Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Neath

by metkis - Jam Entry

WASD + E and Mouse control. You are a space ranger sent to discover the cause of disturbances on the planet Neath.

I would appreciate it if you took the time to download the standalone version, which is the superior version. I would also recommend you have your sound turned on. I spent a lot of time tweaking the sounds, and I really think you'll enjoy some of the specific touches.

The game is short, with only two real puzzles, but I'm super happy to feel that it's complete.

Standalone is .rar'd.

Only Credit goes to royalty free song "I Can't Dance" by Singing Sadie.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#18Graphics(Jam)4.60
#25Mood(Jam)4.19
#32Audio(Jam)4.07
#36Overall(Jam)3.93
#122Humor(Jam)3.33
#203Fun(Jam)3.28
#247Theme(Jam)3.41
#444Innovation(Jam)2.83

Comments

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Beautiful and funny game!

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Schweet character design.
Shame the puzzles are so simple, would have been nice to interact with this world a little more...

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

haha this is great, great work. Love the art.

Zupoman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I really liked the graphics. In the middle room, that bloody "HELP" noticeably keeps repeating. And the game is also a bit too short :(

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Short and sweet, great game.

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17pm

haha this is great, great work. Love the art.

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Really gorgeous game. The time you spent tweaking the sounds absolutely paid out, they build up a wonderful mood.
All in all, playing it felt great! Thanks for this game. :)

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Very well designed gameplay. A little too short, but it's OK.
;)

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Wow awesome! Looks really good and the story elements were interesting. I especially loved the sound effects on this! It's unbelievable you pulled this off in three days! I'd like to see an expanded post-compo version sometime :D

Some feedback: at the ending when you are standing under the giant monster, you can't move, but you can still switch the direction of your flashlight. Not to big a bug, but it looks a bit weird.
Also, the radio pan-effect could be a little wider.

Otherwise, great game!

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Nice little adventure. Awesome graphics and mood. The best adventure entry I played yet :)

Zccc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Terrific atmosfere, loved the ending.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Absolutely beautiful!!! Honestly, if there was a whole world with this art style, I'd play the game just to screw around, objectives or not. Really beautiful work. I just wish there was more!

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19pm

You've really nailed it on the atmosphere.
Art and Sound is very good. One of the best entries i've seen, good job !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Really like the art and the sounds. I wish it had lasted longer but hey, the shorter , twice the better as we say in Spanish!

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Excellent. Well done!

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I love it! This is a trend that should go on, point and click games with controls for the characters. It's relaxing and I know that puzzles are simple, but fuck it. At least I was allowed to do them myself, I was in control. And out of a level-designer's perspective, the hints and the way everything was set up - well done. For LD, this is great.

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Very pretty game, would have liked it if the puzzles were a little harder though. good job!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Really awesome graphics and mood. But I don't quite get the ending :P

Really enjoyed playing it though. :)

ViKing Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

The graphics are smooth and look great, and the 3D audio is wonderful. Fun while it lasted, but it was very short. Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11am

The graphics are top-notch, I liked the mood, and "Caution: can fly" made me laugh. That having being said, I didn't find it fun. If you're going to do a standard point and click with no change to the usual formula, I'd recommend focusing on crafting more interesting puzzles, otherwise the "game" isn't that much different from watching a video (it practically plays itself). But really nice job on the graphics.

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21am

One of the most beautiful ludum dare games I've ever played. The audio and graphics work together perfectly to create an amazing sense of mood:)

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12am

Woo! Nice! Go Metkis. Can't wait to see more like this.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24am

Really well done! Great style all around :)

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09am

Those graphics! <3

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:55am

Amazing! I love the mood you set up for this game through the graphics and background noise. While it is short, I think the ending was a great and perfect way to lead to more future installments of Neath. ;)

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

The mood is set perfectly with the art style and sound. Top notch game. Favorite so far. :)

Nimmrod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

Really likes the art and atmosphere, but I understand how the time limit really stunted the length and growth of your game.
Hope you keep working on this one

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

It's short but as you said it is very complete! And that is quite the accomplishment. And the audio was really nice :)

friken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Keep working on this. It's a nice style to to explore. Great execution.

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Really absolutely fantastic graphics, mood, music, humor, story.

The puzzles could have been a little more challenging, right now they felt more post hoc to make it a game and not just a scrolling story.

But really, the level of detail and the quality of the work makes my reservation more like a request. Please make a longer adventure game with branching story, and well worked puzzles. Please.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54pm

I like this game and how it ends. The music is great.

