Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kraken's Island

by GreenyUk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Kraken's Island, a physics-based destruction sandbox. You play as the Kraken and you have to protect your treasure from pirates that are trying to steal it.

You have 4 abilities to help you:
> Krakens Tantacle: Take control of a flailing tentacle and beat the ships to death.
> Water Wrath: Create a powerful blast of water blowing ships sky high.
> Sky Fire: Call upon your good friend Horus to make the sky rain fire.
> Midas Touch: Recover gold that you have saved from the pirates.

They have cool downs, and some abilities will effect coins to be smart and use your abilities at the right times.

--Controls--
1,2,3,4 - Use Skills
'A', mouse edge of screen - Move view to left
'D', mouse edge of screen - Move view to right
Move Mouse - Control Tentacle/Aim Abilities

--Bug Fixes--
Obviously 48 hours isn't a lot of time to make a complete game so there may be bugs. Let me know if you find one. Here are the bugs I've already found and fixed:

> Can't press icons when view has moved - Fixed
> Numpad keys don't trigger the skills - Fixed
> If you retry you can't fail - Fixed
> Right clicking spawns ships - Fixed
> Pressing Esc crashes the game - Fixed
> Pressing backspace brings up the menu - Fixed
> Moving the view messes up the Options screen - Fixed

This is by far (in my opinion) my best LD game to date. I had a ton of fun creating it and even more playing it so I hope you do too. I could spend weeks tweaking the physics and what not, but for 48 hours i'm very pleased :D

If you like the game be sure to let me know @greeny_games and leave a comment below with your score! I want to see how well you guys/gals can do!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2022Coolness20%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Was fun, though I got a bit too good at it and sort of forced myself to lose. Still, it was addicting, it was fun, though maybe the difficulty could of ramped up more as it went. My record was 1614 seconds: http://s29.postimg.org/m6z3mz5b9/Pirates_Score.png

GreenyUk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Nice score and thanks for the suggestion Aestheticgamer. I've taken your suggested and the enemies health increases over time. I think that small change is allowed by the LD rules :) The game is still the same.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43am

Great game, I have found a bug. If you press backspace to return to menu, and later you press Escape key, the game crashes. Good luck!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Haha, Funny little Game. I am the biiig Kraken. Yes!

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Wow, a very fun game! I loved how fast-paced and chaotic it was. Maybe there could be some more scaling (like introduce tools one at a time) but as a proof of concept this is perfect. The difficulty scales nicely.

Loved the art and particularly the music, nice little pirate jam!

It seems that you left a debug function in, because right-clicking lets you spawn pirate ships. If they exist outside of the actual game (like in menus) the game crashes. I just ignored this and played the game, though, and it was fun!

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:47am

Clean graphics, neat mechanics, and the music's great.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38am

GG, well made. Needs Explosions:)

GreenyUk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Thanks all for the comments and the bugs. I'll get them fixed. yes, right click to create a ship was a forgotten dev tool :D

01F0 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:56am

Wow, you have done quite a lot in 48 hours. GUI and menus, different abilities, an intro.. Impressive!

Quit stealing Krakens gold, pesky pirates! ;_;

Spellmaker says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:57am

Wow, this was fun. Didn't quite get the hang of the tentacle but who cares. Liked the oldschool music.

Garris says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:55am

98 seconds. Man that was fun! Honestly my only critique would be that the game gets a little bland fairly quickly. I'd really like to see a more developed version of this with difficulty ramping and some more content. This was a legitimately awesome concept though. Very well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]