:21pm

World Record - 10! :D

(Okay, I figured it out on the second try)

Crefossus says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:22am

A little mind numbing yet slightly satisfying the first play or two. Gameplay seems a little limited because of the field and no new enemies or interactions going on. I like the use of the theme and especially the scale of the keyboard art.

Camera seems to get suck a bit sometimes.

Music works well although is repetitive.

Could use death or other animations. Overall it seems kind flat.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]