Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

To The Depths!

by xensky - Jam Entry

An underwater text adventure! Look and go and get your way around! Marvel at our dated technology!

Made in Clojure with LibGDX.

EDIT: Fixed some bugs, added 'help' command. Available from second download link. Still has a memory leak that crashes it after a while.
EDIT 2: Memory leak fixed. Use second download link still.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#489Audio(Jam)2.74
#556Humor(Jam)2.11
#599Theme(Jam)2.64
#667Mood(Jam)2.38
#697Innovation(Jam)2.21
#703Overall(Jam)2.43
#715Fun(Jam)2.11
#764Graphics(Jam)1.59

Comments

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02am

note: might crash after left idle for a while. cause unknown. memory leak suspected.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

I really like text adventures back in the day, and was looking forward to playing this, however, it seems like every single command gives me "You can't <command>", and I couldn't find a list of commands or anything.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47am

The whole thing locks up on me when I try to enter the ship.

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53am

@eerongal: sorry about lack of direction. we tried to add lots of synonyms but fell short.

"look _" works on a lot of key words mentioned in the text, "go _" works mostly in cardinal directions, and usually you can look in that direction first to see if go will succeed.

most other commands also have really simple "verb noun" formats, you'll just have to try some stuff and see what works!

@empyrealhell did the game crash, or did you just get stuck?

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29am

It's a gamble to make a text adventure like this, good work at taking that risk! I figured out a few commands, pretty much look and go. I saw the swimsuit in the box but couldn't figure out if I could do anything with the swimsuit. Part of playing these games is figuring out what the commands are but it can also be frustrating to just be guessing without enough hints.

The game froze up on me about the third time I went into the ship.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32am

Could really use a list of commands. I was able to look inside the box, but not get the swimsuit top (and I tried a lot of combinations of get/take). Also, crashed when I attempted to enter the wooden schooner... I wasn't idling and had only been playing for a few min.

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53am

Sorry, can't play it, I will rate it after you add a way to re-read the previous screen, or you supply a command list by typing command... I will wait patiently, because I was very excited about a text adventure...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02pm

I never really liked text adventures. This game is no exception sadly. I rarely enjoy them, but without graphics it just doesn't do it for me :(

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

sorry again everyone. the crash big is occurring in libgdx, i think because i'm not using a full release build. will investigate using 1.0 later today.

will also add a help command that lists many of the painter commands.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Interesting idea but text adventures are kind of a barrier of entry.. good job, though! :)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Every time I enter the ship the game crash. Seems like a nice adventuregame aside from that.

xensky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39pm

@Kragnir were you playing the original or the fixed version? The original had a memory leak (that made it crash after a minute or 2) that we fixed.

xandgate says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:17pm

The world needs more text adventures. I think it would be bette, if you could play it directly in your terminal

Kragnir says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:53am

I played the fixed version, and it was probably not because of memory leak since it happened at the same place twice.

XenosNS says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:17am

Game crashed while I tried to talk to the seahorses (fixed version)

lajos says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:24am

Tried the fixed jar, but it crashes at the first(?) "You can't..."

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:22pm

It's cool that you seem to have an engine working, but like others have said, it's a little too restrictive to really be playable. Polish it up and you'll have a nice little text adventure.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]