Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nuclear Waste Zone

by granut100 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It is said that in the outside world it is safer and peaceful.
But the only way to get there is through the tunnels...

Controls
---------------------------------------
Arrow Keys / WASD: To control the player.
Space Bar: Action Key
Escape: Exit

Tools
---------------------------------------
Java,Eclipse,sfxr,Paint.NET and Audacity

Note
---------------------------------------
This game is somewhat challenging and very short.

This is my very first Ludum Dare! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#606Humor2.37
#700Fun2.86
#704Audio2.48
#774Theme3.00
#817Graphics2.76
#852Mood2.65
#866Overall2.87
#887Innovation2.62
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:37pm

the overall feed of the game is pretty cool. I only wish I wouldn't get stuck in walls. Loved the throwing mechanic

ZQMony says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34am

Its a bit annoying how you get stuck on walls.

Move127 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44am

Pretty cool game. It seems that the rock can get stuck on the walls in such a way that you can't pick it up again.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

As has been said, the wall sticking bug was incredibly obnoxious. Also, the first time I accidentally threw my rock outside of the level and after that I was just hosed.

Rusky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

Super fun! I kept throwing the rock over the wall so it took me forever to beat the beefy bat, though the number of times I tried shows how fun it was.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50am

I liked the idea of this game, although it had several issues that made it nearly unplayable:
1) Getting stuck in walls. You can fix this by checking each movement axis (x/y) individually (move the character along the x axis, then check for collisions, if there is a collision move them back to where they were on the x axis, then [regardless of whether or not the x hit something] do the same for the y axis)
2) Not being able to throw up or down (this, with the next issue, made it hard to hit bats)
3) Bats only move towards you in the x direction, then in the y. This made it hard to get around bats that were below or above you.

If you have any more questions (about the getting stuck in walls fix or otherwise) shoot me a message here or on Twitter @WhiteVoidia, I'd love to help.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55am

I like how it looks and moves with exception of the player stopping when he bumps into the wall.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02am

Yeah my character got stuck on walls. Also, many times bats would trap me since you can only throw horizontally. I still enjoyed the game though. Good, simple graphics and mood!

xsiimoniix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05am

Pretty good :) A bit hard and as many people said, you get stuck in the walls.

dcolgan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Excellent entry for your first LD! A little sticky on the collisions but overall the game has all the ingredients.

CeriseGhost says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:13am

Looks like this was the first LD for both of us! Nice game. I had issues with getting stuck in the walls in my game too. My rabbits ears wouldn't behave :P

hnjslater says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Hah! fantastic little game, the graphics and sounds really added to it. Recommended

Hempuli says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:47pm

The attack style is interesting; there are some bugs that make playing somewhat annoying, such as both horizontal & vertical movement stopping when touching a wall. I'd love to see you make a full game out of this!

May 15, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I kind of liked the slow-paced combat, it was cool that he threw such short distances. Collision boxes seemed way too small though.
Getting stuck in walls sucks. I know it can be hard to fix, but do try next time!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Took me a while to get good enough to kill any bats, and then a while longer to finally beat the beefy bat, but I managed it somehow. Some of the collisions felt a bit off, and the rock would do weird things on occassion, but otherwise it was a good game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]