Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Back To the Surface

by Ken Ichi - Jam Entry

Have you ever wondered how long it really takes for your character come back to the start of the stage after he falls into a hole?

Commands:
Arrow keys to Move (Left and Right)
Spacebar to Jump

Featuring:

*No sounds
*Missing stage background assets
*Weird animations
*Jump bugs
*Needs better intro
*3 diferent endings (only text because I ran out of time)

---

So many things gone wrong in this LudumDare, but I did not quit =]

My first attempt is an beat'em up style adventure game about balance (Yin and Yang) involving 2 worlds: Real World and Agartha, the hollow earth.
The animations took a huge time do draw. Remaining only 1 day left to the end of LD29, I put this project on hold and I've start working on this game: Back To The Surface.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#149Humor(Jam)3.20
#323Theme(Jam)3.26
#458Mood(Jam)2.92
#466Innovation(Jam)2.78
#529Graphics(Jam)2.96
#533Overall(Jam)2.93
#583Audio(Jam)2.33
#610Fun(Jam)2.46

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Good platform elements that tie well with the style!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Incredibly well designed platform-y game that fits in well with the theme :D

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Hi. Great job for only 24h Love the look. That jump freeze bug is weird, makes something in my spine twitch, like when you step up an extra step and stumble while going upstairs!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I like the concept! And I actually liked the idea behind the art style too. The progression in the level architecture as you go higher up was cool, and the self-deprecating ending made me laugh and kind of made the whole thing worth it. For what the game was, I really enjoyed it.

sink_t says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:11pm

The game surely holds its premise very well, and its play time is much longer than I expected. Unfortunately, the sticky jump bug is quite annoying and gets in the way of enjoying the game fully.

ZYXer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Now I feel sorry for my characters for all the times I fell into a hole in a platformer game... ;)

This is quite a difficult game (or I'm just really bad at it). Good work for 24 hours! And I hope we will see your other game some time in the future.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:13pm

it was a pretty good platformer level. maybe you could make it so you appear at the beginning of the starting mario level (or something similar) just an idea :) keep it up

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Simple and efficient ! I really went quite high back to the surface, but then fell again :/ Good job.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:09pm

I like the backstory, quite a clever premise. The graphics are simple but establish a cool mood. Mechanics are generally solid although I found myself getting stuck on the edge of platforms quite often. Nice job though!

Vinyl Pixels says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Nice and fun!

cirolve says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Hmmm, it seems I get stuck every so often, but the aesthetics look nice and the concept is sound!

JoshRespawns says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:59am

Great Game!

CMaster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:05am

I liked the concept, but it needed some ore context to really make it work. A clip of the game being played before hand and the fall down the hole. fallen enemies and lost powerups dotted around. That sort of thing.

Hippolyta says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:43am

In the beginning its just walking and staring at your character. Maybe you should try to give the player something to achieve from the start. For me most of the games here decide within the first moments to be good or bad - the first impression is very important.

DonovanWu says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:53am

That's a huge map! After beating the game several times I find that I still haven't fully explored it. Nicely done!

mortus says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Great concept! Despite the fact that the gameplay is kinda simple I finished the game (once) just to see what the ending text is. You've really had me on the hook by that simple but effective intro. Would have loved to see what it could have been if you had more time on your hands.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]