Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ogre's Gold

by asotelo94 - Jam Entry

3D third Person Exploration game. Go deep underground to get the Ogre's Gold. Use flares and fire lights to help locate yourself in the darkness.

Adventure Mode: Play through 4 unique levels, beware of the Ogre!
Infinite Mode: Have unlimited fun with auto-generated maps, go as deep as you can possibly can.

INSTRUCTIONS

ESC: pause
WASD: Move
Mouse: Move Camera
Left Click: throw torch
Right Click: shoot flare
Left Shift: sprint

CREDITS

3D Art: Alonso Caballero
Programming: Alvaro Barua, Alexis Sotelo, Edwin Cornejo
Music/Audio: Westar Music
Tools: 3Ds Max 2014 Unity3D Pro Maya LT Maya 2014 Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#262Graphics(Jam)3.66
#299Innovation(Jam)3.17
#391Mood(Jam)3.03
#413Audio(Jam)2.97
#463Overall(Jam)3.06
#511Theme(Jam)2.86
#540Humor(Jam)2.14
#618Fun(Jam)2.44

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Really impressive animation and effects. It's really hard to tell what I'm doing with all the darkness, though. :)

scottyb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

i really want to play this, but it's taking literally forever to download. dropbox is not serving speedily.

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:34am

A neat idea - you have to throw flares to maneuver in otherwise absolute darkness - however, in practice I found it almost unplayably difficult

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

Very impressive from both a graphics and audio standpoint especially for the timeframe; but I will be honest, I didn't get into the gameplay. I think part of the problem is that the ogre moves so slow while the torch moves so fast, it was very hard to judge how far you move from torch to torch. The jump was very hard, and if I failed at it, I would have to take a long time to get back to that point because of how slow the ogre was.

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56am

Oh really scotty? that's odd. I am uploading the game to Kongregate anyway.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18am

Nice job! Great aesthetics

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Can't play this, Unity webplayer is not available for Linux OS. Feel free to send me a tweet @tinyworlds if you export a Linux executable and I'll play your game.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Almost unplayable on the multiscreen desktop (mouse look without locking cursor means serious problems.

And also kinda too hard - didn't see almost anything with the torches :(

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

This is an amazing game! I like the goblin character model, and I really like the unique mechanics of using light to navigate the levels (and making me feel like a greedy stupid goblin on the first level when I bee-lined the treasure and fell into the abyss :P)

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52am

Shigor: there is a bug that locks the camera, idk if that's what you meant. Also you are right about the illumination we wanted to add more, though the time was up.

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:23am

great animation, atmosphera and sounds, but it´s so dark... :D

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Wow, really nice game, i'd love to see a bigger better version ! :D

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

The Linux version links to the Windows version. Anyway, I was able to emulate it and left you a rating ;)

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:41am

Nicely made adventure game, the character animations are very good!

asotelo94 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:07am

Alonso says: Thanks MunkeeBacon! :)

gigitrix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Really like the concept, but I found it rather hard!

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:58am

Great idea!!!

awppy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:36am

It started off interestingly enough, but the torches you throw are completely useless once the ogre starts chasing you and are frustratingly weak in general, and the fourth stage is unreasonably difficult. Once the ogre spots you it will not stop chasing you, and because you have to stop to throw a torch that will only light one or two paces ahead of you, it becomes unwinnable. Enjoyed the first 3 stages a bit more than the 4th

mark.goetz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:00pm

I really like how you made the lighting part of the gameplay - that's pretty innovative and impressive for the timeframe. But honestly, I think incorporating that into a 3D platformer (already a genre that's difficult to judge and control) didn't work out as well as I'd like. I got disoriented pretty easily. But I do like the darkness aspect of it thematically and gameplay wise.

rojo says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:21am

Fun idea. 3D is always pretty impressive for LD. I feel like the torch radius could have been just a little bigger. Another idea is maybe some kind of audible feedback as you approach an edge in the dark.

Waterman7 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Really engaging concept, and nice execution. Good job!
The difficulty curve was a bit too steep for my taste.

paps says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Good game. Too bad the flares could not be thrown further

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]