Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries


by tchem - Jam Entry

Epilepsy is a game between forces. We have on one side and limit the sovereignty of the inevitable and other lines of affection.
Under the surface there is this softness and violence of things, the world and the bodY.

game design by andre eichemberg
music and sound by Guilherme Gasques
made in construct 2
pixaki app .
glitch images .

I had only six or seven hours to develop this game. I hope to continue in some ideas,
every comment is welcome

Downloads and Links




Kino333 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10am

Honestly, this game was a little confusing for me. It took me three times to realize what was going on in the game before figuring out what needed to be done.

The theme of the game in regards to epilepsy were spot on, but it was very difficult to play due to the constant flashing of lights and such.

Good job regardless. :3

timtipgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:56am

I love the mood this creates. The distortion flashes are a happening a bit too often maybe. While the gameplay isn't that exciting, the overall style is very nice. Especially given that you only had a few hours for it.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:57am

This game is amazing! I love the style, it's hard as butts but a lot of fun.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:57am

The visuals are awesome, they fit really good with the game! _You did a great work!

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Holy shit. The visuals are freaking amazing. Everything adds up and works really well with each other. It feels great playing this thing... Except that it isn't as fun, and it's rather confusing. Great job, well done.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Interesting visual style and like the defensive movement. Does become a bit confusing having the lines never fade and cover the screen. But think works well with the theme of epilepsy.

Seyroth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

The game is gorgeous. I too had a hard time figuring out how to play (It's cool being minimalist about tutorials but I think the player should always know how to get started). If you did make this in 7hrs, I'm impressed !

vicious_br says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:09pm

It gives the feeling of an attack during the game. Spectacular!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39am

Beautiful. I like the desperate feeling of frantically trying to catch words close to your body, even though it's only making it harder to see.

Very well done.

tchem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

Thanks all by comments!!

louiscarl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

This is a really beautiful game, with a striking art style that works really well with the context of the game. I like it a lot!

moonmagic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34am

Gentle plants in the best pink, forests of waving friends. Nice company even as I wished I could walk through them. Gorgeous screen-rending attacks. Wish my glowing protector was a bit bigger, but don't we all.

Managore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:12am

Easily one of the nicest looking and sounding games I've seen so far. Great job!

b_bertoldo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01am

Excelent job. Fantastic graphics, spectacular sound! Simply wonderful!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Been following you on twitter and absolutely love you pixel art, this game is an interesting take on the theme. Well done! :)

henriquejas says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:58am

Wow! I think it's really nicely put together. Very mood, much wow =D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00am

Gorgeous and abstract. Like a disembodied mind experiencing something which does not make any sense, and yet is complete simply as an experience.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:02am

The landscapes are very attractive.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Wow, this was named appropriately ;)

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:16pm

I felt a little moved by the synergy of sounds/vfx/smoothness in the game, I liked it, nice pallete, a little confusing yes, and maybe to 'exploitable', as all the elements were coming from under you, what I made to pass it easily is just put my cursor under the character, draw a straigth line always under it, and let the dots just come.

tchem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:16pm

thanks all,,, happy by your comments and perceptions... @vladimirdlc: thanks,,, really easy,,, i will try to work this in the next version,,, its very simple really.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:01am

Great idea!!!

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:07am

Nice visuals and mood, but the game itself is pretty hard. I would prefer using the mouse instead of the WASD keys.

Anoarith says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Woaw graphics are awesome and very moody ! Too bad you only had 7 hours de develop the game, I would love to see more

May 4, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Visually beautiful, but the ortho-linear controls were frustrating. Mouse control immediately came to mind.

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:20am

Ugh, the aesthetic of this game is gorgeous, and the theme is cool. Loved the glitch like flashes. The controls were really interesting as well.

GarethIW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:02pm

It would have taken me 6 hours just to do that tearing effect, so kudos! The game wasn't much fun, but the mood and style were brilliant.

Reinkout says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Great work! The energy system was really cool.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The glitchiness had me hooked, but the core gameplay was incredibly difficult and flat-out frustrating at times. Maybe an 'attack' of sorts to destroy nearby particles?

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:42am

Great mood! I didn't find it very playable, but i loved the glitchy graphic effects. If you could control with the mouse instead of the arrow keys, it'd be a lot easier.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I'm rating this game highest on all categories.
It's beyond a lot of what I've seen in the compo before.
Music and sound and graphics are amazeballs and the gameplay is
somewhat philosophical!

Everybody play this friggin game!

Striwx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:28am

Love the graphics and the mood, especially the second screen !

Wertle says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I can see where you guys are going with this and I think it has potential, just gotta work on that interaction being smooth and solid and not overly frustrating. It's a little difficult at the moment. But, i like the overall aesthetic and I thought it went together nicely with the music and what you were shooting for with the theme.

tchem says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:34pm

@PaperBlurt: thank you so much man!!! @Wertle: really i need to develop more the interaction and gameplay in all, thanks by comment.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]