Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Game Developer

by shs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What lies beneath the surface of the game developer's curious and excitable personality?

Uses the keyboard and occasionally the mouse. Made with Unity.

About Mac/Linux versions: I don't have a mac or linux computer, so I can't confirm that these will work properly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#53Humor3.78
#307Mood3.30
#592Graphics3.12
#690Innovation2.88
#714Overall3.02
#886Audio2.04
#912Theme2.79
#1102Fun2.31

Comments

ahmeni says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:00am

beautiful

PhiK says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:23pm

lol

td1801 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Can we win ? x)
It's fun :p

Kulomin says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Wow this game is sooo well made...and its hilarious! Rofl'd so hard!

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

This game is so true! Nice job. Although it seems if I have more then one key pressed it won't register the other clicks.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

The sad truth.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Almost like Game Dev Tycoon but really quick and fun.

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:40am

6/5 humor. But now I'm depressed.

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55am

Strangely brilliant....and depressing....I loved it

Thein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

Haha I expected there to be a happy ending. Nope.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05am

WoW depressing! No happy ending for you!!

Korwegian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

I know dat feel

Neonlare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Well, this is pretty damn depressing... But as a dev I definitely know how this feels :<.

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:25am

This comments sums it up for me too: "6/5 humor. But now I'm depressed." Depressing, funny, and I'm sure most of us can relate!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

It is a nice commentary of people trying to make games at home. Couldn't find the button that told the character to go to Amazon and buy some books to read though.

eteeski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:43am

awww poor developer :( haha clever game though :)

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

Touches the heart

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37am

nice game :D

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Fantastic game (not sure if it's a game?). Very well done

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

Very true look at game development and kind of depressing since I'm sure all of us here want to do it haha (since we're doing it right now). The clicking to load the game was really the only manner or interaction which is kind of a drag. Cool game though (:

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

10/10 I CRY ERRYTIME

Would be even better if there was a ``good'' ending if you chose to make all of your games in java or something (and become the next minecraft)

thristhart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

What an extremely annoying input method. As others said, a sad truth, but I was more annoyed at the game by the end than sympathizing.

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

Man, now I'm depressed!

Kulomin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

This game was amazing to play and soooo true!

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

EXCELLENT GAME!

Overall this game really played with my emotions. I was deeply immersed. Life was brilliantly captured in the simple mechanics related to the process of game development specific to a pessimistic perspective. I experienced joy, frustration, and sadness. Great ending to this emotional journey.

Loved it.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19am

Yes!

I love meta games, and this Paper Mario like style is nice!

Good job!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38am

If there's an LD game great humor than this is the one!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21am

As a Player: I'm amused and laughed.
As a Game Dev: I'm depressed and scared...
So... good job! lol

tacs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

Oh dear, now I am sad.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Funny and relatable, although honestly, I think most people who get into a hobby like this handle this sort of disappointment differently.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Was hoping for a less depressing ending. Enjoyed it though!

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Never felt either the hopefulness or disappointment of the character, relating to making video games, of course, but I believe I can understand how this will probably happen to a lot of people. Nice fun experience!

tinykidtoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:38pm

exactly how I feel sometimes

dylanigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Such a let down at the end. :(

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

:D add libGDX

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07am

Started off good but then slowly became boring.

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09am

10/10 would not download

Lost King says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:33am

The realism in this is unparalleled! Truly a feat of the ages!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26am

Dang.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25am

That guy looks like a fucking douchebag.

7/10 get a new haircut.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

I like the struggle to make games getting harder and harder reflecting the developer's will slowly breaking.

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

:(

dmcfarline says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:47pm

If this was based on me 90% of the game creation minigames would fail and I would start again :P great entry though!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25pm

The unity web player does not play on linux, and the windows one would not render text in wine. Can you please release a linux binary?

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Interesting idea, but the gameplay was rather lacking. Should've used some voice synthesizer for voice overs akin to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGar7KC6Wiw :P.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I had to play the Ludum Dare game that had a similar name to mine and I am glad I did. Good game. Sad ending though.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Well that was sad.

InfectionTeam says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:50am

Now I am sad XD

DonovanWu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:52am

So true ;_;

Zerkruemler says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Oh my god. This is depressing!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]