Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Penguin Plunge

by Dooleus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

PENGUIN PLUNGE--

Swim through the ocean, eating fish to keep yourself alive. Avoid the many obstacles and survive as long as you can!

Controls:

Click/Space/Up/W - SWIM
Enter/ESC/Backspace/Back button (android) - PAUSE
M - MUTE AUDIO

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Audio3.59
#241Humor3.00
#297Fun3.36
#303Overall3.45
#497Theme3.33
#588Mood2.95
#693Graphics2.95
#1242Innovation1.82
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

madmaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

Fun, fast, flappy. Well polished Android app. Being a penguin is brutal!

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

That was much faster than I expected lol! Was quite a bit of fun :)

cavf88 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Music was really good.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Music and SFX are so cool, and I love the effet when you are hit :).

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Wow that's fast! Lol great game, a lot of fun, and the ocras look real scary.

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21pm

I love this! I really felt like I was back as a kid playing on my Master System. :)

Much faster and frenetic than the majority of happy bird clones that I've played. It works really well for that.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Really fun for who like flappy gameplay.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

A flappy game with good graphics and great sounds!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:55am

This feels like the best Flappy game never released to C64!
Awesome job...

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Wonderful and also somewhat depressing when it dies. :( Poor penguin.

Snild says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Awwh, poor penguin. :(

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:31am

I'm not a huge fan of flappy bird clones, but everything worked great. Nice job.

Dooleus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I know everyone seems to think I ripped off Flappy Bird, but to be honest I've never even played it! Obviousloy I've heard of it but really it's not a difficult design to arrive at - tapping to control vertical movement has been done in plenty of games before... not exactly a ground-breakingly novel concept. :) Thanks to everyone for playing and I'm glad you all enjoyed it so much!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Liked the funny graphics and smooth gameplay. Grats!

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Highscore of 9524, beat that!

Although the graphics might not be the greatest, this is actually one of the best LD games I've played so far. It's very addictive and the sound does a great job supporting the gameplay. I'm going to give it another go, see if I can break 10000. :)

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Bam! 10083

Dooleus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:52am

My highscore is somewhere in the neighborhood of 30,000 - try to beat that! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]