Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

BSoD

by CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD - Jam Entry

Beneath the surface of democracy!!
In modern world democracy and human rights violated regulary. You have unique chance to bring freedom and democracy to unknown east country. All characters and events depicted are fictional, and any resemblance to persons living, dead, or fictional or situations past, present, or fictional is purely and completely coincidental.


Language: java.
Library: libgdx.
Platform: Cross platform, required java runtime environment(jre).
Music: Marty Robbins - In the Wild West.
Sound effects generated with SFXR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Humor(Jam)4.33
#14Fun(Jam)4.07
#27Overall(Jam)4.04
#28Audio(Jam)4.11
#95Mood(Jam)3.77
#122Innovation(Jam)3.61
#138Theme(Jam)3.64
#143Graphics(Jam)4.00
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Excellent entry! The graphics are great, the gameplay is very good, and it's pretty original brave too. Great job overall

jmf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Ha, good fun! The explosion sound effect is seriously satisfying.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:42pm

"Beneath the surface of democracy"... clever ;)

hirngespinst says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

5 out of 5 - Awesome!

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47pm

This game was fun and funny. Good graphics and challenging game-play that ramped up pretty nicely. Great job!

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Great Idea.

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Darkly humorous.

Good difficulty level increase and fun gameplay.

Beat the democracy into those heathens.

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

That was much more fun than I imagined. Really funny and fun to play.

Dimir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07am

Great! ++++++++ :)))

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Super hilarious game, i was already laughing at the tutorial section.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:56am

Great idea!!!!!!!

CeriseGhost says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:59am

Just as hirngespinst said, 5 out of 5! This game was awesome!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Nice take on the theme. It got pretty repetitive and frustrating that I couldn't dodge or block the bullets, but maybe that's the point, haha.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]