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Great game, love the look of this! The puzzles are simple but good, and I like how you handled the sound. Just enough.

TeamOmni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Really beautiful game and nice premise, just wanted to play more. Would love to see a full game all jazzed up!

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:10am

It's clear that you spent the majority of your time working on the graphics, sound, and general feel of the game, and it paid off. Those parts are excellent, and even though the gameplay suffers as a result and is overly simple, it's still a fantastic game.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:04am

That was fantastic! Amazing graphics, sound, and gameplay!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55am

As others have said, very short, but what's there is beautiful! I'm glad you put so much effort into the sound, too. It makes a big difference. :)

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:29pm

impressive, like the feeling of the game

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Really liked the art style, and was a good length for a jam game. Well done. :)

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Great style and mood!

eerongal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:30am

I could see myself playing a full puzzle game made in this style.

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:07am

Beautiful game! I loved the graphics and the sound was the best sound for any LD game I've played so far. Not only were the graphics beautifully drawn but the lighting was great too.

It has definitely left me wanting more!

Also the large character sprite really reminded me of the good old days when I used to play Dark Sceptre on the ZX Spectrum.

Great work! :)

benmcnelly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:09am

One of my favorites so far, nice work on the audio!

sandbaydev says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:46am

Interesting. I liked the BIG graphics style and story lured me into playing. Audio was well done.

Hard for me to think what to improve... well, of course the length but that's post-compo effort... :)

Wertle says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:14am

Stellar aesthetics! Great job on the atmospheric sound and the stylized visuals. Of course I would like to see more :)

May 2, 2014 @ 11:49am

Absolutely loved the art style. Top notch. Would love to play an entire game that looked like this. Great effort. Puzzles were simple but there's a fantastic base to build on here. Please consider making a full adventure game. I'd buy it.

renatopp says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:14pm

NEED MOAR!

ehtd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Great game! Too bad it was really short.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Beautiful art! I love the note about not writing the code down on the piece of paper. Overall, the puzzles are a bit simple, but fun little experience none the less.

saiato says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Really good job on the audio and visuals! Nice to see a point and click adventure style game here.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Very nice art style and great atmosphere!
How did that giant monster leave blood marks on the walls, he can't fit it the corridors :)

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:12am

Great graphics and mood! You really feel immersed. Not sure why you let me pick up a screwdriver as I never seemed to find a use before the end. Is there more than one ending? I don't think so given how linear it is. The ending I got made me laugh anyway. Nice work!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:56am

Gorgeous art, a little light in content for an exploration game but great work nonetheless!

Lafie says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:47pm

The gameplay is quite simplistic and seems mostly to serve as a means to demonstrate the incredible visuals and sound design. And this little game is very pretty, with a consistent art style throughout, that in tandem with the sfx create a very strong atmosphere.

With a production of this quality, I can understand a lack of gameplay mechanics and length, given the time constraints of the Jam.

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:16am

Beautiful!
Nice mood. This game stands out from all the others, though it may be more simple.
But some challenge, maybe, could made this game better.
Or some action...

May 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

Love the graphics! I included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-VvtqXfr-Xs

PapyGaragos says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:28am

I don't know what you did with the controls, but I have an azerty keyboard and switching the layout didn't help. So I had to play with the arrows, but the 'E' was a bit far. Good thing I only had to press it once

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Really great atmosphere and the choice for the audio is PERFECT!

recursor says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:04am

The music coming out of the radio was particularly cool. I wish there was more content. I guess the only criticism I can offer is I think the area is far too large for the little amount of stuff in it. i.e. I felt like I was doing more walking to the right than anything else. Anyway, I really enjoyed it and hope you add more content to it. Well done!

GrooveMan says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Really enjoyable - the stereo sound is great, and I hung around the radio for longer than I probably needed to. The ending was kinda out of nowhere though - a little more foreshadowing would have gone a long way!

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Really solid and short (but sweet) adventure. Very atmospheric, though the ending is a bit silly.

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Incredible graphics. The audio matches perfectly the mood especially the wind at the beginning.
Maybe missing a few feedback on the mouse over, otherwise very good point-and-click puzzle game.

Gamepopper says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Brilliant graphics, simple story. Lacking in gameplay though.

Anoarith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Awesome graphics and atmosphere :D ! However the game was really short. The sound design and the two puzzles was cool :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:07pm

really nice job - even tho it was short it had a great mood - i wish there was more - puzzles were very easy - great job

jsmars says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:15am

Really impressive graphics and design! a bit of anti-climax at the end when there was o no fight tho

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]