Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

lightness of being

by nesis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath the surface, is it worth it all?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#225Mood3.45
#260Innovation3.50
#517Overall3.21
#633Audio2.62
#710Humor2.23
#724Fun2.84
#927Theme2.76
#963Graphics2.53

Comments

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

Really hard but creative, i like it. Is this supposed to be eternal recurrence?

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

Thanks for checking out my entry - a lot of this game's metaphor emerged during development. Amongst other things, the thought of it mimicking eternal recurrence did cross my mind!

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47am

Fun to play, the frantic gameplay mixes well with the simple but loaded words. I like the general feeling of the game.

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:26am

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it! Frantic gameplay + an easy to understand message was exactly what I was going for with this game :)

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

Had problems with starting the game but I like the idea. Nice job.

nesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:59am

Was it issues loading the game to start with? I've noticed that with Unity web :( Thanks for checking it out though!

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Wow. very cool. Great concept and great implementation. The theme is definitely subtle, but in there, which works really well with the message I got from the game.The audio was pleasant. Though I was being hurt, the sound was too soothing, haha. It would work better for when you spelled things right. Because there was no feedback, when I rushed to spell another word, I wouldn't see that I misspelled the one I just typed. Other than that, very well done!

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Wow, I like both the idea and its implementation. One of these things you keep thinking about after finishing it.

nesis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:18am

Thanks for checking out my game guys, I'm glad you liked it!

Feedback on typing a word right would be a good idea.

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34am

I've always been a sucker for typing games ><. I liked it very much, but know that I am biased!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40am

Sweet typing game! I really love it! I included your game in part 1 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/2Ja__FAtoAQ

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Neat idea. Kind of reminded me of Notch's game about life and death, but I liked the learning aspect of it.

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Nice game.But hard. Different difficulty levels would be cool.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:48am

@nesis play wouldn't work for some reason until I clicked few times on the text underneath the title. But today it works flawlessly so I assume it was some problems on my end

nesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:29pm

@nonentheless Thanks for giving it another try. As far as I can tell, it's an issue with Unity web player in some browsers - you need to resize the browser, which somehow refreshes the player and gets it to start receiving input and start updating the game properly.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:06pm

I feel my touch skills increase by the second I play this game. very hard though, or maybe my typing is just really slow ;)

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:59am

I t y p e t o o s l o w l y t o b e a b l e t o p l a y t h i s g a m e . :(

nesis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55am

Mmm, I definitely need to add different difficulties. Drop the speed words fall at, and make them appear less frequently. Thanks for playing and for the feedback!

joe40001 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Innovative game, if this is what you feel is beneath the surface of life, then that's kinda cynical. :P But I think that was kinda the premise for the game.

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:43am

Interesting take on the theme, very thought-provoking.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Really deep game... especially as it becomes more and more frantic balancing different things as you get older. Enjoyed this one, kudos. I lived to 74, not bad.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]