Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath

by AGDG_REJECT - Jam Entry

"Beneath the Surface"

Its a high concept game with no enemies or a way to lose. It is almost like it wasn't finished. Consider it an allegory for life itself, or something like that.

It was made from scratch in C using Allegro 5. Raster art was done in Photoshop. Other tools included vim, make, a ballpoint pen, and irssi (at least while I could still join #ludumdare).

It is possible the OS X version has some linking issues (it may be dynamically linked to some libraries when it should be statically linked to them). I don't have a way to test it at the moment. It was developed on that platform, so I'll feel bad if it doesn't work. That probably means I'll end up feeling bad.

The source code is under the MIT license, copyright AGDG_REJECT, and associated parties, 2014.

----

Controls:
"WASD" or arrow keys to move
'R' to restart. This will also generate a new random level.
ESC or close the display to quit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#238Graphics(Jam)3.71
#379Mood(Jam)3.05
#444Innovation(Jam)2.83
#659Overall(Jam)2.60
#688Theme(Jam)2.27
#709Fun(Jam)2.13
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

A game done good

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:56am

What's here is pretty solid. The style is nice, and if the controls were a bit more fluid I could see this developing into a fun maze game or maybe an auto-scroller.

Galdon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

Seems to have some good style, it's unfortunate you didn't have time to make the maze have a goal or end point.

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09am

Well, that was neat.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12am

Controls were annoying, but it was cool

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33am

I hope you take this and do some more work with it; the visuals are too cool not to take further!

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:34am

Having also gone through the process of procedural maze generation for this LD, I feel your pain.... Impressive what you ending with, considering how low-level the tools you used to build it!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40am

Great start. I could see this hashing out in to a fun game

Maniulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

Nice concept.

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52am

Confirmed crash on Mac :*(

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:06am

Great idea with that looks amazing. Would be interesting in playing a version that has some more functionality

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:27am

I really like the graphical aesthetic. The changing colors in the background are especially nice, and the way the camera rotates too. I like that you did procedural levels too.

Without a clear objective it feels more like a toy than a game. But it seems like that's what you were going for!

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:28am

Hmmmm. That's a great engine for something, though not sure what. It's a nice groundwork for a game - but isn't a game yet :) Good job putting it together, juicy :)

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Loved the style and graphics, and even enjoyed playing it despite its incompleteness.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I greatly appreciate how trippy it is.

Do you think you want to try to develop on it further?

Moist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Thank you, this game made me realise the meaning of life. Also, I absolutely love the aesthetics.

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Enjoyed pulsating color maze. Scritchy scratchy, looks good. Why free movement? Grid based with a lerp would feel better, have less bouncing around.

ChuiGum says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:20am

Love the graphics, very innovative too

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]