Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ben Eath: The Surf Ace

by Afal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ben Eath is a Hunk Surfer that loves to hang around the beach. BUT ONE DAY: he's confronted by another Hunk who's even Hunkier than he is. Do what you can to defeat Hunk Hogan and impress The Babes in "Ben Eath: The Surf Ace"!

How to play:
- Use arrow keys to move
- Press Space bar during conversations

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#12Humor4.21
#213Audio3.35
#275Theme3.59
#340Fun3.29
#464Mood3.09
#693Overall3.05
#1005Innovation2.44
#1064Graphics2.35

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23am

Haha, im running on linux, so i cant test your game. But i like the game title! :D

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47am

haha, my game has the same name. also running on linux. also like the title

shaneparsons says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03am

Pretty good game, Took me a while to understand at first but all in all awesome game dude!

Fragsteel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:04am

The game made me rofl, the music made me rofl again, and then the "adventure game logic" made me rofl a third time. Great job, man!

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:24am

Rofl I enjoyed this very much. The conversations were the best part

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35am

AHAHAHA nice name :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:11am

lol, awesome humor in this game! I really loved the "music" as well. I smiled through the entire game. Gotta love "Adventure game logic". Good job!

jayitinc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:15am

Hilarious

maerob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

he's a hunk he's a he's a hunk. Nice game!

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:24am

very good music, playing it in background atm.

frankd0331 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

Very funny!! I think your song's gonna be my new workout jam.

fyi: the game locked up on me when I talked to the girls twice in a row (tried to skip the first convo started the second and locked up)

ix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43am

I smiled at the Bechdel test thing, and the game ends right about when the music starts getting annoying. Good stuff!

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

hillarious dialogue, very jhonny bravo 8)

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

looks good but no linux support :(

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35am

Interesting humor piece. :)

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

Hilarious game. I really enjoyed it.

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

Ha! Loving the name. Bikini ginger is my favorite character.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

heh, nice work

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

Dingus is the best word ever haha

Jed T. says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49am

Game has really good comedy :) I was stuck after getting tanned though and I don't know where to get a surfboard. My only suggestion is to have a skip dialog option so I won't have to read the text over and over when figuring out if the npc has new options available. But overall, it's a fantastic little gem :)

Norse Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56am

This made me crack up. Gameplay wise, it was basic, but it was hilarious.

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37am

MAN. The game's name is so much win. Can't play it now, because I don't have windows machine. Will install wine later and try it out. Definitely on my need-to-test list :)

No rating so far, will do it later!

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

To start: great title ;)

Funny adventure which was short enough for a Ludum Dare. Good jokes.
I also like the music, really something different.

FelipeTavares says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Very nice! You really put the mood on the game!

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

This game is sooo good so damn funny man! And the song... "He's a hunk, he's a hunk, he's he's a hunk"

Zed says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Apparently, I am the best hunk. That makes me feel good inside. I also feel like I ought to go and arbitrarily add some women to my game for no reason other than to pass the Bechedel test, now...

One of those games that really makes you think.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

very funny! great job!

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

"Huray! Here have some tanning lotion!"
"Why the heck do you give me tanning lotion?"
"Adventure game logic."

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Omg, dat music xD

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Made me laugh but i kept on running into the speechs again
great effort

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I've got to give bonus points for the title, haha!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I don't laugh easily but your game is funny! Graphics are great! Audio too.

MaesK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Great game and absurdly funny. It has the weirdest music ever, and I even accidentally learned about Bechdel Test :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

The dialog cracked me up :)

hnjslater says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Like totally Rad

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33pm

THE WINNER OF MOOD CATEGORY

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

SH*T, I MEANT HUMOUR CATEGORY

harko12 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

If I could give 6 stars on theme interpretation, I would. Great job

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

This game was hilarious. I we made a text adventure game too, but we should have taken a queue from you and kept it simple. Good job.

parDal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56am

I just can't stop laughing when I read this title.
Simply the best "interpretation" of the theme until now.

