Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under The Earth

by DRAGONMASTER412 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:48pm

hold on web isnt working and is set up wrong ops

Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:50pm

ok web version should be fixed i had capital on .Jar at the end :/ anyway it works now :)

Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:00pm

if anyone is getting a error leave a comment and il sort it

RyanKingstone says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Copy prelude of the chambered much more dog.

Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:13pm

so your saying this guy did it too because i done what hes done and this guy has his game on steam now i dont see anyone saying hes copied prelude of the chambered

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i3wDQLprbd4

jedilemons says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Yes, but his game is very different now. There's a big difference between making something derivative and just ripping it off.

jedilemons says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

And he actually says in that video that he followed what notch was doing for the software version. His current version works completely differently and uses OpenGL.

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

The Windows version didn't work for me. The installer got to 100% and froze.

Redream says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

While I appreciate you've changed some of the content, you shouldn't be using any of the code or art from prelude of the chambered. This is breaking the compo rules.

djdduty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56am

It is starting to seem like Reddit with re-posts in here! Seriously though, even if the render code is different this is prelude, the game logic is all the same. RenderingCode != Game;

djdduty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01am

Ludum Dare isn't even about making a game to most people, it is about learning. I understand this guy wants to be part of such a great event as LD but he neither made a game, nor learned anything from the experience except maybe how to better understand notch's code. Copying something so closely won't teach you anything in an event like this. The real challenge to this event is coming up with your own original idea, designing the code for it, putting it together, tearing your hair out because it doesn't work, and MAYBE submitting 1/2 of the game you wanted(if you are new to the event). So please Dragon, next time try to come up with your own game and your own solutions to the problems you run into. Maybe you can even use the syntax you should now have memorized from copying that so closely.

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

Nice plagiarism there:

http://puu.sh/8qzc7.png

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:07am

Cant play it unfortunetly :( web version has an error and windows version wont install.

kaype says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09am

djdduty, I agree completely. I like the Prelude of the Chambered rendering engine, I've used it in some of my projects, but I have at least changed the gameplay in a significant way and gave credit to Notch for writing the base code. This is a direct clone of the game, with very little modification.

To the (fake) author of this clone, If you really want to make a game using this engine, please give credit to the original author and more importantly, BE ORIGINAL.

I do think you've done some clever things with the engine (e.g. Wall textures animated to look like waterfalls), but the gameplay is uninspired, boring, and barely changed. You have also used textures/sprites from the original game, which breaks competition rules. As said in the rules, all assets for the game must be made within the 48/72 hours.

Sorry if this entry gets removed, but that's what you get.

- Jev

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:10am

Or more to say...you should have declared you were basing your code on someone elses before even doing the competition. Checked your journal, you did not declare this.

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Couldn't run web, but downloaded version was great!

Jamcount says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40pm

I love the art.

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47pm

This isn't your work...

jedilemons says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

@Jamcount It mostly isn't even his art :P

jedilemons says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Oh @djdduty when I was talking about rendering code I didn't mean this game, I was referring to Delver, the one he linked.

marccspro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39pm

This is not your game... This is not a Ludum Dare game... If you thought that you made a game for Ludum Dare you are wrong. Next time make a game.

danidre14 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Guys, this is not really like Notch's game. This is more creative and less dungeon-y stuff. I still don't understand how you are beneath the surface, but there is the sky above you, and many people make games like these . Notch's game is just popular because he is popular. So before you say this is copying, just note that Notch could have also copied someone else's game. DragonMaster check out my entry here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=32791 . Yeah it's unfinished but... oh well.

voxel says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Oh well kid. Next time be upfront, declare base code in advance and don't steal assets. Please read the rules before entering again.

May 18, 2014 @ 2:48am

I dunno what your talking about stealing assets all the graphics are drawn by me -_-

May 18, 2014 @ 2:51am

@danidre14 finally someone who understands that just because one person makes a style of game that they do not then own it so that now one is able to make a similar game. It drives me nuts when you spend ages working and people accuse you of stealing someone else's game. Thank You

May 20, 2014 @ 2:44am

I think you need to honestly think about why ppl are upset. This is clearly a clone and too close. Same boulder, same water/sliding, same hud, basically same everything, with minor changes. This is PERFECT for learning and for growing and developing. It's not really great for a game jam. This is objectively the wrong thing to do for LD.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]