Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scuba Sam

by Boodog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*The game is big because there is 2 wav files in there. Feel free to delete it after your done with it*

*Take the folder out of the zipped folder, then rightclick
the jar, and Open With -> Java(TM)*

*The crabs are just for looks!*

Hi! This is my game, Scuba Sam. It was made in about 36 hours, and is a maze game. Every level is 16x16 pixels bigger than the last pixel. At the end of the game, a little message is shown under your score. The faster you finish the level, the better score you get. Everything else you need to know about the game is in the "Help" menu on the title screen.

===================
2088 lines of code!
===================

I hope you have fun playing it, like I did while making it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#339Audio3.11
#415Humor2.64
#686Graphics2.96
#780Fun2.76
#803Theme2.96
#912Overall2.81
#915Mood2.59
#1032Innovation2.40

Comments

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

I was panicking at first because I thought the crabs would eat me. To my good fortune I was wrong. Crabs as obstacles may have helped spice it up though, but part of me is still glad they did not eat me.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

Nice work dude! I love maze like games, your art is great and also the sound effects! Your best entry so far in my opinion :D

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Really great music and graphics! I couldn't pass from the first level though ): the time runned out before I could figure out where I had to go.

GhostID says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48am

Interesting concept going on there, I honestly didn't think of "underwater" when hearing "beneath the surface". Good job! It fits the theme well :)

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

The art and sound are nice, but the 3rd level is huge. I walked around for a while and then got bored of finding dead ends and having to walk back.

Also since the player is drawn at an angle, it would be nice if I could stand such that my head is in front of a wall (if the hitbox was smaller than a tile)

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51am

I love the player animation, so cute. The first and second level are ok to solve, but it gets a little tedious after that.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:02am

That music is just ridiculous. Good start.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34am

Good work. Simple and fun.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:38am

Nice simple game. It took me a while to realize that the crab things weren't dangerous.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:04am

AHH, the devil crabs scared me until I realized they were harmless!

pansapiens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

I like the zany piano arpeggio music (suggested title: "Flight of the Underwater Bumblebee") & the crabs are cute. I feel like the hit box for Sam needs a little adjustment - it was often difficult to enter corridors. The difficulty of the first two levels seemed good, but I feel like it ramped up a little quickly after that - maybe increasing maze size in 2x2 or 4x4 steps instead of 16x16. A few unique landmarks on larger mazes would help too, or the ability to drop some kind of breadcrumb (eg a very slow fading bubble trail ?). I had a peek inside src .. nice clean code :)

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:15am

Liked the graphics and all that. At first I thought that those red thingys were mobs and avioded them, but always ended up running out of breath. One swam strait past me, and I realised it was not so. I got far into the game(lvl2 :P) afterwards.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Cool feel, took me back to a bomber man feel without the bombs. I would love to have some sort of attack mechanic, the first few play throughs I was trying to avoid the lobsters, but they don't hurt you. This is worth building on!

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55pm

To be honest, it was quite annoying that in later levels, you have to run around without even knowing where the goal is. Well, it wouldn't be if it weren't for the time/air limit. Though to be fair, I've always found time limits in games annoying...

Teesquared says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:03am

Nice sounds. Movement was challenging (stuck on corners a lot). I enjoyed the smaller levels a lot more. Hard to figure out the larger maze.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:49am

Nice game!

kogyblack says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:00am

Nice audio.
Gameplay wasn't bad, but if you reduced the collision box of the player and added a restart button, it would be way better.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:13am

The music was quite interesting. Also, the movement speed got really low after a while.

Covenant says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:56am

Nice one, the music was very cool! :)

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Fun puzzle, nice art! Congrats!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Sweet way to play labyrinth, a smaller hitbox for the hero would have made moving easier

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Need a better tutorial. Also, make it available to restart the game instead of just quiting ;)

xensky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52pm

great little game. love the music and the crabs. going left/right between 2 blocks catches based on the whole body rather than the feet which is kinda annoying, but overall very nice.

SK16Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Nice game, just don't think I have the patience for maze games, heh :P Even though the soundtrack is very weird i really LOVE it xD

anvoz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I had fun. Good work.
I wish I could be able to kill those crabs and retry the level after I failed. One of the interesting thing of the game is why you chose control set like this "Press E to play, X to help and Z to quit". :D

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Music was well done, mazes well constructed. Images could do with some work, and the abrupt closing on losing was a little unexpected. Some variety in levels and perhaps particles could have helped a little, but definitely not bad.

JavadocMD says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:16am

The game is tough without having an indicator of which way the goal is, but if that's what you're going for, that works. The art was nice!

kristof says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:09am

Nice little mace game. Ending the game when the time runs out feels a bit punishing though. Maybe you could get rid of the time limit completely and instead just link the score to the time. Still a fun little game.

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:34am

I felt like this was a little light on content, but it was cute, and interesting. That piano, man. That piano xD

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:46pm

The music was pretty fun, and gave a good sense of urgency. I found the timer for the levels a bit too short most of the time. Also, each time I died, I wanted to play again, but the only option was 'Z' to quit. With a few tweaks to timing, I think this could be really fun :)

jujule says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Simple but well executed. It also took me a while understanding the crabs don't hurt you. Maybe they should but also have more predicatble movement patterns. That would bring excitement when the levels get bigger.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

nice game - it would have been great to have an indicator as to where the next warp was - I was lost on the second level

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]