HAHAHA OH MY GOD THIS MUSIC.

Well, I'm happy to see someone programming in the same engine as myself (like, really, I didn't see any other game in GM:S until now). First of all, I think you noticed that Gaem maker isn't the best engine for programming adventures, next time I would suggest you to test coding in AGS or similars.

Second, the gameplay is pretty bad even for 48 hours, you could made the dialogs trigger by button pressing + collision and not just the latter. The design is pretty disorganized, for example, I gave the bucket to the kid without even knowing he wanted it (I spoke to him first time AFTER getting it) that could happen with any character as they are scattered along the beach without anything limiting the player to talk them, this freedom can make the players confused if they don't follow the order of actions you had in mind.

Besides that, I laughed a lot with the bechdel test part and the ending was just fantastic, it would be nice to see a longer and well-polished remake of this one, you have potential.

Congratulations for participating.

Exergy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Hahaha! This was the funnies I've played so far! Excellent "music" :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Praise the music!

dmcfarline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Haha, this is fantastic, great job

KickBack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Heh, heh. Really nice adventure! And great music!

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:52am

Hilarious music!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Laughing the whole time =D really funny and...dunno like it somehow ^^

May 1, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Really funny game. Great music

alexdantas says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:21am

Can't.... Stop... Laughing....
Sides.... In orbit...

ThingoStudios says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:34am

Hands down the FUNNIEST entry, between the great dialogue and the brilliant music. I'd also like to commend you on the walking animation, which I found sort of impressive despite its simplicity.

Also, that title. Genius.

Fragsteel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I'm giving you five stars for audio because that soundtrack stayed in my head for days. XD

alexdantas says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:05am

Hello, there!
FYI your game was featured on this blog post:

(9 Gems from Ludum Dare 29)
http://alexdantas.net/stuff/posts/9-gems-from-ludum-dare-29/

Thanks a lot for making this awesome entry :)

Afal says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Unfortunately the host I've been using is playing silly beggars right now. I've uploaded my work to somewhere else. Sorry for the inconvenience

May 8, 2014 @ 1:14am

im glad someone else did a play on words theme ..haha nice man :)

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:19am

On a mac, but otherwise I'd play this!

kidder says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:23am

I cannot believe there are two (more than two?!) games that used this pun. Well done, sir.

Afal says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:08pm

For those of you using Mac or Linux (or any other operating system other than windows that has a modern web browser), you can (finally!) play the game! Thanks everyone who's played so far, and thanks for all the kind words you've given :D :D :D

CodeNMore says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Creativity, but very short, wish there was more to it...

Oye Beto says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 1:12am

Funny.
Catchy song.
Creative use of the theme.

praporomsk says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:59am

LOOOOOL
Man, you must make the next chapter of the game! I wonder what will happen next with Ben Eath!

ruerob says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:37am

Thanks for the port to HTML5. Thank you for mentioning the bechdel test. I've just look it up on wikipedia and found it very interesting. The music was nice to. Thank you for your entry.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:21am

That was delightfully silly. Hilarious dialog, silly background music, funny fetch quests...this game has it all.

I only have beef with the giant hitboxes around some characters that triggers a conversation when I don't want one, and how I can't hold Space to skip through parts of the dialog. But that's just a minor nitpick. As for the game itself, the fetch quest is actually pretty fun and even thought-provoking at times, especially with that "twist ending" (wink wink).

This really brought a smile to my face. Nice job! :)

Afal says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:14am

Yeah, I realise that if I am going to do something similar to this again then I need to:
- Make it so that you press a button if you want to talk to a person
- A skip button for dialogue so that anything you've read before can be skipped easily.
- Make it so that if you have an item that someone needs then you select it from some form of menu. (some people pick up the bucket way before talking to the kid with the smashed sandcastle, and it doesn't make that sense that you'd go straight to them without any knowledge why they'd need a bucket)

I feel like making a polished version of this game once the compo is over, if only to fix those issues.

SK16Games says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:32pm

HAHAHA very fun game xD Love the soundtrack!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]