Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ant Vision

by frickajr - Jam Entry

Controls:

Move: directional or W,A,S,D

Pheromone: Mouse Click or Ctrl

---

3D Artists :

Fabio Rafael Nunes
Gabriel Tararam

Programming :

Luiz Carlos Pinheiro Junior

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#102Theme(Jam)3.71
#198Innovation(Jam)3.38
#487Mood(Jam)2.86
#523Humor(Jam)2.18
#540Overall(Jam)2.92
#564Graphics(Jam)2.85
#598Fun(Jam)2.50
#680Audio(Jam)1.32

Comments

pattb011 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:25pm

It's interesting. I like how i can go upside down and on the sides of the tunnel. It's cool. But i'd like to see an explanation on what the pheromone does. But it's cool.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Really interesting. I want to understand how you create this tunnel. Homewhere I must try again. Thank you for this contribution ++

pbsds says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Intresting, but I'm having issues focusing the game so it reads my input.

morcosan says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

wow ... interesting
i managed to fall off the tunnel into nothing :))

sprawl says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I couldn't figure out the goal, if there was one. The controls were fun though, it was nice to be able to come out of the tunnel. By the way, the tunnels looked really good.

saiato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:13pm

I like the feeling of crawling through the tunnel a lot. I agree with everyone else though that the goal of the game is very unclear.

Kar says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Maybe there's not a lot to do but the tunnel where you don't know if you are walking on flook or ceiling is cool!.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Fun game. I like the tunnels...very cool.

Thomas Ingham says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I really like that you can leave the ant hill. That was a big surprise.

Christophe says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Did not find the exit, but it's cool, I guess that the pheromone is the Tom Thumb stuff. Really fun to be an ant.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:53pm

That is great fun, really cool (and trippy) graphics.
But not much of a game. There's no goal.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12am

I LOVE THE GAME! Its so pointless but awesome. The mechanics are really fun. When I made it out the tunnel, climbed the tree, then suddenly my ant got a green Mohawk, was that intentional?XD

greg-anims says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52am

cool idea! reminds me of that section in medievil..

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

Unfortunately I managed to pass through border and felt down from level. Otherwise it was really trippy experience :) Like it.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

I very much like this ant simulation. Thanks.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27am

At first I thought the camera movement would get annoying, but it ended up feeling 'right'. It was surprisingly fun to be an ant. I would love to see a more developed version where your sent on missions by the queen ant, and maybe a more complex ant hill. But for 48 hours, this was extremely well done, good job! :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57am

I really like the idea of beeing an ant.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58am

No defined goal, but interesting graphics and fairly fun.

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I like it. somewhat short.
considered the idea of ​​adding more missions. But it's cool.

billhung says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:27pm

when I get the leave back to my green nest, and "Congratulations" popped up on screen. I felt so accomplished!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Wow. Interesting idea. I can actually see an ant simulator being a fun game now :)

The animation could use some work, and it would be nice to have some audio. Also, some sort of obstacle or enemy between you and the food would have made it more fun. However, I like the idea a lot. Good job :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Nice!

stigmawall says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06am

Nice idea!

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18am

Good graphics!

pedro.thiers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

nice idea! I enjoyed marking my way back. I kinda missed some music or ambient sounds. The travelling could be faster too.

billhung says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:52am

The googledrive web version is currently not loading, btw. It was loading yesterday.

billhung says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01am

I like this game. so peaceful and non-violent. Fit the theme very well. There's no audio (just double checked again). I hope people make more exotic animal simulators.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Ant Simulator 2014.
I really like the wall climbing!

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:16am

Thanks for this interesting project :)

Ken Ichi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:56pm

I like the main idea =D
if you put more "rooms" and diferent paths into the nest it would be great!

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:17pm

A very interesting game, but I found it a little boring to be honest.:/ Maybe making the ant go faster would help.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Idea is good but the controls were a little sloppy.

tehryanx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I really liked this. Give the ant a little more speed and make it so I don't get stuck trying to get on the tree and this would be awesome! Great contribution overall :)

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Great concept, this game made me realize that it's just very very fun to play insects. It reminds me of a playstation 2 game where you played a mosquito. Would had love to see humans in the game. Or animal or some sort. even other insects. But that seems very complicated to implement for a Ludum Dare. Good entry

td1801 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Amazing game ! *-*
It's fun to be in the skin of an ant ! the graphics are good and the controls are nice ! but It's hard to don't get lost !

Dominator_101 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Could use some audio, and some slope transitions were a little choppy (like going from ground to tree and vice-versa), but pretty good!

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Interesting dive into the eyes of an ant, feels very empty and lacking sound and animations, but with a bit more in this it could be a very interesting sim.

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:49pm

thanks for the feedback! :)

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I liked how you could move on mostly every surface available.

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Enjoyed looking for food as ant, used background knowledge of Ant Desire to seek the exits. Great scale. Wish leaving pheromones was more immediate, felt like clicking / pressing control did nothing a lot of the time. Skittery-clicky sound would be lovely.

cirolve says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:22am

Very trippy, I have to say. Interesting concept, for sure!

Chinchilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:14am

I really like this, the tunnel crawling works really well (I even had to have a look at your source to work out how on earth you'd done it). And emerging out onto the surface is an awesome experience. Would be great if there were other AI ants that followed you, and you could set up routes.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:15am

A day in the life of an ant. Interesting idea. Not sure how the pheromones mechanic was supposed to work. I did manage to acquire and return a tasty leaf back to my nest though. :)

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:18am

Interesting premise. I like this surface walking mechanics.

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:26am

Love the graphics, very innovative!

Pitoum says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Love the idea and the execution!
Always one of the big question "what's to be an ant?"!
You guys finally gave me a bit of an answer! :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]