Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flooded Mines

by Zerkruemler - Jam Entry

This is an endless game which with random generated levels and increasing difficulty level. It was heavily Inspired by the C=64 Game O'Riley's Mine. Although the title screen implies it, the game has no enemies. I just didn't have enough time to implement and test them, but I think the gameplay does not really require them, the water is enough enemy.

Controls are:
Cursor keys or WASD to move, Space to start.

The game shows some instructions alternating to the title screen.

Tested with Firefox and Chrome

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#198Theme(Jam)3.50
#238Fun(Jam)3.23
#446Humor(Jam)2.38
#463Overall(Jam)3.06
#480Innovation(Jam)2.75
#539Mood(Jam)2.77
#577Audio(Jam)2.38
#647Graphics(Jam)2.57

Comments

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Addictive game! Creative use of the theme. I'm glad there's no enemies because it got more difficult at a good pace.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Fun retro game, seems very familiar...! :)

mutuware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Nice title screen :)

loxo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

It took me some tries to understand the mechanics of the game, but then it was fun. The game fits the theme well and I think if there is no enemy required then it's good to leave them out.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Pretty nice! I liked the fact that the water would even move up the main shaft any time the branches went higher than it was. Nice touch!

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

simple but fun.

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Surprisingly addictive and pressured - the first game I didn't quite get it (I didn't see the instructions) but once I'd figured it out, it was a lot of fun.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Really cool, title screen is awesome lol. Nice colour palette and sound effects.

voxel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Very nice, very pure gameplay. Once you've understood the water it's quite easy though :)

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:48pm

it seems so simple in the beginning but becomes quite challenging! nice work :)

Wir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:16am

Pretty funny game, I have answered your statement so you can check out our site again if you want ^^

phi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Now that I understand the mechanics, it seems actually quite reasonable and a very cool idea. Nice concept, nicely implemented. And it's fun, which is the most important thing. :)

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Very cool retro styled game with fun gameplay.

trueyomic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Very simple but fun game.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Kind of an interesting flooding mechanic. Took me a bit to figure it out. Hard game. I think it is a solid base for polishing up the movement and controls. It all feels a bit stiff right now. I like the arcade-like simulation of water pressure. It also reminds me of a bizarre form of the snake game.

rujo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:25pm

could be improved both in design and gameplay but its a nice starting point :)

May 4, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Nice game! Simple and fun. Good job!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Only suggestion I have for this is to make it so that the water doesn't block you from rescue. It feels unfair to not give the player another way out when their rescue hole is cut off. Why can't I dig to the surface anywhere?

Cake&Code says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:03am

The little tutorial screen does not do the rules and mechanics justice, this very much a trial-and-error learning game. The controls and choppy framerate hinder the experience a bit and yet it has a lot of good ideas and it is genuinly fun!

I found myself replaying the game until I could get a few levels further and feel like I'd accomplished something. Very enticing, hope you keep working on it! :)

01101101 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:59am

huhu, really funny!

TeamFlare says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:04am

nice !

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:39pm

I'm sorry.
I'm usually not very critical, but this game is IDENTICAL to O'Reillys mine.
It's becoming pretty common to recycle old games and it really rubs me the wrong way (I recently saw a commercial Pharaos curse rip off without mentioning the original).
The trouble I have with it is, that by now most people have forgotten about the orginal or are too young to know it. So it's easy to do.
To be fair: you're not ttrying to make money of it and it is a good copy and you mentioned O'Reillys mine in the intro, but for me this crosses the border between 'influenced by' and 'a copy of'. Why not tweak the game a bit so it isn't so much like the original?

I DO like the opening picture, which shows you can do original things.

Hmm, I'm inclined to rate this 1 star, but I'll keep it unrated for now.

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Very original mechanic! Nicely done.

cardboard says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:29am

Moving was a bit wonky at times, but not enough to distract me from the gameplay. The colors and graphics are nice, and the gameplay feels pretty retro (which is a good thing).

xbcw says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:07am

Fun and addictive.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]