Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Debt Diver

by aaronj - Jam Entry

The main character has just been laid off from his job, and has absolutely no savings to survive on. To make matters worse, he's got mountains of student loan and credit card debt bearing down on him, and if he doesn't act fast, he'll lose everything! But just when he's ready to hit the couch and drown in his own misery, he hears something interesting on the news:

"Researchers have recently discovered a field of ancient shipwrecks deep in the sea to the east. These ruins are thought to contain a vast amount of very valuable treasure..."

Eureka! Job searching all day, deep-sea diving all night it is! That'll keep his books balanced!

Controls
-------------
-Use the arrow keys to move your sub.
-You have from 9:00PM to 5:00AM nightly to pay off your debt.
-Collect coins and gems to help pay off your debt!
-The deeper you dive, the darker and more dangerous it gets. But the further down you go, the better the treasure!
-Watch your air meter. If it hits zero, you'll start losing health. Refill your air by going to the surface or collecting treasure encased in bubbles.
-You can restore a small amount of health by collecting coins.
-The challenge increases as the days pass.

NOTE: The game ends on the 30th night. I didn't have the time to add in a real ending. Just know that the main character finally finds a new job the next day.


Too bad I didn't have the time to draw the shipwrecks and ruins on the sea floor... there's a lot I wish I could have done, but for 72 hours I'm pretty happy with the result.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#167Theme(Jam)3.56
#169Graphics(Jam)3.91
#238Fun(Jam)3.23
#297Humor(Jam)2.76
#310Overall(Jam)3.31
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#529Innovation(Jam)2.67
#572Audio(Jam)2.39

Comments

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55am

Super cute, realistically slippery controls. Make a few more of these and if you actually have debt it will surely disappear!

IndieST says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51am

I've played to night 5. Reached the goal but still got killed by bombs. I think the bombs are the most interesting elements of the game. Maybe you should introduce more items/mechanics in higher levels?

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55am

Very nice graphics and smooth controls. Good balance between risk and reward of diving deep. I enjoyed it!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58am

Very fun game, nice progression. Wish there was some music! The story adds some fun context and a clever take on the theme. Polish it up some more and it would make a good mobile game.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15am

Nice graphics, and cool game

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Very nice one! The controls work well, the polish is there, the mechanics had surprising depth - the risk/reward aspect of the mines are a really nice touch. Not sure if new mechanics after the mines?

Great job! :)

lucienpro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28am

Hey, I really liked this game, the physics were really smooth and the graphics were nice. Good Job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31am

Felt a bit lost in the open sea. I liked the underwater feel, but those coins. Why coins!?

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35am

Drowning in Debt... ...well now there's a character we can all relate to. Sadly, I don't own a sub! :< Overall good game, would love to see a more complex version with music and such later!

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38am

Loveley game.
I would have liked the controlls to be more precise and not so much drag, but otherwise that was a very soothing atmosphere. So, perhaps it worked just as it should. :)

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13am

Interesting game. Realatable character and pretty nice visuals.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14am

Great graphics and tight controls. Great job. Keep working on it.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49am

Neat controls and nice graphics!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Beautiful

fakeyou says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

I liked the game, nice visuals and nice idea. I didn't get to far but it did seem a little to easy, especially the mines giving coins.

andreaswitzen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Charming! I really enjoyed this. Could become fantastic if expanded upon!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Nice game, simple gameplay and cute graphics.

someone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Nice graphics and good mechanics.
I lost interest after the 11th night though, as it just felt like I was just doing the same thing.
The abrupt ending of the days also meant there was little point in managing your air as you can just hit a few mines to get loads of cash really quickly.

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Great job of polish. I felt like there wasn't a lot of progression from one night to the next (I stopped at night 11), but the mechanic was fun. I wanted to explore deeper, but it seemed almost impossible to get any further than where it starts getting dark since I would inevitably have enough money by that point.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Nice looking game! Like you said, could use more variety to keep it interesting, but great for a jam.

MithosKuu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

The game feels solid, although the controls feel a little floaty, I think it's a good start but it needs something to engage the player, draw them in ya' know?

May 15, 2014 @ 4:32am

The game is good. Might add more mechanics to make it more interesting. Great job! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]